We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Ranked #20 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We were lucky to secure a room with our own private pool which was above the main path so we felt this was lovely and gave us privacy. Our arrival welcome drink was so refreshing as it took ages to come from Legian due to the crazy Saturday traffic.. We enjoyed the breakfast and dinners we ordered as room service and it was lovely to sit and see the rice paddies as our view. The pagoda set amongst a lotus pond was a beautiful place to sit and order a refreshment and just be. The pool and yoga room sure looked nice but we didn't use the pool seeing we had our own private pool. Our bed was super cosy and romantic. We loved the fact there was no TV as we could just lie and look at our fabulous bamboo and wicker ceilling. We really loved our sunken bath too. The afternoon tea served in the restaurant was also very yummy. We didn't stroll along the road as we found it a bit busy with loads of motorbikes zooming past and i think part of the whole experience is to just enjoy Waka Di Ume. We ventured into Ubud after we left and it certainly is a very busy, bustling place from the tranquil one I remember from 14 years ago.. Going back to Waka Di Ume..who apparently own the rice paddies..there was much laughter from rice paddy workers as they carried on with their duties and we appreciated how simple and joyous life can be. Waka Di Ume does offer a unique experience with a difference. We really had a romantic time.

Room Tip: Try not to have to go to UBUD if you can help it..this is the place to stay and hang amongst it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    154
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
207
585
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milawa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Waka di Ume Resort is set in a beautifully tranquil environment. Total relaxation.
Beautiful friendly staff, great afternoon tea, fabulous pool, superb massages and no TV!!
Restaurant has great food. Shuttle bus every hour into Ubud - what more could you want !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was a nice resort, but not great. On first arriving, the room was stunning but then we started to notice little things as our stay went on.
The front doors to our room were really difficult to close and didn't provide much security; there was a really bad smell that came up from the drains in the bathroom; the cupboards didn't close properly; the staff weren't very friendly or were pestering us to buy services we didn't want. For example, my husband was struck down by food poisoning while were were there (can't say whether or not it was their food) and when I went to reception to ask for some help I was given some medicines, which was nice of them, but then hounded for 5 minutes about signing up for a bike ride the next day when he knew one of us was ill and I was just trying to get back to our room. Plus the 'hourly' shuttle bus into town was really unreliable and we found ourselves twice having to hike back from Ubud to the resort after waiting half an hour for shuttles that just never showed up.
Basically, for a place that boasts to be luxury, it felt a bit shabby and could have done with some maintenance and an attitude overhaul.
They did organise a free trek to the nearby rice fields, which was excellent, and we had a nice hour-long massage in the spa. The food was pretty good too... big delicious breakfasts, which were included with our stay, and the dinners were very good quality, although expensive for what you got (e.g. we had cheese burgers one night, which came with 3 potato wedges and cost over £5).
All in all, we probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnydarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Waka di Ume. As we arrived we were welcomed and made comfortable by the staff. Everyone is super friendly and reception staff manages to great every customer on a first name basis. They go out of their way to assure you are comfortable during your stay. We were blown away by the beauty of the scenery of the rice fields which give out to the terras of alsmost every room. From the pictures on Tripadvisor I somewhat had the impression that the accomodation like the swimming pool, is somewhat outdated. Nothing less is true. Because they use lavastone and because of the Balinees climate it ages quickly. The setting is really divine.
We had a standard room facing the rice terras (14) close to the pool and it is spacious, acommodates twin beds and a small terras with a view on the rice fields. The only 2 minor points were that we like to sleep with curtains open and if you do you should be aware that people can walk by and see you in the room. The other point is that the bathroom didn't have any windows. The suites on the 1st floor seem to have a large bathroom with a large front facing window which you can blind should you want to. We didn't see the private villa's with pool from the inside but I would defenitely consider them for next time to havef some more privacy.
Oh, good to know but the hotel is really a place to stimulate healthy living and rest so don't expect a TV set in the room, however wifi is available free of charge throughout the hotel (the signal in room 1121 is not faboulous but we could manage)

The Balinese Tea above the restaurant is a must-do. So is a Balinese massage from the SPA. The best massage we ever had in our lives! at the SPA there is also a beautiful jacuzzi infinity pool which you can use at any time there are no people being treated in the SPA.
Breakfast is quite good, don't try the most beautiful table location unless you resist the sun very well.
We also attended a saturday night dinner with Balinese children dance which I wouldn't recommend. High price for moderate food. There was also the same song playing over and over again in between acts and we were kind of relieved when that stopped due to a technical problem. Ubud is expensive and so are prices at the Waka di Ume for drinks and food. Recommend you eat outside, taking the shuttle bus from the hotel to town takes about 5 mins.
There are many wonderful places to sit, relax and enjoy a book or the scenery of the hotel like the patio, the table in the rice fields next to the yoga room or your terrace.

If you are looking for a place to relax in all peace, quietness and not be far away from a lively town, Waka di Ume is your hotel!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Xa4traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a perfect bali experience outside of Ubud (easy walk or shuttle). The rice paddies, pool, spa and grounds create an authentic balinese experience. The food is wonderful, staff polite and helpful. We arrived at 1am and they were so welcoming and even provided sandwiches on arrival! Definitely do tea time and the private pagoda dinner is worth it, relax at the pool and trek through the rice paddies! It's a great peaceful base for the busy activities in the area.

Room Tip: our room was back by the pool and spa, which is breathtaking- perfect because it overlooked the rice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annburnsesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at Waka di Ume resort for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. It was a paradise hotel; the rooms very luxurious and the views stunning. The staff were very friendly and the food excellent; we had a candle lit meal on their pagoda one evening which made for a very special treat. We also had a massage at the spa which was excellent. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends. We'd like to thank the staff for making it such a special stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

All staff very friendly and helpful, reception staff made the effort to know your names and all staff greeted you respectfully. One staff member made a special effort to find a restaurant in town where we could watch the AFL grand final even making the booking. The shuttle bus was a great asset and the driver was prompt and efficient doing his best to offer advice when asked. Food was excellent with plenty of variety. Spa/massage facilities fantastic, came away very relaxed. Would certainly recommend Waka di Ume to family and friends.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be comfortable and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andos395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Property: Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#16 Family Hotel in Ubud
#16 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural and artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of sixteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 10 Villas with pool,8 spacious Di Ume suites and 15 Lanai Rooms. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant,Pool Bar, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Center and meditation center, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Wapa di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and color of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing