We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oka Kartini Bungalow
Ranked #183 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Nice breakfast and smiley staff, but besides that is terrible! Old furniture and they only sweep but never really clean so just the smell of the bed, the bathroom, towels etc was horrible. It's very likely that you will cut your feet in the swimming pool because the tiles are too old...we had to run out of it after the days I paid in advances ended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielaGarcia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Room is average and nothing to write home about. However Oka and her staff are so friendly! They make you feel so welcome. Whilst I was there I was invited to one of her special buffet lunches as well. Best meal we had in Bali! The hotel is also a convenient 5/10 min walk into the centre and the pool is just ideal after a hot day exploring.

I did see on earlier reviews that there is a nearby disco but I was there Monday to Wednesday and had no issue. But can't comment for weekend stays!

Room Tip: Get a bungalow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mulvers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

It is not the quality of the room. It is the quality of the company. Oka Kartini brings people from all over the world as friends. In three days we spent hours around the table sharing food, stories and companionship with some wonderful people from USA, France, Great Britain, Turkey, Austria, Australia and particularly oka Kartini and her excellent staff.
Complimentary Balinese luncheons hosted by Oka are an experience not to be missed. Thank you for an experience to remember.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jekje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I arrived in Ubud without knowing where to go, and I found Oka Kartini on the net, it took me minutes to reach the Bungalows on foot from the market in the city centre.
I met Oka at the pool, I could just tell that she wasn't an ordinary person.
She had been the perfect host and cicerone, always ready to help.
Ubud was great especially if you travel by scooter, which I conveniently rented from the hotel.
All in all, my experience at Oka Kartini was splendid, and I would definitly stay at this amazing place if I was ever to visit Ubud again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassiminoBellaVita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Oka Kartini's is lovely accommodation just a short walk from the centre of ubud. Oka goes out of her way to make you feel at home. The pool is great and very inviting after a hot day walking around ubud.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Very cozy but, unfortunately, very old bathrooms. The bedrooms smells mold. The staff is great, very warm and nice people like everybody in Bali. The manager is very sweet. Good location but in the weekends loud music nearby.

Room Tip: There's a party in the neighborhood every weekend. Big noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudinha27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Oka Kartini is a wonderful and very special lady. She is helpful, social and a real character! I spend one month in her place and had a great time. She mingles with her guests and regards them as friends. From time to time she gives great lunches, no extra pay. Apart from a hotel it is also an art gallery, paintings and stone and wooden statues everywhere. A nice cool swimming pool and a beautifully kept garden. If I ever go back to Ubud I'll go straight to Oka. One thing to consider: be careful if you use wifi, the reception guy with the glasses who sits behind his laptop day and night called Risa, spies on your computer and copies the contents on his own. Better to use wifi elsewhere in Ubud, A million places to choose from.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own character, and the room you choose depends with how many people you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#127 of 198 in Ubud
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#161 of 198 in Ubud
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#168 of 198 in Ubud
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#176 of 198 in Ubud
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#175 of 198 in Ubud
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#136 of 198 in Ubud
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oka Kartini Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oka Kartini Bungalow

Property: Oka Kartini Bungalow
Address: Jl. Raya Ubud | In Front of BCA Bank, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oka Kartini Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oka Kartini Bed and Breakfast accommodation is situated walking distance within five minutes to the centre of Ubud. This accommodation is established to fulfill the needs of the budgeted travelers visiting the town of Ubud. The close distance as well as the affordable prices making it the suitable place for you to stay, its strategic location, very close to some well known restaurants, galleries, art shops, cafes, Ubud Palace as well as the traditional and art market of Ubud is the very plus point that the guests could get by staying at this accommodation. Price wise, being affordable does not mean low standard of service, facilities and comfort. We often work the best to maintain our good quality, making sure the guests feeling comfortable and convenient during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oka Kartini Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oka Kartini Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Oka Kartini Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing