We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bungalow, great staff, awesome breakfast!”
Review of Guci Guesthouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guci Guesthouses
Ranked #38 of 666 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at Guci Guesthouse in Ocotber 2013. First of all we just chose it, because it was the closest to the bus station and we liked the description, so we booked for 3 nights and extended to 5, because we liked it a lot, also without AC and even though it was far out of the Ubud center (30 min walk).
The bugalow was huge and very nice and clean. The terrace in front had nice furniture to relax and read.
Ulrike is German and moved to Bali in the 80s, where she married a balinese guy.
They both and their son run the guesthouse.
The breakfast was the best we had in our 3 weeks holiday. Every day they had something else and always a huge fruit platter.
If you rent a scooter, which is easy and cheap, the walk to town gets much shorter of course.
There are some great restaurants around.
One thing we missed, was AC. Unfortunatelly it was very hot, the time we've been there, it was shortly before rain season.
We stayed in a bungalow for 3 nights and then moved to the house, where we had a huge 2-floor flat with an open room upstairs.
They wanted to renew the flat in November 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorle-Schorle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

As this is the first morning of waking in Guci Guesthouse I will write briefly, saving the words until a little later...This is a beautiful part of the world enhanced greatly by a place of charm and true hospitality. I have been taken back by the warmth and the embrace of not just the place, the gardens, the room, but the owners...I knew the minute I spoke to Ulli that this was where I was going to stay for a little longer than intended, only downside is, I didn't begin my journey here...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having done Bali on a luxury budget 3 years ago, I was intrigued this time to find I could have the same 5 star experience at 25% of the cost – and miss out on nothing.
Guci guesthouse is an example of this. Our bungalow (€40 per night for the two of us) had two bed rooms both with four poster beds, an outside Balinese style shower, a larger breakfast area. Our upstairs room was beautiful and enormous with a stunning open view (see pictures), a sofa sitting area, and a table with chairs where we sat and drank beer (from the honesty bar at the fridge at reception) in the evenings overlooking the wonderful garden with its temples and lush trees, and I used the computer using the excellent free broadband.
Breakfast (included) – served in a pagoda in the garden, was a delicious plate of fresh fruit, am omelette ort pancake, and a large pot of excellent Bali coffee. One could also have it in the peace of one’s own bungalow , but we enjoyed the interaction with other guests – many of whom are regulars.
True, Guci doesn’t have a swimming pool, but it does have a deal l with a luxury hotel 3 minutes walk away for guests to use the poll there at a charge of $2. Each time we used this beautiful swimming pool overlooking rice fields, we had the pool completely to ourselves. We also used the hotels very nice outdoor style restaurant (also over looking rice fileds0 for lunch on the days we used the pool.
If you like massage 5 mins walk away is the excellent Jaen’s spa ( Jin Raya Pengosekan, tel +62 361 971312) massage, where an excellent Bali massage (one hour) wil cost you less than $10.
There are excellent restaurants on the busy street which Gaia oasis is off (Its set in a large garden, down a lane off the street – and is amazingly quiet and peaceful belying the street that it is off). When we wanted to go into the centre of Ubud – 20 minutes’ walk, we frequently took a taxi (easily available and costing $3-4) rather than walk along the infamous Ubud footpaths with their holes.
Ulli from Germany, married to Nyoman (a Balinese priest) will make you extremely welcome (they have been welcoming people for 25 years). We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMCxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Bungalows set in beautiful gardens. Peaceful and relaxing if that is what you need.... Lots of privacy and owners helpful and warm and always there if you needed to ask anything... Close to the yoga and key ubud sites. Walking and cabs all very doable... Good for yoga barn and fabulous Kafe too. Very family friendly ...bungalows have been renovated recently....so spruced up and very pleasant.... Family friendly too. Would def go back xxx

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

What joy and smiles you were greeted with each time by Ulli & Nyoman, they were just lovely and so accommodating with anything I needed.
You can tell they put much care and love in their sanctuary at Guci.
I loved the location which was very peaceful and quiet off the roads - away from hustle and bustle and therefore no traffic noises.. a 2min walk to yoga barn was handy!
Definitely a goer I'd you want closer to yoga barn and not mind a 15min walk to main street - there's lots to see along the way anyway..
Room was a delight and lovely romantic spot for couples, I loved the regal colour splashed throughout in the decore.. mozzy net definitely helped and the huge fan in the room was fantastic.
I can't fault this place - it was the perfect first spot for me to stay in Ubud and felt very safe their travelling alone.
Thanks Ulli and Nyoman, see you soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colourfemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Guci Guesthouse in November 2012. The owners - Ulli and Nyoman were very nice and helpful, they also provide some information sheets about the area for the guests, they also helped me to arrange the transfer from Ubud to the airport.
We stayed in the bungallows and loved them. The outdoor showers is great, the room and the bed is comfortable. The breakfast is included, they serve homemade breakfast in the garden, where you can chat with other guests if you want.
The guesthouse is in a quiet area (inspite of the fact that you can hear the cocks somtimes, but you can't hear the noise of the traffic) but shops and restaurants are nearby. It was a perfect place to stay when we discovered the Ubud area. The Monkey Forest is within walking distance and the ARMA museum is also in the neighbourhood.
There was no AC in the bungallow but the fan was perfectly enough.
Nyoman is an artist we could see some of his paintings and sculptures in the lush garden.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We booked the house for two nights, it was beautiful! We actually just wanted the bungalow, but since it was not available, we chose the house as it was just 10 Euros more. The house was beautiful with a kitchenette, a dining area, two bedrooms, and a tastefully done bathroom. It was too large for the two of us, but we enjoyed it nonetheless! The choice of earthy colours, lush greenery surrounding the house, waking up to the chirping of birds, beautiful nets strewn around four poster bed, the wooden rustic feel to the house- it was splendid. Ulli and Nyoman were fantastic hosts, and loved the folder they had put together offering information - from laundry to restaurants to itineraries in Bali. The prices given in the folder for taxis helped us keep perspective while we negotiated with the drivers! Loved the fresh and flowery smelling towels, and we totally loved the pretty and tasty breakfast they had made. If I HAVE to complain, these are four things I'd want to point out:
1. The hot water fluctuates, they do have a little board there asking us to contact them when that happens, but you really can't do that when you're in the middle of a shower and hot water stops! But it was humid Bali, so a cold shower wasn't too bad.
2. We got the same breakfast the second day morning, so maybe long stayers might get bored.
3. The house is of open style, so if you need lots of privacy it may not be a good idea, as there is not 'do not disturb' board you can hang on the door (in fact no door for the main entrance , although the bedrooms have doors) the girls would just walk in and ask you if they can clean the place.
4. You don't get soaps and the little tit bits, and since its an open kind of house dust collects quickly on surfaces. (even though its cleaned everyday)

Seems like a lot of complaints, but these are very tiny things that I tried hard to knit pick. Overall it was a fantastic relaxing experience and a great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.5 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
0.5 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 5 in Mas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guci Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guci Guesthouses

Address: Jl. Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 666 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £29 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guci-Guesthouses is located in Pengosekan/Ubud. We offer three bungalows and two houses for rent, which are set in a lush and tropical garden. We have been running the guesthouse since 1987 and many people from all over the world have already stayed with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guci Guesthouses Hotel Ubud
Guci Guesthouses Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing