We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel in the heart of Ubud”
Review of Okawati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Okawati Hotel
Ranked #115 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent 7 nights at the Okawati Hotel, and enjoyed it a great deal. All of the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The pool area is feels like your own little piece of paradise. Our breakfast was delicious, and I enjoyed being able to fill out the order the night before. They were in the middle of completely remodeling their restaurant, which hopefully will be completed soon. The Okawati is just a few minutes walk from Monkey Forrest Rd., one of the main thoroughfares in Ubud. This was our first trip to Bali, and it was nice to spend so much time in a city like Ubud that has so much to offer in terms of dance performances, visual arts, restaurants, and nearby hiking.

Room Tip: I think having a room on an upper level is best, just gives you a bit more privacy and less noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this location. Had some awesome food at cheap prices.
Breakfast in your room, amazing. Pool was great and always cleaned. The staff were so helpful and really friendly. The room was beautiful and clean as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyzzasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked this hotel based on Lonely Planets recommendations. Its really good value for money. A bit rustic and needed some touch-ups in the room. Showers a bit weak, there is no TV in the room but again its supposed to be peaceful. Air Con is a bit weak but again cos the room has high celings. Great gardens with small pool. I think they are building another block next to reception. Breakfast a bit basic and quality could be better. In summary a good place with great character but comfort is average.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimmy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great, nice quiet place to stay. The place is hosted by Oka Wati herself, lovely lady and excellent host who always makes sure you have everything you need. I booked for 5 nights and stayed on my own. Nice spacious room, lovely pool (small but certainly big enough) and a lovely breakfast brought to your veranda every day! Must try the pineapple pancake (will remember the place especially for this) and home-made yoghurt with honey (as recommended by Lonely Planet too). Meals and drinks are simple but good and very low costs.

A few things to consider / nice-to-knows: The place can only be reached by a small footpath. There is no television (at least not in my room, 8B) but actually that turned into something good: get used to it. In the bathroom a very strong anti insect odor is being used wich I found quite disturbing. Towels are not automatically renewed, daily cleaning is somewhat basic. Wifi is available in garden and in the rooms; the further away from garden/office, the weaker the signal. And beware of the mosquitoes at night, rooms are not mosquito free and no mosquito net is available. Oka Wati is located directly off the main road with lots of nice shops and restaurants.

In short: Oka Wati is a good choice, you absolutely won't regret. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: I stayed in 8B, which is on ground floor. Wifi is okay here since room is being located next to offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful indonesian rooms, sufficient size, view over rice paddy, down a short lane so removed from the noise of the busy street. Excellent and I mean excellent breakfast (get the pineapple pancakes) served on your front balcony. I'm not usually one to see a pool as a major draw when choosing a hotel but the one at the Okawati hotel hit the spot every day. Ubud was hot and grimy so the pool provided welcome relief every afternoon. Staff were very welcoming and helpful in planning itineraries and arranging transportation.
Only drawback was the coolish water in the tub with no shower curtain. We managed.

Travelled in May 2013.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank lelly_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Okawati Hotel, if you're on a budget, is one of the best in Ubud. Close to the markets, however, located in a tranquil, quiet and peaceful location off the main road. Getting to the Okawati Hotel was a bit concerning, as the signs lead us down a couple of alleyways; but this adds to the charm once you get there.

The facilities are great however, as I was staying with friends, we found the quality of the rooms does vary quite a bit. My some of my friends and I occupied Rooms 1A and B, which were excellent, but, another friend found his room to be of a much lesser quality than ours.

Breakfast was not my cup of tea (pardon the pun) but my friends seemed to enjoy it. The service was great and were very helpful when it came to organising activities/scooter hire.

A great hotel and a great holiday!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the property, much cleaner and better appointed (However, only sleeps 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is perfect for anyone who wants the ability to walk to all the hot spots of Ubud but relax in a quiet retreat. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Ms. Okawati greater us herself. The pool was nice and the rooms gave you an intimate feel for the local culture. Breakfast was served right outside our rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTusinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#60 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#157 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#98 of 199 in Ubud
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
1.0 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#116 of 199 in Ubud
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cendana Resort and Spa
Cendana Resort and Spa
#132 of 199 in Ubud
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okawati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okawati Hotel

Address: Jl. Wanara Wana, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £20 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Okawati Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us If you want to be close to all the action in Ubud, yet away from the noise and hustle, you have found the right place. Only 1 1/2 blocks from the center of Ubud, on a quiet alleyway off Monkey Forest Road, we are in close walking distance to the market, tourist information, evening performances, soccer field, major shopping, art museums and galleries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Okawati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okawati Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing