We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Ananda Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ananda Cottages
Ranked #82 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Just back from Bali and stayed in Ananda Cottages for the first time. We tried to have an open mind as it is always a bit daunting when you try somewhere for first time. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The resort has lots of land and everything is well spaced out . There are 3 pools and each one has a beautiful setting. We had a downstairs room for the first night which was very nice and well equiped with four poster bed and open shower bathroom. The shower was outside in a luxury bathroom . it has 3 walls and is very private but gives you the feeling you are out in nature. The next day as we had booked a room with a balcony upstairs and one was available we decided to sample that as well . The room was again very nice with four poster bed and a wooden balcony with table chairs and small sofa over looking the rice paddies. We certainly loved the place and the wildlife was amazing . Huge butterlies and bearded dragon and lizzards and all sorts ( not in the room) . The only negative was that the upstairs rooms with wood panneling seemed to carry sound and you could almost make out what the neighbours were saying. Luckily it is a resort where people go for tranquility so it was not too noisy . The breakfast which was included was buffet style . The earlier the fresher it was of course but nice and plenty of it . Never tried the dinners as we were out in Ubud for meals. We tried Indus ( across the road) which was nice and has beautifull views but Gill's cafe ( again nearby on same side of hotel but towards Ubud) had amazing ribs which fell of the bone and had such nice flavour. We only discovered more places on our day of departure ( other direction away from Ubud) as we assumed everything was in Ubud centre. Nuri's warung was serving ribs when we walked past and they looked very nice too. Will try them next time. Had a great holiday 7 days in Sanur and 3 days in Ubud.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BtazGallacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    240
    64
    26
    12
See reviews for
91
223
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I stayed in this hotel with a group of 14 people and everybody liked this hotel. The rooms are situated in small buildings (cottages) and are typically Indonesian (nice entrance door!). The room was quite big and the bathroom was clean. The hotel has 3 swimming pools which are situated in different areas of the complex so a swimming pool is always nearby. The restaurant was good.
It was a pity that the staff (especially at the reception) was not always friendly and Ubud is a 20 minutes walk

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The rice field themed property is amazing and the biggest feature of ananda cottages since you really get a feeling of being in the nature.

The food is ok but nothing special and the price for it just as for the rooms is rather high. The hotel itself is a little walk out of Ubud which, if you don't have a car or scooter, can be an annoyance.

All in all I would recommend this hotel without hesitation but there are a few better alternatives in town especially since the service was kind of unfriendly at times. Make sure you don't get a downstairs room and if you can ask for something close to the pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel2kornacopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

A friend of mine and I booked the yoga package. Our stay at Ananda was very pleasant.
The room was nice and clean and the package was a good value for the money.
They got us a yoga teacher to give us 2 classes a day. The yoga classes were average, but fine if you want to get moving. The spa experience was excellent.
We extended 3 more days and they gave us a reasonable discount for the room.
Other activities included in the package were a walk in the rice field, cooking lesson, visit to temple and offering lesson. All were pleasant, The tour for the batil and wood carving was too typical touristic. Not recommended.
Overall the staff were helpful and pleasant and we enjoyed out stay there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I stayed at Ananda for just under two weeks and found it to be the ultimate place to relax and chill out. For part of my stay I was taking part in a week's yoga retreat and the facilities and setting made it absolutely perfect for this.

I stayed in a superior room and it was worth the extra cost. The room was very spacious, with a nice outside seating area, huge four poster bed and an outdoor bathroom, which really added to the sense of holiday.

As the rooms are surrounded by rice paddies, it is a haven for wildlife, and at night, especially crickets and frogs, so if you are a sensitive sleeper - take earplugs. Similarly, if you don't like creepy crawlies you may want to request an upstairs room, as due to the outdoor nature of my bathroom I often shared it with Gekkos, spiders, ants etc. Although at home I am hesitant to even go in a room if I see a spider, as the bathroom had plants and rocks in it, the bugs seemed all part of it and it didn't bother me.

The only thing that let's Ananda down (hence the 4/5) is the food, which is a shame. It's not awful, it's just a bit bland (except the banana fritters which are great!) but there are plenty of nearby places to eat such as Indus, just over the road, or places in Ubud town which is only a 20 min walk of 40,000 RPH taxi (about £3.50 in Mar 10)

The staff at Ananda are wonderfully friendly and always happy to help, which just makes the holiday so much more enjoyable and relaxing. I would thoroughly recommend it as a great base for a holiday in Bali.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller201099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.9 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 198 in Ubud
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 198 in Ubud
523 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#52 of 198 in Ubud
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,023 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#73 of 198 in Ubud
303 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Cottages

Property: Ananda Cottages
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#70 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ananda Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ananda Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda Cottages Hotel Ubud
Ananda Hotel Ubud
Ananda Resort Ubud
Ananda Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing