We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect if you like small quit and tastefull.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Ranked #20 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
malibu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect if you like small quit and tastefull.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

wake di ume is perfect if you like small hotels , its in a very quit peaceful spot a 5 min drive down to ubud and 25 min walk .its done up very tastefully from the ground and the rooms are lovely , nice beds ..
the staff where very nice and helpful with everything .i celebrated my birthday there and they helped us organize a walk thought the rice fields for just the 3 of us and had birthday cake waiting for us , very nice touch.
they have a little spa that is very very tasteful located and a gorgeous jacuzzi to sit and mellow out in ..
only had breakfast which was nice and the views from the restaurant are great...all in all would highly recommended it ..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalibuEurotrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    154
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
207
585
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Waka di Ume is in a very beautiful setting, although the rice fields were bare when we stayed (June )there unfortunately!The jungle scenery around the property is lovely however.You hear the sound of the frogs& ducks all night, and the whole atmosphere is relaxing.We ate there 3 nights and had our best ever dinner there one night (chicken stuffed with herbs)Breakfasts are superb(fantastic juices and bread baskets) and i loved the afternoon tea,homemade cake served in the upstairs open air dining area, with views out over the property.Service is very good and staff friendly.Our room was the standard& it was a bit smaller than we expected with 2 double beds in it,but very comfortable and clean.Must mention however a bad experience i personally had with a massage there ,in the adjacent spa.I had a severe allergic reaction to the oil used (think it was called "Beauty Bloom",with Llang Lang)I have not experienced any allergic reactions in my life before,so just be wary!!!My partner also had some reaction.Perhaps do a patch test first..Luckily, it was late on our last day there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepper151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

It’s hard to pinpoint the specific special features that gave Waka di Ume at Ubud such an aura of enchantment and ambience of serenity that all four in our group would return to Bali especially to enjoy the pleasure of staying at Wake di Ume again.

This boutique resort is designed in a traditional Balinese style and is located between Ubud and the village of Bentuyung, surrounded by working rice paddies. A regular minibus shuttle service into Ubud (5 minutes by vehicle) ensured that you didn’t feel cut off from the markets and restaurants while enjoying the rural peace and tranquillity.

Probably the best feature of Waka di Ume was the sincere warmth of the charming staff that seemed to be part of one big happy family. The traditional dress and practices of the staff, including delivering large meal trays on their head as part of room service, enhanced the exotic feel of Waka. The high staff to guest ratio ensured that we always felt that our every wish would be met promptly. The staff happily assisted and encouraged our attempts to learn some basic Balinese and would make the time available to discuss Balinese life and culture.

Of all four hotels we stayed at in Bali, Waka di Ume offered the best range and quality of food at its restaurant. The breakfast was outstanding! Unlimited water at meals is a feature that some other hotels should adopt. The traditional Balinese afternoon tea was a relaxing respite when we returned from the day’s activities or a tasty ‘pick-me-up’ to revive us if we had been lazing the day away.

While there we enjoyed a traditional Balinese banquet with exotic dancers from the local community. This was great and not to be missed!

We also thoroughly enjoyed the Balinese cooking class which we did after an early morning trip to the markets, to purchase our ingredients, with Puspa, one of the lovely ladies who always made our whole group feel special. The husbands prepared and cooked one menu while the wives cooked another in a traditional open-air kitchen. We were introduced to the “Balinese blender” (ie. large stone mortar and pestle) and then we enjoyed the meal in an open-air pergola, looking out over the rice paddies. Our only criticism is that the group cost discount for four of us was not as large as we think it should have been.

The gardens and architecture highlighted the traditional styling of Waka and made the walk to the dining room each meal a short journey through a veritable Garden of Eden. The design of the spa and pool areas was opulently elegant with a perfect balance between water features, statuary and stonework.

Our stay included a complimentary traditional Balinese massage each and that was very relaxing and de-stressing. Looking out through a windowless opening into the bush and hearing the nearby stream running in cascades – we could have been in heaven; though open to the open-air it was completely private! Other guests told us how they returned time after time to enjoy massages, yoga sessions and a battery recharge!

Our rooms were very spacious and beautifully furnished in a traditional style. With no television or radio we enjoyed sitting on our personal porch and reading while overlooking the rice fields. The natural sounds of frogs and ducks made us feel a million miles from the bustle and stresses of our normal lives. Free computer access was available in the business centre, if you absolutely had to email home.

The rooms were well-serviced and the unlimited availability of free bottled drinking appreciated. The rooms could be improved by the addition of ceiling fans as there were several days when, though not hot but humid, increased air movement would have made them more comfortable without having to use the air-conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Backroaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Took a chance on latestays.com and reviews and booked this place-so glad we did!
What a wonderful, relaxing well run place. From the moment we arrived it was all class, style and charm. Our room [19] was spacious and well presented with wonderful views whilst still retaining privacy. The layout and design of this boutique resort work really well-modern and contemporary while still retaining that Bali feel-even looks sensational at night. If you need cable TV and a bar to drink at, look somewhere else-if you want serene comfort and pleasure stay here. Great restaurant with a top breakfast choice. Excellent staff. Frequent shuttle service to and from Ubud. We enjoyed a Saturday night dinner and Balinese dance under the stars for $30USD-great value! Only issues-my wife thought her massage could have been better and my pillow was too soft.
[Must also mention we ate at the famous suckling pig restaurant in Ubud-disappointing and the most unhygienic place we ate at in Bali-give it a miss!]
We would have no hesitation in returning to this resort and we have already recommended it to other people. Our first stop next holiday in Bali.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gomfromdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Waka Di Ume is a wonderful experience. The service, facilities and comfort are first class. Set on the edge of working rice paddy fields, the tranquility and vistas are superb. The pool area is very relaxing set amongst lush vegetation. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The service at Waka Di Ume is friendly and efficient. Staff are always smiling and willing to help in any situation. The gardens at the property are beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast at the restaurant is fresh and appealing and a recommended way to start the day.

This is my second visit to this resort over several years and the quality of the service and facilities continues to improve. I congratulate the management and staff at Waka Di Ume they are doing a wonderful job. My break was very relaxing and full of beautiful memories. I look forward to my nextl visit to Waka di Ume.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangaroobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

The staff were extremely friendly and even looked after our baby when we were dining so we could enjoy our meal. The location is close to shops and the resort provides transport if needed. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

I stayed 5 nights at the Waka di Ume, and it was a great experience.

Situated about 2km north of the main street in central Ubud, it was nevertheless very accessible - the hotel offers a free shuttle service to central Ubud, or you could walk, or have the hotel staff arrange for bicycle hire and cycle the distance.

The front desk staff were fantastic - they were friendly and attentive: addressed me by name, and were very prompt and efficient in arranging my various requests: late checkout, airport transfer, cycling day tour, wake up calls. Made me feel totally at home and well taken care of.

My lannai terrace room was large, clean and very comfortable (although the mattress was slightly lumpy). Everything worked, and most thoughtfully, they provided a socket adaptor in the room. There was no TV, so if you are the sort that requires one, this may not be the place to stay. I appreciated the silence though, which was filled at night with the cacophony of bullfrogs and crickets and other assorted creatures outside.

The pool was not ideal for sunbathing as it was located at a rather shaded area, and the spa is nothing to write home about: there are much better (and cheaper) spa places to be found in Ubud.

The impeccable service makes this one of the best places I've stayed in a while.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamantiumdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Property: Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#16 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#16 Family Hotel in Ubud
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural and artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of sixteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 10 Villas with pool,8 spacious Di Ume suites and 15 Lanai Rooms. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant,Pool Bar, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Center and meditation center, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Wapa di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and color of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing