We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent six wonderful days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Waka di Ume is resort we can fully recommend. The room we had (No 3 with private pool) was big, quiet, lovely and provided a beautiful view over the rice terasses. The staff was always in a good mood, very friendly and helpful.

Walking from Waka di Ume to Ubud takes about 25minutes but with the free shuttle bus it takes only a few minutes.

Two times we had dinner at Waka di Ume and we enjoyed it. As most of the guests don't like the meal too spicy the Staff provides the spicy sauce separatly. Yummy!

We also enjoyed some Spa treatments during our stay which we can recommend to do. The Spa area is beautifully designed and you always feel relaxed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gufi_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the Waka Di Ume after travelling back from Gili. The taxi driver didn't have a clue where the place was so we had a nice sightseeing trip around the area. We eventually found the place and it was lovely. The staff were exceptional and would do anything to make our stay pleasurable even to the point of sticking Balinese flowers behind our ears. We stayed in a downstairs room and that was lovely. It was bigger than some suites I have stayed it. It had a large for poster double bed with curtains around it that the staff would turn down in the evening. From the bedroom was the bathroom that had double sinks, a shower and a large sunken bath that was lovely to settle down in at the end of a busy day. The only downside to the room was there was no TV which could be a problem if you are stuck in the room when it is raining.Breakfast was a choice from the menu and you ate it looking over the paddi fields which was lovely on a sunny morning.

The location of the hotel was a little distance from Ubud centre but the hotel ran a shuttle service there and back every hour (may have been more frequent but can’t remember) and ran all the way till 10pm. If you wanted to stay out later a taxi was always available at little cost

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoboBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We decided on going to Bali to get married and chose the Waka di Ume which we are so happy we did as our day was absolutely perfect! Everything was taken care of by the wonderful staff and really exceeded our expectations - the food, flowers, legal matters, photographer and hair and makeup were fantastic! Our room was wonderful and the resort beautiful. We were well looked after by the friendly and helpful staff and wished we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed 2 nights with my mum (73) and daughter (22). Our suite was toward the bottom of the the resort, on the top floor overlooking the resort pool and rice fields. The suite was in a great location, it was extremely spacious inside with 2 balconies and was very clean. One negative thing I could say about our suite was the extra bed we had paid for was only a mattress on the floor - not what I would have expected from the standard of everything else at the resort. I mentioned this at departure and I was told that they will take my comment onboard for the future. In hindsight I should have mentioned my concern at the beginning of our stay as the issue may have been rectified at the time.

The service during our stay was fantastic. When we first arrived I had trouble with the room adaptor working. I explained to reception that I needed to charge my camera before heading off to the Elephant Park in a couple of hours and wanted to use my camera. They immediately sent 2 staff down with testing devices to look into the problem, offered to charge my camera at reception which solved my immediate problem and then they gave me a different adaptor to use during our stay.

Breakfast was wonderful, too much food and lots to choose from. Complementary afternoon tea was delicious and a lovely extra. The shuttle service into Ubud ran every 2 hrs in the morning and every hr in the afternoon. Even if it wasn't the designated time the driver would still take you.

There is no TV or radio (which was great), but there was free Wifi in our suite which my daughter loved. It was wonderful waking up in the morning to the ducks quacking in the rice fields below. I would love to return to this resort............ next time with my hubby.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 - would highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin-and-Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My husband and i spent our first 4 magical nights in the hanging gardens. we then moved to Jimberan Puri Bali and Chapung Se Bali . We had reservations at the purist but we had one night floating. We stayed in Waka Di Ume on that night. As you can see we had many hotels to compare Waka Di Ume to and quite honestly it didn't come close to any of the afore mentioned hotels.
Our room was beautiful but so close to the other rooms we could hear conversations. We had a private pool ( which was not heated and in the shade) but the staff would walk in and out as they had the fuse box or something inside our pool area. Had we not had such wonderful experiences everywhere else we might feel the service was ok but given the way we were completely taken care of in the other hotels Wake Di Ume was sloppy.
Ubud is filled with wonderful hotels and people. Waka Di Uma was not one of them.

Room Tip: if you do go ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank locare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Your staff are just absolutely fabulous. Everybody was just so polite and helpful and so keen to help but not interfere. We were there for a wedding south of Ubud over 3 days which required several trips to and from. Can I just say the froms far outweighed the to's because it meant that we could relax and be spoilt by coming "home" each day. The wedding itself was just beautiful, but the pace of transiting through Ubud out gunned us and left us breathless. After arriving back at Waka Di Ume each day, we could relax with a glass of wine and a view of the peaceful rice fields before enjoying a wonderful dinner, a cup of tea, and a most restful sleep. No TV, no radio, no phone. Just Bliss. And the wonderful "tent" feel of the bed - "Out of Africa" - eat your heart out.

Room Tip: We just booked, arrived, and got the best room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevoronda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The Resorts service we couldn’t complain about. The staff remembered everyone’s name. They always greeted with a smile. They always looked happy. The staff were, very helpful, kind, funny and polite. The staff would do anything that they could do for you as best as possible.
The rooms were large and the bath is even better. It is big enough to fit 2 adults and it has nice view overlooking rice fields, as do the balcony. We had staff that came in the morning and clean the room and change your sheets and what not, then in the evenings they would come and put the curtain netting down for you and make sure if anything that you might need.
The location of the Resort is away from other tourist areas, more the middle of Bali itself when you look at the map. It is closer to the tourist areas that you would visit and closer to temples if you were looking at visiting them. One of the activities suggested to do by the Resort is the Waka Land Cruise Tour and both my partner and I would recommend it to anyone that travelers there as well.
From top to bottom Rooms are clean, mini bar always filled up morning and evening, the bathtub and the showers are large enough for 2 adults and 2 children if you would like, Beds are so large your looking to see if the other person is still in the bed with you. The staff are great and you could never forget them, they properly wouldn’t forget you. The food, I’d rather eat at the Resort and know that you were eating quality then eat somewhere and ruin your holiday. Service for bus’s, even if they weren’t making a trip into town and you wanted them to drive you to the nearest corner store for something they would do that for you.
Our best part had to be the staff and the food was great. Not much to say about anything bad although something that maybe considered by the Resort is some snack foods available in the mini bar selection or pool bar area. :)

Room Tip: There all great and all with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukeamunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.9 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
820 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.8 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#19 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £106 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural and artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of sixteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 10 Villas with pool,8 spacious Di Ume suites and 15 Lanai Rooms. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant,Pool Bar, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Center and meditation center, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Wapa di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and color of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing