We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet and friendly retreat in bustling Ubud” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okawati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Okawati Hotel
Ranked #96 of 190 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quiet and friendly retreat in bustling Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

In Aug 2014 we stayed 5 nights in Ubud with our family of five. Okawati was the perfect retreat (yet centrally located) after hours of action in the town or its surroundings. The staff are friendly and helpful and will support you with just about anything you need. The hotel's own swimming pool was a definite plus, good water.

Room Tip: In Aug 2014 they were adding some more rooms - try to keep away from the building activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    111
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
50
157
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Idyllic yet conveniently close to the main attractions, Okawati is the perfect place for Bali first-timers like my fiancé and me. Breakfast is yummy and the staff is friendly. The bathroom has seen better days but then, it's not a five star hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinepeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent 7 nights at the Okawati Hotel, and enjoyed it a great deal. All of the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The pool area is feels like your own little piece of paradise. Our breakfast was delicious, and I enjoyed being able to fill out the order the night before. They were in the middle of completely remodeling their restaurant, which hopefully will be completed soon. The Okawati is just a few minutes walk from Monkey Forrest Rd., one of the main thoroughfares in Ubud. This was our first trip to Bali, and it was nice to spend so much time in a city like Ubud that has so much to offer in terms of dance performances, visual arts, restaurants, and nearby hiking.

Room Tip: I think having a room on an upper level is best, just gives you a bit more privacy and less noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this location. Had some awesome food at cheap prices.
Breakfast in your room, amazing. Pool was great and always cleaned. The staff were so helpful and really friendly. The room was beautiful and clean as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyzzasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked this hotel based on Lonely Planets recommendations. Its really good value for money. A bit rustic and needed some touch-ups in the room. Showers a bit weak, there is no TV in the room but again its supposed to be peaceful. Air Con is a bit weak but again cos the room has high celings. Great gardens with small pool. I think they are building another block next to reception. Breakfast a bit basic and quality could be better. In summary a good place with great character but comfort is average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great, nice quiet place to stay. The place is hosted by Oka Wati herself, lovely lady and excellent host who always makes sure you have everything you need. I booked for 5 nights and stayed on my own. Nice spacious room, lovely pool (small but certainly big enough) and a lovely breakfast brought to your veranda every day! Must try the pineapple pancake (will remember the place especially for this) and home-made yoghurt with honey (as recommended by Lonely Planet too). Meals and drinks are simple but good and very low costs.

A few things to consider / nice-to-knows: The place can only be reached by a small footpath. There is no television (at least not in my room, 8B) but actually that turned into something good: get used to it. In the bathroom a very strong anti insect odor is being used wich I found quite disturbing. Towels are not automatically renewed, daily cleaning is somewhat basic. Wifi is available in garden and in the rooms; the further away from garden/office, the weaker the signal. And beware of the mosquitoes at night, rooms are not mosquito free and no mosquito net is available. Oka Wati is located directly off the main road with lots of nice shops and restaurants.

In short: Oka Wati is a good choice, you absolutely won't regret. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: I stayed in 8B, which is on ground floor. Wifi is okay here since room is being located next to offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful indonesian rooms, sufficient size, view over rice paddy, down a short lane so removed from the noise of the busy street. Excellent and I mean excellent breakfast (get the pineapple pancakes) served on your front balcony. I'm not usually one to see a pool as a major draw when choosing a hotel but the one at the Okawati hotel hit the spot every day. Ubud was hot and grimy so the pool provided welcome relief every afternoon. Staff were very welcoming and helpful in planning itineraries and arranging transportation.
Only drawback was the coolish water in the tub with no shower curtain. We managed.

Travelled in May 2013.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lelly_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#54 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#103 of 190 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#51 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#88 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#119 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okawati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okawati Hotel

Property: Okawati Hotel
Address: Jalan Wanara Wana, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Okawati Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us If you want to be close to all the action in Ubud, yet away from the noise and hustle, you have found the right place. Only 1 1/2 blocks from the center of Ubud, on a quiet alleyway off Monkey Forest Road, we are in close walking distance to the market, tourist information, evening performances, soccer field, major shopping, art museums and galleries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Okawati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okawati Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing