We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved De Munut!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Munut Balinese Resort
Ranked #112 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Great rooms, polite staff. lovely pools. We stayed for 3 night in De Munut Bungalow and loved every minute. Being situated away from the centre of Ubud was great, just a short walk to Monkey Forest Rd and some great restaurants. Kardika the driver who works from de Munut is fantastic as well, if you want to go on tour any where around Bali i recommend using him. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingFeet_Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for De Munut Balinese Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed in De Munut in May 2012, and simply loved it. I enjoyed relaxing by the pool, the nice and well looked after garden. The staff was very nice, friendly and efficient. A great place to stay, close enough to the center of Ubud so that you can walk there, and far enough so that you can be in a nice garden, even enjoy the view on a little rice paddy, and relax in a quiet place. The massages were very nice as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Beautiful room and grounds and fantastic value for money. Bathrooms felt very luxurious with their part outdoors plan, but remaining completely private. I loved showering whilst listening to the sounds of the wildlife around us.
Staff very friendly and situated a small walk or very cheap taxi ride to the main street. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Beautiful tranquil rooms, close to Ubud. Lovely friendly staff and a good if basic breakfast. The little lizards in the rooms are an interesting feature :) I especially loved the outdoor bathroom. The Balinese massage is very rough though, and I was left with bruises!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I'm writing this short experience from one of their Deluxe Rooms. Which in this case is actually too deluxe for me as a lonely-traveler.

Every picture on their website is honest. The room is clean, the bathroom is brandnew (half outdoors) incl. the beds. The pools (2), the service and the location are perfect. Very quiet but just a 10min walk (or 1min.by scooter, which you can have delivered within 5min for 5euro/day) away from the crowded Monkey Forrest Road. And only a 10min scooterride from a few authentic rice-terraces.

The food is nice but a bit too high priced compared to the streetfood you can get from honest English speaking streetsellers. But still not as expensive as the touristic restaurants along the road. If you go to the local food market, you will be amazed to see what 1euro can still by you nowadays. A plate full freshly steamed rice and stirfried veggies with tasty chicken (3euro incl. Bintang).

Already looking forward to the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michiel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have stayed at De Munut twice in 10 months and find it to be the best place in Ubud we have looked at other places and it is value for money. We are planning a trip back next July and the new villas will be open, can't wait! You cannont fault the service and it is like going back to family each time. So helpful and always happy. They keep the place in pristine condition even with the building going on. The rooms are really comfortable and the bathroom is awsome. We hire a motorbike so the ride to town is quick. We would recommend this lovely place to anyone.

Room Tip: Love the upper floor units but they are all great.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here the last few nights and I have to stay this exceeded our expectations. For the price we expected something very basic but this was a beautiful Balinese style hotel. Located next to rice fields this is a 5 minute walk to the town of Ubud. This worked out perfectly as it is nice to stay away from the centre. Breakfast was included which was great and most importantly it was very clean. The staff were great also. They could offer a little more in terms of food/snacks but who wants to eat in a hotel when you have the delights of Balinese cuisine on your doorstep. If I ever go back I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joneill19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#95 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#98 of 199 in Ubud
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
1.9 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Munut Balinese Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Munut Balinese Resort

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#48 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#92 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £38 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Munut Balinese Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Munut Balinese resort was established on 1970 and formerly known as Munut Bungalows, then turned back into one of cottages in Ubud under De Munut Cottages. Now they are advancing themselves into De Munut Balinese Resort, a unique resort serving Balinese impression to their guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Munut Balinese Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Munut Cottages Hotel Ubud
De Munut Balinese Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing