We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taman Harum Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
108
117
39
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
117
39
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlethe cottagesrice fieldsdowntown ubudshuttle service isminute drivebedroom villamasharithorbalicarverculturestatuesbugspeaceasia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Staying at Taman Harum was how we started our Bali tour. The hotel is pretty far from the airport but the drive was comfortable. The chauffeur was talking to us about various places of interest en-route all along. He even offered to take us to the Batik factory though we declined owing to fatigue. Upon reaching the hotel we were offered welcome drinks which was quite a relief given the heat at the time of the day. Check in was hassle-free and we were shown upto our room. The bellhop showed us around.

Accommodation (The Suite) - The room was big, spacious, airy and had sunlight coming in from everywhere. On either sides of the bed room we had a sitting area. One had a table and four chairs over looking the rice fields (also gave us a private access to the swimming pool) and the other (right after the main entrance) a couch and a television with a water body behind. This one had a small kitchenette attached to it. The bathroom was partly open air and the bath tub was out in the open. Hot and cold water was available 24/7. The bed room had a four posture bed with a good mattress and duvet. Fresh and clean. Most hotels have a different picture of the rooms on the website but not this one. It was just as we saw it. You live with nature here. Every now and then we'd hear a lizard or see ants, frogs and birds (none of them in the bed room) but it didn't really spoil our stay or the mood. They're pretty unintrusive.

Food & Beverage - Didn't try much. Had 2 breakfasts but they were well made. They even serve breakfast in the room FOC. Options are limited to American/Continental/Indonesian. We prefer eggs, toast and juice and hence didn't choose the Indonesian option.The scrambled eggs were delicious and bread toasted just right. Prepared fresh and served hot. Our favorite Green tea was available all along - day or night. The restaurant closes at 10 pm and nothing would be available thereon till day light. One evening after-dinner when we wanted to have green tea and the restaurant was closed (they wound up a a little early) they even gave us a kettle and tea bags in our room so we could make it ourselves.

Services - Do not expect to be treated like a king here but that is not to say that their service has anything lacking or negative in it. Its the laid-back atmosphere that grips the tourists and has even taken to the staff. They were definitely polite and courteous but lacking in endurance. (This I say from my own - on-going - experience as a hotelier). Foreign exchange closes at roughly 7 pm so stash some Rupiah if you wish you wish to eat outside. There is a super market right across the street and a currency changer too. They organize a shuttle into Ubud town (about 15 mins away) anytime of the day. The last pick up from town is I think at 9 or 10 pm.

All in all a good stay. I'd gladly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try the Suite. Book it in advance as there is only 1 available.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmEnV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Taman Harum is about 15 mins out of Ubud, in the Mas Village. This is no issue as you can get free rides into and out of Ubud with the hotel. There is also a convenience store across the road for emergency essentials (e.g icecream). The hotel itself is relatively sprawling with beautiful statues, fountains and gardens. The staff were lovely. We ate at the hotel restaurant a lot as it was delicious and cheap. The rooms were clean, but nothing amazingly fancy. Don't expect luxury, but expect nice rooms, great pool area and surrounds. Loved our time here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booked this hotel via Booking.com. Took my entire family here after few nights stay in Pecatu to be nearer to Ubud and North Bali attractions.

Taman Harum certainly did not disappoint. Our requests made via the online reservation were noted and arranged neatly. Rooms were ready when we checked in and the service could not be more friendly & punctual.

Unfortunately I had to cut short my visit to go back to Jakarta in early morning, leaving my family behind, and a room vacant. When my family requested to void the bill for the vacant room for the subsequent night, the staffs were helpful to reach the online booking website and amend the reservation for us.

I have to also say that my family really love the charming Balinese style of this establishment. They find it really refreshing compared to the modern-style hotels.

Value for money-wise, we couldn't be more pleased.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applecart3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I took the Honeymoon package at Taman Harum Cottages (on August 2013). The price is reasonable with a lot of activities (incl. one day tour, watching the traditional dance, free pick up all day/night within Ubud Area, free massage, free learning Balinese traditional music, candle light dinner on the balcony etc).

The room was beautiful and spacious. The crafted furniture were gorgeous. very Balinese. And the breakfast were superb!

Room Tip: My bathroom was the outdoor type of bathroom, so make sure the door is fully closed during the night to avoid the mosquitos.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadhnadira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Taman Harum Cottages in March of 2013. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The furniture and even the buidlings themselves were gorgeous and made us really feel like we were immersed in the Balinese Culture. My 3 young children enjoyed the pool and all its fountains as well. We ate breakfast every morning at the hotel restaurant and were always pleased with our meal. The prices were very reasonable too. Our daughter turned 5 during our stay and the staff was kind enough to serve cake with candles and sang to her as well. They were happy to drive us to different locations whenever we asked and assisted my husband with a quiet workspace with Wifi for an important phone conference for his job. They were so sweet. The best part came after we left. Our son left behind a treasured teddy bear that he had had since birth. I finally thought to email the hotel to look for it about a month after our trip. Believe it or not, the staff had saved it and said they thought it looked loved and someone would be looking for it! How kind! They even mailed it back to us not once but two times! The first time we were out of town when the package arrived and the Australian Post sent it back to Bali. The incredibly generous and kind staff at the Taman Harum sent it back to us again. Now my son and his teddy are reunited. The thoughtfulness of the staff at the Taman Harum continued long after our stay with them was over. I'd highly recommend this hotel for your next holiday in Bali!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krisina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews