We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff. Only this.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oka Kartini Bungalow
Ranked #183 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff. Only this.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Very cozy but, unfortunately, very old bathrooms. The bedrooms smells mold. The staff is great, very warm and nice people like everybody in Bali. The manager is very sweet. Good location but in the weekends loud music nearby.

Room Tip: There's a party in the neighborhood every weekend. Big noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudinha27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Oka Kartini is a wonderful and very special lady. She is helpful, social and a real character! I spend one month in her place and had a great time. She mingles with her guests and regards them as friends. From time to time she gives great lunches, no extra pay. Apart from a hotel it is also an art gallery, paintings and stone and wooden statues everywhere. A nice cool swimming pool and a beautifully kept garden. If I ever go back to Ubud I'll go straight to Oka. One thing to consider: be careful if you use wifi, the reception guy with the glasses who sits behind his laptop day and night called Risa, spies on your computer and copies the contents on his own. Better to use wifi elsewhere in Ubud, A million places to choose from.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own character, and the room you choose depends with how many people you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

first of all, Oka Kartini is conveniently located on the edge of town, approximately 5 minutes to the 'centre' of town, depending on how you define the centre. Within 5 minutes you reach a number of shops, restaurants, other hotels/hostels/homestay, the market and the palace. Location is good as it is quiet but still convenient.

In terms of the accommodation itself, the setting is very good. It is quiet and pretty, with a nice reception area (where breakfast of fruit and pancakes is served) and around the corner is a good sized swimming pool. The rooms are a good size (ours had a fan, no AC but it did not matter). The only thing left to be desired was the bathroom. Our toilet didnt really flush properly but down the steps from our room were restrooms which were fine. We did not have a shower, only a bath with a had held shower but this was fine. Water power wasnt great though. The rooms were clean and beds comfy.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, including sorting out buses and a cooking course for us. Thank you for having us!

Also just read other reviews re loud disco music. We could hear the music from a jazz bar which ended at approximately midnight. It was not offensively loud so could not complain!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My worst night in bali !

First : the boss (old weird woman) insisted and bargained to convince me staying...
She got more and more haughty.

Then, the bed was not nice at all : noisy, broken wood and no sheet !
on top of that a bug that was in the bed started flying...

So I had to ask them to change sheets and got finally real sheet on the matress...

(all these worries for an expensive room...)
Unfortunately, later, i saw a second bug and it was a Coackroach !!!!

I asked my money back, staff told me l had to leave (it was 11pm) to get my money back, so I left and found another place cheaper and cleaner !

Really bad experience !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pandlaup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed for more than 3 days at Oka Kartini. We did not have a bungalow but a surpior room at the second floor. Great, big room with nice Balinese furniture and a large bed + mosquito net and bathroom with douche + bath. Staff was really friendly and helpfull and we had a lovely lunch with Oka, that was all great! However, the sheets were a bit smelly, the power of the water was really low so we could not use the bath or douche properly. Also, one night (I believe it was a Thursday) the music of the disco nearby was VERY loud not funny if you have to get up early in the morning. In addition, we had a lot of rain and the room showed some leakages. Nevertheless, we would recommed to sleep here because the location is excellent, pool is good and the rooms are unforgetpable and incompareble qua size and furniture!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmOlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

my partner and I had planned three days in Ubud (11-14 July 2013), and we were looking for a budget solution somewhat close to Ubud center. We have travelled a lot, and we adapt to all sorts of accommodations, but we could never imagine that we would end up being deceived by decent pictures and reviews that omitted the most important aspect of this place: it literally borders on an incredibly loud outdoor discotheque. Not only are the bungalows falling apart (e.g. beds and bathrooms are a disaster), but walls and windows tremble until 3am, when the boom boom music ends. Reassured by a photocopy of the logo tripadvisor exhibited at the reception, we checked in during the evening of July 11: luckily so, because this way we could detect the discoteque problem and confirmed that we would stay only the first night. Please note that upon arrival we were asked to pay the three nights in advance.
After hours wandering around the town at night trying to escape the unbearable noise, at 3am we could come back to our room, but at 8am some carpenting work was started in the room next to ours. This is no condition in which one wants to be after long distance travelling. The personnel tried to be nice and understanding, and they certainly bear no responsibility for the nightmare this place can become. We just wonder how other tripadvisor published reviews fail to mention this crucial aspect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The grounds are lovely and the pool makes for a refreshing dip to cool off from the afternoon heat. The staff are very helpful and nice.
The bathrooms could do with a good scrub and are a bit run down, However, there are nice details such as fresh flowers and nice lighting and cushions. There is noise from the passing traffic during the day and the music bar at night but it didn't go on very late.
There are no mosquito nets. Breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#134 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#174 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#175 of 199 in Ubud
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#132 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#158 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#161 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oka Kartini Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oka Kartini Bungalow

Property: Oka Kartini Bungalow
Address: Jl. Raya Ubud | In Front of BCA Bank, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oka Kartini Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oka Kartini Bed and Breakfast accommodation is situated walking distance within five minutes to the centre of Ubud. This accommodation is established to fulfill the needs of the budgeted travelers visiting the town of Ubud. The close distance as well as the affordable prices making it the suitable place for you to stay, its strategic location, very close to some well known restaurants, galleries, art shops, cafes, Ubud Palace as well as the traditional and art market of Ubud is the very plus point that the guests could get by staying at this accommodation. Price wise, being affordable does not mean low standard of service, facilities and comfort. We often work the best to maintain our good quality, making sure the guests feeling comfortable and convenient during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Oka Kartini Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oka Kartini Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Oka Kartini Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing