We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, OK rooms, decent value”
Review of Artini 2 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artini 2 Cottages
Ranked #124 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed 2 nights in 2 rooms with spouse and teenagers in early July 2009. Rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean (by Bali standards), but somewhat worn. Grounds were beautiful and pool was good, too. Free breakfast was OK, nothing special.

Cost was $45USD per nt/per room, with tax and breakfast included. Value was decent, based on facilities and location. Note 3% upcharge for credit card.

I would recommend this hotel to other visitors to Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2009

Artini 2 Cottages are beautiful Bali-style bungalows dotted around a large, well-maintained site. There's a large, clean pool, good for serious swimmers. Rooms are serviced every day and the staff is obliging. Don't expect a Western hotel, though: people live with ants and creatures in Bali, and so might you if you stay in a fan room. I had an ants' nest in the "roof" of my four poster bed, so I had to avoid the eggs on one side. For the prices they charge here, they probably ought to spray for insects (although they don't bother me too much). Breakfast is underwhelming - I had better at a 100,000 rupiah a night homestay - but the eating area is pleasant, with magazines and a pool view. The nominal prices are far too high, but you can turn up and bargain: I got a $50 a night room for $30, which I thought was good value for a large bungalow up high, with a nice view, and access to the properly sized pool. If you're thinking of paying full prices, choose the Honeymoon Guesthouse instead for a far better breakfast, prettier pool and more charm.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Journalistontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Been travelling now for a month and this is the worst place we have stayed, and probably one of the most expensive! Dirty, BED BUGS, damp, not enough towels, staff very very unhelpful. We are travelling with two children and I regret staying here.

My husband was bitten by bed bugs, the toilet and the sink were blocked, the staff were some of the most unhelpful people I have met, we were charged for four people but they would only give us one towel. The whole place was tired (including the staff). The pool was heavily chlorinated, beware if you have sensitive skin.

Ubud is wonderful, Balinese people are some of the most charming people in the world. This place does not represent Bali at all. We would reccomend you stay somewhere else.

Plus note, the Gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

I am writing with over 12 years of Artini 2 experience. Craig and I go to Bali, at minimum, every other year and we can't imagine not making Artiini 2 our primary hotel to stay in. Every person is personable and more than accomadating. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We have become such good friends with the staff that even our children email some of the staff and has made friends with their families. Artini 2 is not just a hotel, it is a cultural experience. If anyone leaves from their stay at Artini 2 and is dissatisfied, it was their choice because they did not participate in all that is offered to them, primarily friendship and enrichment.

Craig and Evonne

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank married_bestfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Stayed here for just one night out of to that we spent in Ubud.
The Gardens and grounds are amazingly looked after and although Artini 2 is about 20 years old the grounds are well kept.
Want a delux room for $60 per night but they were full had a double ground floor with garden view and I have to say the room was very clean although a bit dated. the sheets however were stained and the pillows were like rocks but the aircon was fantastic. all the staff are really nice and the pool is lovely its in a good location just a short walk to all the shops and best resturants in Ubud. I would recommend a stay here but try and get the upstairs rooms with the view over the padi fields best room looked like T3. We would return to this place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbtraveler00750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

After reading reviews we steered clear of Artini Cottages until we went with our tour. We were wonderfully surprised. Our delux room was attractive, nice bathroom and clean. The beds were comfortable. As with all the Indonesian hotels we were in, the night lights for reading were poor. The pool was nice and big enough to swim some lengths. Breakfast was good. Wine was prohibitively expensive. My son had the luxury of the best room in the place and he felt like a king. The hotel was quiet and felt like an oasis after the bustling Ubud streets.

ALthough not on the main road, this had the same sort of stores, was as close to the Monkey Forest as was our hotel on Monkey Forest Road and was close to the market--very interesting.

one member of the tour said he was put in Artini Cottages 1 and it was much poorer than Artinit Cottages 2.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanEdmontonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

The deluxe room is ok but people at the reception are all but customer orriented (they ought do an other job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
The hotel is at 20 minutes from the main street, restaurants and so - walking time).

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mclBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#117 of 198 in Ubud
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#96 of 198 in Ubud
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#64 of 198 in Ubud
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 198 in Ubud
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#99 of 198 in Ubud
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#114 of 198 in Ubud
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artini 2 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artini 2 Cottages

Address: Hanoman Street no. 54 | Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#100 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £33 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artini 2 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 26 rooms, which are classified into 3 types with different facilities, all prioritizing comfort and beauty. Each room is designed in a typical Balinese architectural style and has its own private balcony where you can sit down and chat, read or just relax and enjoy the beautiful panorama of the tropical garden. Enjoy your holiday in total comfort and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artini 2 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artini 2 Cottages Hotel Ubud
Artini 2 Hotel
Artini 2 Resort
Artini 2 Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing