We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellar Staff, Magical Garden Setting, Beautiful Pool, Great Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artini 2 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Artini 2 Cottages
Ranked #101 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stellar Staff, Magical Garden Setting, Beautiful Pool, Great Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We first stayed at Artini 2 in May 2013. At the time, we were just completing four months of travel to six countries, during which we covered over 52,000 kilometres, and stayed at a lot of guest houses, but the beautiful, extensive garden setting of Artini 2 was the most enchanting of them all. The rooms were good, and the staff exceptional. We loved it then, and loved it equally still when we returned again this year, this time after three months of travel to another four different countries, and a lot more hotels and guest houses. Artini 2 still wins the prize for the most magical setting and beautiful pool. But this time we felt like we were returning home, and were greeted warmly by staff who still remembered us from our previous visit, and the included breakfast was a good as ever.

The Artini 2 is not new - it has been around a number of years - and some of the rooms are nicer than others. We stayed in three different rooms during our visits. They vary in their offerings. Although all three were spacious, two of the three also had huge, elegant bathrooms, while the third had an average bathroom, nothing spectacular, but the room was bright and spacious, and the view from the balcony was absolutely stellar. Plus it had Internet access - they don't all, but the Internet is fast in the public areas.

We love this exceptionally beautiful, quiet, hidden retreat right in the centre of Ubud, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If there is availability, check out a couple of different options when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupinata, Public Relations Manager at Artini 2 Cottages, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Bev Z,

Warmest Greeting From Artini 2 Cottage,

Thank you very much for your feedback and stay with us again, it's very help full to improve our service,
Hope we can welcoming you again in the next trip to Ubud with better service.

Kind Regards,
Riani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    130
    58
    19
    10
See reviews for
39
147
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birkerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Value for money A hidden Gem friendly staff and nice rooms
Stayed there 3 days and will defiantly come back , Very low price approx 50 us dollar for a very nice garden view room nice pool good breakfast great low cost family hotel

Room Tip: If you get room close to pool the wifi will work in the room # B8
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupinata, Public Relations Manager at Artini 2 Cottages, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Mr.Mikael R,

Warmest Greeting from Artini 2 Cottage,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your stay in our hotel,
We hope we can serve and welcoming you in the next future with better service.

Kind regards,
Riani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there in December 2013 with my infant daughter.

First of all, the staff are very sweet and helpful. The grounds are very pretty and clean. The room was just alright (2 beds, A/C, bathroom had some mold...) The pool is nice. The restaurant was adequate.

We were charged high season rates.

We heard something that woke us up the first night, but were unclear what it was. The second night the rats got into such a battle in our ceiling that their tails kept popping out between where the different types of ceiling panels join. It was horrendously loud. There are MANY RATS.

We reported it in the morning. Nothing was done. We reported it the next day and one of the workers said they put out traps. It was clearly a problem that a few traps could not solve, and clearly a chronic issue we realized as we confirmed the same problem with other guests in the building.

Let me be clear. They are not on the roof. They are IN THE CEILING. The rooms have a thatch decorative layer and the rats live on that. They are peeing and defacating right above your head. You can smell it if you turn off the fan and A/C, which they always turned to high.

We complained about it each day, but nothing changed. On the last day I asked to speak to the manager to negotiate a discount. Though he came down some, it was not even the price of one night's stay and we had been there almost a week. While he was very apologetic, he claimed that they are not allowed to kill rats on Ubud... which totally contradicts the employee's statement about putting down traps.

I understand that maintaining buildings in tropical climates is hard, and clearing a rat infestation is probably a nightmare. But you can't offer yourself up as nice hotel... or really, you shouldn't rent rooms at all... with THIS serious of an infestation.

The manager said they are planning to renovate, as if that should make me feel better after a week of middle of the night rat fights.

It's not like this is a small place with no money. The owner has several locations and many units. This is neglect, pure and simple.

We confirmed that our neighbors in the adjoining rooms were having the same issue.

Wish I could recommend them, but not with this facilities in this state.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupinata, Public Relations Manager at Artini 2 Cottages, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Grace s,

Warmest Greeting From Artini 2 Cottage,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We do apologize for making inconvenienced caused during your stay.
Regarding the rats in the ceilings we still discussed with our management to try to find the good solution and as you know that maintaining buildings in tropical climates is hard, we still like to fix it so there will not a problem for our other customer again.

Hope this matter can't stop you to stay with us again.

Hope we can welcoming you again in the next trip to ubud.

Best Regards,
Riani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is in a good location, and the staff are nice. It is pretty run down, but it is clean. Thought it was a bit expensive at usd63 per night for a standard room, particularly compared to what you get in other parts of bali.

Make sure you go to Kafe which is just up the road, amazing organic food. Would also highly recommend a trip to the lake and mountain areas which is about 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupinata, Public Relations Manager at Artini 2 Cottages, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Natt,

Warmest Greeting From Artini 2 Cpottage,

Thank you very much for your feedback,
it is very helpful to improve our service.
Hope we can welcoming you again for your next trip to Ubud with better service.

Best Regards,
Riani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently at the start and end of an Intrepid tour. The staff are very friendly and helpful, offering me use of the swimming pool after I had checked out. The location is perfect; in central Ubud but set back from the road so peaceful. The banana pancakes for breakfast are delicious. My only complaint would be that the standard of rooms varies quite significantly; my first room had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool but a cramped bathroom with no bath or air conditioning whereas my second room was much smarter but without pool views. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupinata, Public Relations Manager at Artini 2 Cottages, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Daer Midlandsgnome,

Warmest Greeting From Artini 2 Cottage,

Thank you very much for your feedback and stay with us,
it is very helpful to improve our service and standard.
Hope we can welcoming you again for your next holiday in UBud.

Best Regards,
Riani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay. The highlight is the beautiful garden and pool. Nice location too. The room was a bit dark and quite basic but the staff are very friendly. It's a nice option if you want somewhere central but if the room needs to be the centrepiece of your stay maybe look elsewhere too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Morts-viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupinata, Public Relations Manager at Artini 2 Cottages, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Morts-viajero,

Warmest Greeting From Artini 2,

Thank you for your feedback and stay with us.
We apologize for making inconvenience caused during your stay.
we will change the lamp on the room so there will be not a problem for our other customer again.

Hope we can welcoming you again for your next visit to UBUD.

Kind regards,
Riani
Hotel Reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We enjoyed our 4 nights at Artini Cottages in Ubud. Great service, good value for money and great location in Ubud, The restaurant needs however, some TLC - and a good clean :) so if hungry rather try KAFE Ubud down the road. Otherwise, will definitely recommend the stay at Artini!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupinata, Public Relations Manager at Artini 2 Cottages, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Julia H,

Warmest Greeting from Artini 2 Cottage,

Thank you for your feedback and your stay with us,
It is very helpful to improve our service.
Hope we can welcoming you again for your next trip to Ubud with better service

Best Regards,
Riani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#102 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#55 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#92 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#106 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#113 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artini 2 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artini 2 Cottages

Property: Artini 2 Cottages
Address: Hanoman Street no. 54 | Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#85 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Artini 2 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 26 rooms, which are classified into 3 types with different facilities, all prioritizing comfort and beauty. Each room is designed in a typical Balinese architectural style and has its own private balcony where you can sit down and chat, read or just relax and enjoy the beautiful panorama of the tropical garden. Enjoy your holiday in total comfort and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Artini 2 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artini 2 Cottages Hotel Ubud
Artini 2 Hotel
Artini 2 Resort
Artini 2 Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing