We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fadded Glory” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Bunga Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Puri Bunga Resort and Spa
Ranked #213 of 502 Ubud B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fadded Glory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I really liked this place, but it could do with some TLC (tender loving care). There were chips in paintwork and plaster EVERYWHERE, towels and sheets were threat bare, the pools weren't quiet filled enough to make it easy to get in and out. The set breakfast wasn't great, but when I asked for something different, I was accommodated with no complaints or rude service (unlike in other places).

There were only a handful of enormous rooms, with two showers per room (it has to be seen), a small balcony or terrace. The views down the valley were stunning and it was so peaceful. After the maddness of the coast and capital this was great. Occassionally you'll hear the screams of white water rafters below, but only if you listen out for them.

There was a spa on site, that I didn't use, but my friend did and said it was a great massage.

All that said, it was a bargin price having searched vairous websites. Everywhere was clean and tidy, nothing made me think it was a terrible hotel, just faded glory. The staff were a;ways friendly, helpful and polite and a gave off a sense that nothing was too much trouble (ideal for a hotel).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonNisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, General Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear London Nisha
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very comprehensive review at tripadvisor.com. we are pleased to find that you enjoyed your stay at PURI BUNGA RESORT & SPA which has been relaxing and you really liked the Resort . we are also very happy to find that you were very well-taken care of by our team of dedicated staff who were always ready to help and made you feel welcomed. We highly appreciate your suggestions and feedbacks on some issues which we will immediately address. Once again thank you very much and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Happy days,
Wayan Sudarma Manager Puri Bunga Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    86
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
35
81
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 3 pm...the couple room was an opened air room..and it was hot...the flower bath had many big ants and they bite painfully..the massage itself was just so so....overall...i wouldnt come back again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bobo852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Bobo852
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and share your observations so that we may constantly enhance our services for all guests .all of our hotel rooms and instead use the AC for rooms treatment we use fans because we believe humidity ubud area is still cool, back to nature is the goal of our spa, we realized we were in a tropical area so there is definitely the possibility of insects, but we are believe our staff will do the best of all our guest , all comment and feedback will be greatly and appreciated hopefully we can do better for the future once again thank your for your comment and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again to Puri Bunga Resort & Spa

Kind Regards
Wayan Sudarma Manager Puri Bunga Resor & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a spa package done here yesterday and it was amazing. The location of the hotel was to die for. Had a look at hotel and only 10rooms to this amazing complex. Will consider staying here for some R & R next time in Ubud. They have a shuttle I yo Ubud but you need to catch a taxi back.
My husband and I had a honeymoon spa package of 2hrs. Ihr Balinese massage, scrub, foot and body bath. Perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macca05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Macca 05
Thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your review of your honeymoon Spa treatment package with us were amazing and Balinese massage, scrub, foot and body bath. was Perfect!! with amazing location thank you very much for recommending Puri Bung Resort & spa to other travelers. once again thank you for your review and We very much look forward to welcoming you on your next Bali holiday

Happy days,
Wayan Sudarma Manager Puri Bunga Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I have been frequenting this gem of a hotel situated in paradise since 1993.
It is a relatively small resort of 10 rooms from memory and consequently it is very easy easy to become acquainted with the extremely friendly and accommodating staff.
If there are ever any issues, they are quick and eager to resolve them whatever they may be.
For my husband and myself, Puri Bunga has definitely been one of our favourite destination and we have travelled considerably over the years.
We would average a trip to Bali once every two years and do a beeline to Puri Bunga where we would stay for the entire duration of our holiday.

The thing I must stress above all is the exceptional location of this gem. As the other reviewers have mentioned, it overlooks the breathtakingly exotic jungle of the Ayung River valley. At night I drift off to sleep to the soothing sound of the rushing river below.

Over the years, 5 star resorts have cropped up to take advantage of this view and they all charge exorbitant prices while Puri Bunga has remained very affordable to this day, in my opinion.
As others have mentioned, it is definitely worthwhile paying a little extra for the executive rooms which take full advantage of this location and what it has to offer.

It would be true to say that this hotel isnt the most modern but it is impeccably well maintained
and is an opportunity to experience of the true Bali, away from the busy tourist centre. Having said this, it takes no time and very little money to get into the Ubud centre should you wish to go. My husband and I would mostly go in once a day to sample the various eateries and were always relieve to get back to the quiet of the hotel. There are also many restaurants and warungs around the hotel should you make the effort to discover them. As with most places in Bali, most treasures are to be found behind a deceptively unassuming frontage.

Sadly, my husband passed away earlier this year but I will continue to frequent Puri Bunga (as I did on my own this year), my home away from home in paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Manajer at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear " Anna B " No words can explain how much we feel honored to have you staying with us at Puri Bunga Resort & spa as your Home . we are thrilled to hear your recent stay was again another wonderful time as always. We also happy to know that you made of your holiday and have chosen us as the best place you ever stayed in Bali, topped with a friendly personal service from our team member . Once again thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your review at TripAdvisor. We are very excited and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Wayan Sudarma
Manager Puri Bunga Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I m writing this rewiew after some time from our visit and I still think that this hotel was the best place to be in Bali. From all our trips me and my husband remember this place with love.
Surroundings are amazing, air is so clear and cool, especcially during the rain.....
Magic place. Advise you to take deluxe room with jacuzzi on terrase. The restaurant is great too.
We tried spa also - nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilyana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suci L, Guest Relations Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear IIyana K
Please allow us to say thank you for the review. we are happy to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. The great hotel, great location, good service, . We are excited and would be very happy to share this beautiful island of Bali has to offer in the future again.Once again, thank you very much for your review and we look forward to share the beautiful Bali with you in the future.

Kind Regards
The Management Puri Bunga Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 night honeymoon package at the beginning of Sept but left after the first night. The room was not the one as shown on the web with a 4 poster bed, the decor was something out of the 70's and not "executive" standard at all. It was very basic! After notifying management we were not happy and this was not the room we booked, they finally moved us into the room that was represented on the website. There is only 1 of these rooms so beware or confirm what type of you you will get.

The hotel is a long way out of Ubud and although they have a free shuttle, it operates only one way, into town, twice a day. At 10am and 2pm for memory. Budget on taxi's to get back. There are no shops or restaurants close by so you have to rely on the food at the "resort".

The food was terrible, the worst we had in all of Bali. The special honeymoon candlelight dinner of "Gordon Blue" chicken was served in a pool of oil. The crepes with jam and Parmesan cheese unusual and the breakfast was hardly edible.

We had to ring and ask for the internet to be turned on and it was only accessible from one chair in the corner of the room.

The final straw was there was no hot water in the morning for a shower.

If you book a package confirm the details of what the package includes. Our 1 day cultural tour including entry fees was basically a driver taking us where we wanted and we had to pay the entry fees. The package details on the website are very vague.

When we went to check out 2 days early it took 45 mins to convince the manager we were not happy. Originally he still wanted to charge us for the nights we were not staying but it was finally sorted out when we pointed out hot running water is a basic necessity and not a luxury, especially when you are meant to be staying at a resort.

The view is beautiful but not enough to make up for all the things that were lacking. We are now very wary of booking accommodation over the net.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suci L, Guest Relations Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Shopie R
Thanks you very much for your review and taking valued time to write a very comprehensive review and sharing your observation about your reason stay with us.
We have kindly note that you like our location.

Our motto is providing the best service to find our guest satisfaction.
We wish to take opportunities to clarify some issued that you raise in fact we've moved you to another executive room Thant we provide to you, we have tried our best for you to take immediate action as soon as possible and try to deal with the problem as our sincere apologize. Puri Bunga with traditional Balinese style that can not be separated from the Bali and ubud in particular we have also tried to provide another option as a sense of caring and our apologize to you for the inconvenience you my have we are believe with the input and advice from the guest Puri Bunga will be batter in the future . also Hereby we informed that our team ready to assist all our guest 24 hours and glad to announce that we just received Excellence certificate 2013 from Trip Advisor.

We highly valued your feedback and raise with various departments in the hotel to address the point you raised. We are committed to ensuring we resolved each point you have made in our quest for excellence, we are committing to providing with the highest quality of service by continuously pricing the standard of our product and service.

Please excepted our most sincere apologize and our commitment to hence the experience for all our guest. Once again, thanks you very much for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa.

Warmest Regards,
The Management Puri Bunga Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My partner and I are just back from another fabulous relaxing week at Puri Bunga. We have stayed there on a number of occasions before and we feel it has become a home from home. The management and staff at Puri Bunga make our stay so relaxing and enjoyable that we always head straight back there whenever we can. On this trip we were pleased to meet Wayan, the new manager and it has to be said that this little gem has just got even better. The standards are even higher now and the staff are even happier to look after all of our needs. We have always found the rooms clean and well appointed, the staff are polite, courteous and greet with a smile. The location, views and sounds of the Ayung River are a relaxing backdrop to every trip and the pool area is quiet, clean and private.

Puri Bunga is about 5 minutes from the town centre and there are two free shuttles each day. The taxi fare is only RP50,000 anyway and there are no problems in getting a taxi home at any time.

Our package included a great Balinese breakfast which was tasty and filling. We ate our evening meal there a few times also and the value, hygiene and overall eating experience was great.

A very big thanks to Wayan and his team for a great stay. Our week away felt like a month as it was so relaxing and we are feeling rejuvenated.

See you soon, Puri Bunga and thanks again for a fabulous break.

Room Tip: The two executive suites are well worth the extra - more space and fabulous balcony views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m mandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suci L, Guest Relations Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear " Mr Brian M Mandurah " we are happy to hear that your holiday with us was perfectly ,fabulous and relaxing we also happy to know that all our staff are polite, courteous and greet with a smile. , we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of service by continuously appraising the standards of our products and services. We sincerely appreciate your comments and suggestions as we know they will assist us in improving our standards and also enable us to meet your expectations on your next visit to your " HOME " PURI BUNGA RESORT & SPA . We very much look forward to welcoming you on your next Bali holiday.

Kine Regards
The Management Puri Bunga Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Bunga Permai Hotel
Bunga Permai Hotel
#127 of 190 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#109 of 190 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kamandhani Cottage
Kamandhani Cottage
#125 of 502 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#21 of 502 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Mandi Ubud
Villa Mandi Ubud
#246 of 502 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
#128 of 190 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Bunga Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Bunga Resort and Spa

Property: Puri Bunga Resort and Spa
Address: Kedewatan Village | PO Box 141, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Bunga Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Bunga Resort and Spa is located in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It offers ten suites, all of which have air-conditioner, cable TV, and Internet connection. Some of its amenities include spa and massage service, swimming pool, yoga class, and free use of mountain bike. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Antonio Blanco Museum, Monkey Forest, and Basakih Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Puri Bunga Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Bunga Hotel Ubud
Puri Bunga Village Ubud
Puri Bunga Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing