We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful with great facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taman Harum Cottages
Ranked #120 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Peaceful with great facilities.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We provisionally booked a standard room for three nights. The standard rooms are located in the older building. They are spacious and clean with great, big windows. Our bathroom was dated but bright and fresh. Only downside was the low water pressure.

We enjoyed this time here so much we extended our stay another two times. We stayed for seven nights in total. We opted for the suite as there was no availability in the standard rooms.
It's not much more expensive but it's definitely a slice of heaven.

The suite is located between the restaurant and the swimming pool. It even has its own access to the pool. It also has a large lounge area with tv and DVD player, and connected to a small kitchen area. (This kitchen area only has a sink and small dining table but the restaurant is so good you won't even think of cooking!)

From the open air lounge of the suite, you enter the enclosed air-conditioned bedroom with four-poster bed and large sliding doors. It overlooks your private patio and view of the fields behind, mainly occupied by a few cows and egrit.

From the bedroom, you can access the bathroom...and what a bath it has! There's a large modern shower area and huge open air bath tub.
It's especially good at night with the sounds of the forest around.
The suite is well worth the extra money!!

The hotel also provides massage and beauty treatments. The ladies here are very skilled - we enjoyed great massages and manicures.

The restaurant serves great food. You can eat wherever you like on the complex. We enjoyed meals both in our room and at the pool for no extra charge.
There's also a nice local restaurant a few minutes walk towards Ubud outside the hotel.

If you want more choice, Ubud is the place to go. With the hotel's free shuttle service until 10pm, Taman Harum is the perfect place to stay.

Away from the buzz of Ubud but only a fifteen minute drive if you are craving more!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    110
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
65
86
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Msia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed a night here and found it a lovely hotel. It is welcoming and I love the stone artefacts that dot the hotel here and there. The pool is a nice part of the hotel as well. My room was big and the only complaints are that soap n shampoo come in a pump bottle marked "Shampoo" & "Soap" instead of individually wrapped. The toilet also emitted a smell after flushing. I hv read this in quite a few hotel reviews and am beginning to think that perhaps this seems pretty normal (for the 3 stars at least). No CNN on TV so have some plans ready or make it an early night :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelator72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked this on hotwire not knowing what we were getting ourselves into. At $40 USD per night we were not expecting much but wanted a cultural experience. We were so happy with this place. It was beautiful and peaceful. The rice paddy field in the back of the property was really beautiful too. Chickens wake you up in the morning and you really get the feeling that you are on a rural farm without the back breaking work. It is in the woodcarving district so you get a working feel without the noise and bustle of larger places. We also stayed in Nusa Dua at the Grand Mirage and felt that this was by far the better experience for culture, food, price and service. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were pretty standard but were charming with their hobbit style doors and our door bathroom. We were in room 208. There is a cute little frog who lives in the wall by the bamboo. We loved this place and it will forever be the main memory of our Bali trip.

I would say you could skip the spa as there are places in downtown Ubud that are pretty good for the dollars you pay. I would highly recommend the cooking class at the hotel. They were fun and it was just the two of us so it was very interactive.

Room Tip: Probably worth the upgrade to a better room if paying in USD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with the aim of relaxing for a few days. It suited my needs perfectly. It was very quiet and the pool was clear. The restaurant food was reasonable and had room service I stayed in the Garden Wing rooms which was comfortable and had outside bathroom. Decor a bit old but clean. I liked the outside bathroom but if bugs freak you, it may not be your thing. However I would recommend a stay here. Staff friendly.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank travel99Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here over New Year with my husband and two young children. We were very pleased with the facilities and service, especially for the price. The hotel has beautiful grounds full of trees, birds, and old Balinese details. My kids enjoyed watching the wood carvers at work in the hotel gallery. The pool is small but big enough to cool off and play a bit, and it never seemed crowded while we were there. The grounds were big enough that our kids had fun exploring them, but small enough that we didn't worry if they wandered off for a while. Our room was large and bright, with a nice little table on the patio where we ate some of our meals. Like others, we found the bathroom less than ideal, but it certainly didn't ruin the trip. It did get quite buggy--nothing like getting bit in your nether regions while using the toilet in the middle of the night--but it wasn't a big deal for us. The restaurant was hit and miss, with some meals being quite good and others just okay. The prices are very reasonable, though. And a few times we ordered food from a restaurant in Ubud and had it delivered, with the hotel helpfully placing the order for us and giving the restaurant directions.

What really made it a good experience for us was that great staff. They were extremely helpful with everything we needed, and we took advantage of the free shuttle into town. I think it was the time of year, but we did find a lot of traffic getting back to the hotel in the afternoon. Several times, we had arranged for the hotel car to pick us up in town, only to be left waiting for 20-30 minutes. As we didn't have an international cell phone, that was a problem--but I gather that is not common year round. At any rate, the staff learned our children's names, and the fact that it is a small hotel gave it a warm, familial feeling. We were a bit sad to leave and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

people were really nice, was a very relaxing settings. love the peace and quiet.. and there weren't really anyone in the pools which was nice, we ordered food and drinks and they brought it to us by the pool. i loved the rooms for the price i paid i was surprised how good it was. staff are really friendly.

Room Tip: i had standard garden view. they have an outdoor toilet built on to the two story 1brm apartment, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tausus0479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at room 201-202. Planned to stay from 24-26 Dec 2013. Travelling with my dad and kids. It is a big disappointment, since the room is not as expected. I have to make several calls as if I am responsible for this place. Firstly, in room 202 : no light bulb in the TV room and the TV just buzzing, can't play any channels. Second, in room 201 : bugs, the kind who seeks lights are everywhere since the bathroom is open-air. Covering the curtain was no use. Initially the bugs filled the bath tub. Then there's a "gap"on top of the bathroom door that connect to the bed area. This "gap" let bugs enter the bed and TV area. Asked the staff to cover the gap but then turned the lights out from the bath room. So the next thing, bugs covered the bathroom glass door, trying to get into the well lit room. Another calls and it took more than 20 minutes to clear the room with the help of staffs. If I am not thinking about the time and my dad who is unwell, I would have moved right away. Moreover, both rooms smells not good as if they haven't been use for sometime. The management should fix the problem. Luckily the staffs are helpful, otherwise no value staying in this hotel. Definitely won't come again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#96 of 198 in Ubud
143 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#57 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bakung Ubud Resort and Villa
2.2 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 198 in Ubud
624 reviews
3.0 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#107 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Harum Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Harum Cottages

Property: Taman Harum Cottages
Address: Jln. Raya Bunutan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#97 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Taman Harum Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the cool and breezy of the rice field, 17 traditional rooms and cottages are spread across the side of rice fields and lush tropical garden. In each, the Balinese architecture, décor, fine painting is of hotel standard while all the modern conveniences expected by the discerning international traveller are here. All are air-conditioned and have exotic garden bathrooms, convey the essence of the tropic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Taman Harum Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Harum Cottages Hotel Ubud
Taman Harum Hotel
Taman Harum Resort
Taman Harum Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing