We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in amazing location ruined by pushy staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #66 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I spent the second week of July here with my partner and another couple. We stayed in Airesmith rooms 4 and 5.
Accommodation: Rooms were great, plenty of room, lovely big terrace to sit outside, beds were massive and very comfy. Bathrooms are pretty outdated but did the job just fine. We had air-con but found we didn’t use it very much. It could use a TV though, I know you don’t go away to watch TV but late at night it would have been nice, also we were sick one day and just felt like watching some TV.
Food: Sorry to say the food was crap, we ate at the restaurant one night and found it to be pretty average and overpriced compared to restaurants in town. The breakfast however was nice, although it was the same everyday with not that many options.
Staff: This was the main problem with the hotel, we were constantly harassed by staff to go on tours (which were overpriced as well) and they were always like don’t tell the hotel though as they were doing it on the side. I know they are just trying to make a living but it became very annoying. The manager must have overheard one of them because nest thing we knew he was taking over. We did end up booking rafting through him (which turned out to be excellent) but after that he simply didn’t leave us alone wanting us to book more things.
Location: perfect the hotel is located on a slope going down the river. The hotel is laid out beautifully and a lot of work goes into the landscaping. It really is amazing. Just be warned that there are a lot of stairs this didn’t bother us at all but if you were in a wheelchair or had a disability it would be a problem. Its only a short walk into town, however there is a free shuttle bus but it didn’t seam to be reliable.
Spa: unreal never seen anything like it. The carvings are unlike anything I had ever seen before, we had a great afternoon jumping between to hot and cold pools. The main pool was also lovely and surprisingly deep which I love.
Overall we did have a great stay here it was just the staff that were annoying and the food wasn’t that great however there are tonnes of food options nearby so don’t let that put you off.

Room Tip: airesmith rooms 4 and 5 in great location, in the middle of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marley88kadinaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

The rooms were beautiful with views over the valley, pool and river. The bathrooms were very old but clean and there were no tea or coffee facilities. There was also no television, but this is a spa resort and the idea is to get away from it all. My husband, daughter and I all had a spa treatment which was very relaxing and well priced. The breakfast was lovely as was the setting. There was a shuttle bus into Ubud central every hour, but it is only a ten minute walk anyway. The staff were wonderful and when we needed a doctor, they organised one who arrived around 10 minutes later. They also gave us an extended check out time of 6pm for an additional $30 which was well worth it. There is a 7/11 across the road for snacks and a lovely lobby with wi-fi and a bar area with a large television.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Amazing hotel set amongst beautiful gardens and beautiful river gorge. Unique spa amongst Ubud's natural setting. Stone steps were dangerous for our 16 month old baby learning to explore but magical gardens loved by our 4 year old daughter. Breakfast could be improved as it rarely offered anything I was that interested in eating, e.g. cornflakes and yoghurt, although banana pancakes didn't disappoint. Bathrooms were poorly ventilated (and a bit smelly) but a trade off for such original architecture in Ubud's oldest hotel. Not paying for luxuries with this hotel, but more for uniqueness and a truly beautiful setting. Lazy days in the spa a must!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Tjampuhan was a nice place to stay even though it was a little pricey. The rooms were clean but not equipped with enough "luxuries" to warrant the price. The location is incredible with a VERY steep drop down to a river running below and what looks like a rainforest on the other side of the riverbank. We could hear monkeys calling amongst the trees!

There were alot of stairs so people with mobility problems shouldn't stay here. I didnt see any wheelchair access.

Buffet was ok but needed more variety. The pancakes were made to order and very tasty.

The hotel has a free shuttle bus that did a round trip to the Ubud markets and Monkey Forest a few times per day.

The hotel has 2 pools which are nice (cold water!). There is room with about half a dozen computers with Internet access. Wifi is available but not in your rooms.

Its a very quiet, calm location with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lopkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed there at the beginning of October 2011....review now better late than never!!!!! We loved the place and the history it has and the most beautiful gardens we have seen....the garden create such an atmosphere of wonder and delight!! Our room was lovely and the balcony a delight to sit on and listen to the rain, the creatures and the weather. My partner walked to the Monkey Forest while I stayed back and did computer things, and I had the most relaxing time updating apps, having some drinks, and peanuts in my seat overlooking the valley, the gardens in the comfortable chairs where the computers are, all open air. The terrace where the restaurant is overlooks the gardens and the food was delicious. What a lovely place with so much atmosphere!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelynvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Tjampuhan is a wonderful, quite retreat, built on a steep hillside...so if many steps a problem ask for top level or perhaps another hotel. Staff, attentive and friendly. Raja room was generous space and sit out balcony with great view over green well kept gardens and ponds. Swimming pool at bottom of hill and small, but depends on if you went to sit by the pool or see around Ubud. Breakfast reasonable quality and choice. Evening menu limited but is on site. Shuttle service free and frequent both into or back from town which is a 15min walk away ( easier to walk home, down hill than up hill into town)....Monkey Forest use the shuttle or taxi, which abound. Hotel prices for arranged transport was reasonable, both for a day sight seeing ( 600,000 rup.) ot to airport ( 300,000rup) Several rice fields close at hand.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

What I was surprised that few people had mentioned was the fact that the walls are really thin - so unless you want to listen on people's most err... intimate nightly acivities ;) you might want to find somewhere else to stay.

The hotel is beautiful but some rooms are seriosly mouldy, while out first room was mould free it was literally next to the generator which went on all night. We also found the spa staff very unfriendly.

The spring fed pool is lovely and often has few guests there and the breakfasts are top notch. For the money, though, there are better places and we found the customer service lacking and the noise thing became an increasingly pertinant issue (this included construction sounds until 9pm!)

Room Tip: Either you get mould or generator noise, you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashilleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
418 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
787 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#55 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £60 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing