We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful retreat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ananda Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ananda Cottages
Ranked #78 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Ananda cottages was our base for our Eat, Pray, Love" tour from Sept. 20-28. This property hosts many groups from around the world! Our days were full but managed to spend some down time at the property by spending a few hours at one of their 3 pools closest to the rice paddy field and the yoga studio. Very quiet and relaxing. We had 3 yoga and meditation classes in the studio. Our teacher was local and very good. I must say it was the best venue I'd ever experienced for yoga. Can't get much better than that out in the middle of rice paddie fields listening to the sounds of nature and the view was incredible! After our classes, we all left feeling calm and just an overall feeling of serenity! Breakfast was included and was adequate i.e. juice, coffee, tea, water, fresh fruit, breads, eggs, and a local Indonesian dish daily. We had dinner at the hotel twice and was good. Front desk check in staff very friendly and accommodating especially Made #1 (as we called him). Made #2 in the restaurant always made a point of coming over to chat with us and gave us very good suggestions for dining at other restaurants around Ubud as well as shopping venues. Our room upstairs (#22) was very large with 2 single beds and mosquito netting, sitting area, mini fridge, good sized bathroom with a hair dryer, good closet, and drawer space. They also include a can of bug spray just in case! We weren't bothered much with too many bugs but what can one expect when you are in the middle of a rice paddy field and all of that beautiful tropical vegetation!! Our balcony was large and had ample sitting room to enjoy morning coffee or tea or to just sit and enjoy the beautiful foliage. My only suggestion would be to have in room safes to lock up valuables, passports etc. They do have safety deposit boxes at reception which we used. If you lose the key, you pay. Walked around the property one day and took photos. Lots of beautiful tropical flowers, trees, ponds and loved the sound of running water everywhere. There were stone carvings stragically placed around the property as well as typical offerings which is part of the Hindu religion. Our friends had room #20 on the ground floor which was equally as spacious with 2 single beds and netting. Their shower was actually outside which was a unique touch! Ubud centre was only a 20 minute walk or about a $40,000 rupiah cab ride which equals about U.S.4.00. There are several restaurants close by as well as shops, spas, etc. Very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a great view of the rice paddy fields and beautiful surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0veab0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    229
    61
    26
    11
See reviews for
88
208
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed there for three nights and we got a good deal. Huge superior room for three for 90USD with breakfast. And we had a really nice room with a huge balcony!! The hotel is really nice in middle of rice paddies, be prepared there are lot of mosquitos but that's what you have to expect when you wanna stay in the middle of rice paddies..:-)
We enjoyed the silcence - very peaceful and glad that we didn't stay in the middle of Ubud. The Cottages are around 30 min walk down a hill from the main street in Ubud, there are also plenty of restaurants.
But you can also enjoy the food in the hotel, good and tasty. And they also have a small pool, nice to relax.
The Hotel can also organise pick up from the airport for around 25USD, take it as you won't get a cheaper transport on the airport anyhow.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krissi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We spent 2 night in this hotel, ideally located in the middle of rice fields in Ubud. The hotel is very quiet. The room was perfect, and we spent nice time at the swimming pool also. The did not have dinner at the restaurant of the hotel, but the breakfast was really nice in the morning!
The only negative point we found for this place is the fact that it is located 30 minutes walking from the center of Ubud. However in this country it can be done easily either by taxi or scooter!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeriegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We had 4 nights at Ananda 23rd to 27th
aug. What a lovely serene and peacefull place, we absolutely loved it. Got a very warm welcome, with a cold drink. Our room was lovely upstairs with a gorgeous view, rice paddies and beautiful gardens. Has some lovely meals in the restaurant. We really enjoyed our time in Ubud, after having a great time in Sanur. It is such a relaxing hotel, could not fault a thing. Just love Ubud, we would certainly stay at Ananda again. thankyou Ananda for a lovely holiday!!!!

Room Tip: we had an upstairs room, with lovely verandah, more private than downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Despite a rather negative previous review we decided to give Ananda Cottages a go. Had five very relaxing days in our lovely cottage overlooking a small paddy field. Glorious tropical gardens, three swimming pools, great buffet breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and freshly made juices, and no sign of any hawkers made for a very pleasant stay. It's a 20-30 minute walk into the centre of Ubud if you can take heat and humidity, or 25,000 rupiah ($3) to go by car. There are several restaurants out on the main road - one new one called Gill's which specialises in grills is very reasonably priced, or for something more upmarket there's Indus (sister restaurant to the famous Casa Luna) across the road overlooking a lush valley. Pleased we chose to stay out of the bustle and traffic of Central Ubud. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We paid $US100 a night including breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at Ananda in August for two nights and loved it. The place is serene and the food is fabulous. There are other retaurants in walking distance and it took about 15mins to walk down to the main street shopping area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philnsonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

First of all, I had booked this online. I had emailed the agency AND the hotel itself (separately) to confirm that my reservation went through.
And both replied it. I did ths because I heard horror stories, that you can book things on the internet, but the hotels itselfnever get the booking.

Well, guess what. Upon arrival, they couldn't find our RSVP,,, and we had to leave our luggage at the front desk, for a few hours, and come back until they could see if they were any vacancies.

We came back, and they took us into a room, which I suspected was NOT a bungalow, sine it was small like a regular hotel room. But at that point, it was so late at the night.. that no one was around to help us.. (btw, the staff acts like they dont' understand English, when there is a problem)..

The following morning, we asked about that, and they said it was a regular room, And we pointed out that we booked a Bungalow... and then they relocated us.
NEVER an apology.
NEVER an offer to refund our money (since we paid more!! but we had alread prepaid thru booking agency).. but at least give us an extra amenity or something..

Also, I dropped off a few items for laundry service in the early morning, and guess what.. when we came back later in the evening, those same dirty items were sitting on our bed UNWASHED. and of course, when it brought it to the, wondering why they weren't washed--- they again, acted like they couldn't understand English.

Seriously, it was our driver who recommended this..
but i am pretty sure he is getting a commision, the place sucks...

Room Tip: don't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasmineH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#89 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#58 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#24 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Cottages

Property: Ananda Cottages
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#67 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ananda Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Ananda Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda Cottages Hotel Ubud
Ananda Hotel Ubud
Ananda Resort Ubud
Ananda Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing