We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Phone, No Dryer, insects all over Deluxe room”
Review of Dewi Sri Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dewi Sri Bungalows
Ranked #187 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Phone, No Dryer, insects all over Deluxe room”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel after moving over from another area in Bali.
The group of us booked their Deluxe Bungalows but were given a non deluxe experiences.

I was given the furthest bungalow and it was a good 5 to 8 minutes from the reception.
As usual, I will look through the room and check out the amenities. Found a file for room service but then there is no phone in the room. There is also no flask for hot water and no hair dryer. This means that if you want room service, you will have to walk to the reception to request for it, which is the same for the hot water.

Our bungalow's bathroom is semi attached to the room. You will have to open a backdoor to a small open air balcony and the door to bathroom is at the other end.
This causes inconvenience as you will have to bring all your stuff to the bathroom and get dressed there after your wash up as people can see the balcony.

To make things worse, the balcony is constantly infested with ants and other insects. We have to make our way across trails of ants whenever going to the toilet. Even the clothes rack at the balcony is part of their trail.

I am considered myself lucky as the other bungalow that my friends were staying keep having black out. there was 1 night, there was like a black out for 2 hours. On the other night, there was 2 blackout and when confronting the reception, we were told that the cables are faulty and the engineer will come in the morning. In the end they managed to get the power back but do remember that every blackout you will have to walk to the reception as there is no phone.

I understand that this is a budget stay but i believe budget stay will at least have the basic service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INN0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
3
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed three nights at Sri Bungalow in Ubud. We have two children who enjoyed the pool, though it isn't anything too spectacular. The staff was quite nice and greeted us with smiles. The grounds were well kept. Breakfast was limited.

Location is good if you want to be in the heart of Monkey Forest Road. Attached internet cafe provided decent connections, otherwise the WIFI in the room was slow. A bit noisy in the lower level rooms, as we had teenagers upstairs of us making lots of noise. No street noise though, which was nice.

Again, seemed a bit expensive for what you get, but comparable to other guest houses/bungalows in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Sri Bungalows is the name of a hotel on Monkey Forest Road and is reasonable in price, spotlessly clean and serviced by unfailingly kind and polite people. Please do not confuse the two!

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

The location is on the edge of south central Ubud. If you are looking to stay in central Ubud ideally you don’t want to be this far south. The pavements are small and full of large holes straight into the small storm drains below so minimising walking here is good. This place has plenty of rice paddies around it and the scenery looks amazing for the price range. The accommodation itself is rustic. Wooden huts with woven walls and thatched roofs. Semi open-air bathrooms and raised cushion floor lounge downstairs. Upstairs is the bedroom and small balcony. All of which sound great and this place has all the potential to be great but missed the boat. The bathrooms are filthy. In my experience it seems that if you are after clean bathrooms in Indonesia you need to find places owned / run by westerners or go upmarket. Most of the rooms have roof fans only, which achieve nothing. The bedrooms are at least as hot as the temperature outside so if you cannot handle the heat you will not sleep. It must have been 27 degrees C the night I was there, too hot for me to sleep through.

With open walls on the ground level and surrounding rice paddies this place is basically in nature. They have a beautiful lily pond with fish and frogs, frogs which make a very loud noise at night. As the walls to the bedroom are just woven panels, even with ear plugs I could clearly here the frogs. There were plenty of geckos and some large lizards, which I like as they eat the insects. The entire places was swarming with ants, some small, some large so lounging pool side was out. The swimming pool did not have a filter so the where plenty of insects floating in the pool, but the water was clean.

All this said I think that there are plenty of ruff and tuff outdoor lovers who would really enjoy staying here if it were 10 – 15 USD a night. They were charging just over 30 USD for a fan room. In my opinion this place has potential but unfortunately is a complete rip off. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

! was staying in S.R.I. bungalows for 4 days. The rooms were excellent - clean, spacy, no bugs. The place is very close to the Monkey Forest on the Monkey Forest Road - so all the shops, restaurants and bars are close by.

Breakfast was typical for Bali, so good at all. Each room has a fridge with cold drinks (pricing just like in the close-by 24h supermarket). Romms were made up every day.

I truely can recommend this place even it is not a typical backpacker location, but a nomal bungalow area. Nevertheless it was worth staying here. Don't forget to discuss prices...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ba-chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Nothing much to say, it is a very basic hotel with basic room in a nice garden
Room was dark and not so clean, we even found a cockroach in our room and the receptionist who came to kill it and clean was not very polite and did not apologyze.
Breakfast was correct but the area is very small so you have to wait a bit to be able to sit there
Location was nice just in the middle of monkey forest road ans in front of a very nice restaurant called café wayan
Anyway you get what you paid for but for sure you can get something better with smiling staff
You have a internet café in front of the hotel (200rp /min)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiriocasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roundabout2009
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

They canceled our reservation (made a week in advance and confirmed the day before). In a slimy move, they happened to have a very similar reservation for a woman from Yogya who hadn't arrived yet (it was only about noon), which they offered to sell us at twice the advertised room price. Are you kidding me? This is Ubud- it took me five minutes of walking to find a place we were perfectly happy with.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundabout2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#134 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#107 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#96 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cendana Resort and Spa
Cendana Resort and Spa
#128 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#17 of 542 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewi Sri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewi Sri Bungalows

Property: Dewi Sri Bungalows
Address: Jl. Hanoman 69, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Dewi Sri Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Dewi Sri Hotel
Dewi Sri Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing