We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to relax in Ubud - excellent value and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #92 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I have traveled much and own a small boutique hotel property in Mexico, so I have a good idea of what to look for. The top thing on the list with this hotel is the staff - very accommodating and friendly. You can have beautiful facilities, but if your staff is not good, nothing else will matter. I like the comfort and privacy of the rooms- very large and spacious with decks looking out on to the river. You feel like you are in a jungle paradise. The grounds are spacious with many paths leading to the pool, gardens, and the nice restaurant perched on the hillside over looking the river. Included breakfast was nice each morning. We did have a lunch and dinner there as well when we were tired, but it is more interesting to go into town and more food options. There is a shuttle which is nice. They have wifi there and signal is good. The walk to town through the monkey forest is nice- takes about 15 minutes. Some people may want to be in the thick of it, but I think it is nice to be a little outside town. I saw in a previous review about noise from the road- I did not find that the case and it was quit peaceful and easy to rest there. Over all, it was a nice experience and great value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

Nervous about going having read reviews on Trip Advisor. Arrived after midnight with two very tired kids to be driven down a windy, wet path with overgrown vines and trees to find our two story family villa waiting for us. The rooms were great, the kids had their own TV and DVD but we never used them. It was a short walk to the restaurant with great food and service. The pool was great and the kids loved the swim up bar to order milkshakes at. There are a lot of stairs so need to be fairly active. Lots of mosquitoes so be prepared. 15-20 min walk to Ubud town coming out through the back of the Monkey Forest and also a free shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

This amazing resort looks like it's straight out of an Indiana Jones movie. Multiple moss covered staircases connect the different levels, and lush vegetation, heaps of wildlife running about, and the Hindu and Buddhist statues give a real sense of being in the tropics.
The rooms are well sized, and the fan and AC worked wonders in keeping rooms cool.
The deep pool with swim up bar was a favourite destination during the day, and the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating, arranging transport to and from Ubud and the wedding venue for very good prices.
Food from the restaurant is great too.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We travelled to Ubud with 2 other families and Bali Spirit was able to accommodate us all. The hotel is spread out with a mix of rooms and villas, lush gardens and nice swimming pool. It is on the southern side of Ubud, with a 5-10min shuttle bus taking you into centre of town. Just beware, in its topical surrounds, overlooking a river means it is on quite a steep hill-side. This makes for beautiful gardens and layout but also quite a few stairs. Whilst this was no problem for us it could be for less mobile travellers. The service is OK, the breakfast is OK however, Bali Spirit is not really the place you would hang around the bar or the gift shop unless you are looking for a very quiet (dull) location. The action is in town. That said the hotel is good value for money @USD$80 night for a room. We chose a room with an outdoor bathroom! It was private and as you would expect airy, and we quite liked it. Recommended as a good value hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptk_from_dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. We loved the steps down to the pool and restaurant (definitely not for the physically challenged) Loved the pool, lush greenery, service. Only down side was the closing noisy room door and walls were thin enough one could hear the people in the next room-- We loved the view from the balcony. Hotel is a bit out of town, which we also liked. A nice walk past the Monkey Forest in to Ubud. And the hotel also runs a shuttle to and from town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We stayed 3 days at Bali Spirit and we think that it has been a very good solution at affordable price for who desire to stay in a very natural location at 15 minutes walking from Ubud centre.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lonmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

This hotel is small, beautiful, affordable and quiet. It is just outside the center of Ubud which I didn't initially realize. I thought this was going to be a hinderence however, they offer free shuttles to the center of town and after going there and seeing how busy it is, it was nice to come back to our peaceful retreat.
The hotel staff was very accommadating. They offer a lot of tours and activities that they will set up for you, free internet service, free breakfast in the morning and have a small spa with a number of inexpensive treatments. The food was really good and very inexpensive.
The hotel is tiny, but beautiful. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was spacious, had a large deck and was very private and quiet. I highly recommend this property if you are looking to visit very busy Ubud but want to retreat away at night from the busy town!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitcat99w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
0.8 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#73 of 199 in Ubud
320 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 199 in Ubud
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#91 of 199 in Ubud
362 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#78 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £48 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing