We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great garden for a great resting time in Ubud...”
Review of Okawati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Okawati Hotel
Ranked #105 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great garden for a great resting time in Ubud...”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have been staying there for 2 nights. Rooms are lovely prepared, with comfortable beds, working Aircon and good living space.
Hotel area is just wonderful, clean garden with nice flowers and plants all around, nice pool with clear water, quite deep...
Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit juice and great pancake.
Staff is nice and supportive.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody willing to sleep in the traditional Indonesian atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekyllboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    111
    39
    14
    9
See reviews for
51
158
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a smaller hotel with a pool, good fresh food, helpful staff and a nice lush garden. We had the family room, which is big, with the much needed aircon. When you exit, you are right in the heart of Ubud and close to the monkey forest.

Services are wifi, laundry, trips, cute geckos and daily morning offerings at your doorstep. We had a relaxing stay here.

Ps in the rating it says there is fitness and children's facilities but there are none.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are pretty dark, so a first floor room would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbarAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ban huay kor, thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

In December 2012 myself and two other female Peace Corps Volunteers spent 4 days at the Oka Wati Hotel & Restaurant in Ubud. We found it very inexpensive, tranquil, clean, pleasant, and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. It was close to all the activity but also quiet with a nice pool. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Traditional building in a wonderful, quiet garden with huge and clean pool, located centrally with all Ubud sights like monkey forest, temples, market and boutiques and restaurants etc. within walking distance. Just opposite the hotel (beside the soccer field) you can rent mountain bikes, book tours (we warmly recommend the Eco Cycling Tour) and exchange money at a rather good rate.

Mrs. Oka Wati and her team are very friendly and professional hosts, we immediately felt at home. The service was terrific – you can enjoy your breakfast directly on your terrace in front of the room (as if you were at home), each afternoon we found a thermos jug with hot tea on our terrace table (free of charge), the breakfast was the best we received in Bali (try the banana pancake and pineapple pancake!!).

Mrs. Okawati introduced us to local traditions and hinted on the local balinese events that happen every few days. We thank her for the pleasant stay in her place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citykid72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Oka Wati Hotel is a quaint and traditional hotel. I believe in it's day it must have been incredible. I have read that there are upgraded rooms, however the room we were given was dark and in dire need of upgrading, especially the bathroom (ants everywhere) and a broken window repaired with red tape. There is a nice pool which was always kept clean and was very refreshing after a day of walking around town in the heat. The gardens around the pool were kept manicured, but could also use a little sprucing up. The bed was big and comfortable and the large deck was nice for relaxing on and enjoying the breakfast they deliver each morning (yes the honey yogurt is delicious with the fresh fruit!).
I believe what keeps people coming back is the location and the wonderful staff. You can be in the center of Ubud in virtually minutes and the staff were incredibly kind and helpful. What surprised us is that you are so close to town, which is a bustling traffic busy area, yet hear none of the noise associated with the town when you are back to the Hotel. It is a very peaceful hotel.
The Hotel is also located down an alley, so when arriving by taxi you are dropped off on the main street (Monkey Forest Road) and then you have to walk (with your luggage/bags) to the Hotel. Vehicles cannot drive to the hotel. Although there is a restaurant service in the Hotel there are many restaurants located close by in easy walking distance. We felt very safe walking around Ubud at night, but do recommend that you have a flashlight with you for walking back to the Hotel. Sidewalks are very uneven and dangerous for walking in daylight and even more dangerous at night.
We booked, through the Hotel, a bicycle day trip starting up near the Volcano and riding through the rice paddies, villages and ending with a wonderful lunch with a Balinese family. We enjoyed the nightly performances held at the temples and the Palace. And we had many wonderful meals from the various restaurants located all over Ubud. We did a hike around the rice paddies starting at the bridge, which turned out to be a full day as we took our time visiting the various arts and craft stalls along the way and stopped to talk with locals living and/or working along the walk.
Despite the taxi drivers and massage girls constantly asking for service, and the mother's begging with their children (which we found appalling), we loved Ubud for all of the arts and crafts (i.e. wood carvings and paintings) and scenery and decided to stay longer than originally planned. However we stayed at Oka Waki for only three nights, and then left for another Hotel, also located close to town, basically because we found the room too dark and gloomy. I would recommend this hotel if you like old and authentic hotels, but ask for an upgraded room.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterlogged23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great staff and very accommodating for a cheap price. OkaWati is a wonderful woman, Her hotel is just in central Ubud and is beautiful. We were so happy with our first three nights at Okawati's, we ended our time in Gili T. and went back to Okawati's for 3 more nights.

If staying in Ubud, Stay at Okawati's!

Room Tip: "All Rooms are BEAUTIFUL!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinnGerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here in September for 3 nights. We found the hotel to be peaceful with lovely gardens and a really nice, clean pool. It's well situated in the heart of Ubud so very close to all the restaurants and shops. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave us advice on our day trip out of Ubud.

Breakfast was good but not spectacular: eggs, toast, fruit, tea/coffee and yoghurt. You have a choice of where to have it so we had ours delivered to our terrace which was lovely. Didn't eat in the restaurant as there are so many other options so close by.

The only drawback was that the room we had was very dark during the day and badly lit at night. There were also a fair few cobwebs on the bed/ ceiling - maybe you wouldn't notice these but I'm not a fan of spiders so I'm ultra aware. They were quite dusty so maybe they were old.
Having seen other guest's photos on here I would recommend getting a room upstairs as they have better views and look a lot lighter.

The bathroom was clean and modern and because we didn't overlook the pool, the terrace outside was fairly private.

Overall a nice place to stay but rooms really vary.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views and are lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dala_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#106 of 198 in Ubud
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#135 of 198 in Ubud
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#97 of 198 in Ubud
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
0.1 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#137 of 198 in Ubud
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okawati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okawati Hotel

Property: Okawati Hotel
Address: Jalan Wanara Wana, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Okawati Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us If you want to be close to all the action in Ubud, yet away from the noise and hustle, you have found the right place. Only 1 1/2 blocks from the center of Ubud, on a quiet alleyway off Monkey Forest Road, we are in close walking distance to the market, tourist information, evening performances, soccer field, major shopping, art museums and galleries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Okawati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okawati Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing