We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful balinese hotel in an extraordinary setting...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #64 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful balinese hotel in an extraordinary setting...”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We love the Tjampuhan Hotel for it's non pretentious 'rustic' feel - it really is an amazingly beautiful, green piece of Bali in a relatively quiet location just out of town (Ubud). The gardens and setting (on the side of a steep river valley) is just superb and the feeling is relaxed and comfortable. Wonderful exercise with the many steps - we love this feature. We love exploring the area also - just across the road is a long steep (upwards!) flight of steps that leads in to the rice paddies. Keep walking straight and on the left about 300 metres down there is a lily field that is in full flower around December. Turn right just after the top of the steps and walk along a little ridge into the local villas and rice paddies. You'll pass Yellow Cafe which is an organic cafe producing simple & very healthy meals - well worth curling up on the cushions for a quick lemon drink on your travels. Just down the road before the bridge is the turnoff to Sari organic - a 10 minute walk through the rice paddies will get you there and it too is a wonderfully healthy cultural experience - it's getting a little more developed (lots of building happening) every time we go, so go soon to see it as it is now (note, with Sari organic, if you want a real experience, the local drivers can often call the cafe in advance and arrange for you to be picked up on bikes if you don't want the 10 min walk - I'd recommend the walk however bikes can be a good, if a little scary option). The rooms at Tjampuhan vary from rustic (basic, yet still beautiful) to quite lovely. All have nice sized terraces in gorgeous gardens and are relatively private. We love the Arie Smith rooms, however on our last stay we had a bed bug challenge over 4 nights which really affected our enjoyment of things (4 nights on 'high alert' wasn't how we planned our stay). In saying this, the staff were wonderful and very gracious in endeavouring to sort the challenge and bent over backwards to help. It was our choice to stay in the room and go through spraying / fumigating rather than moving to a different room, so we'll take responsibility for that! We always find the staff to be open and friendly in a happy balinese way - not overly professional or pretentious as in the 5 stars, funny at times - we've stayed in both and we like this. All in all, would we stay again? Yes, absolutely - this is a lovely piece of Bali in a gorgeous, green, peaceful setting - our challenge could have been experienced anywhere and is certainly not reflective of the hotel. Hope you enjoy Tjampuhan.

Room Tip: Raja rooms have aircon, Agung rooms generally do not. Often don't need the aircon up here, thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    565
    173
    75
    51
See reviews for
239
727
100
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Tjampuhan hotel & spa has connections to Balinese royalty. It's located in the most beautiful gardens dotted with amazing Balinese sculptures, a mere 10 minutes walk into Ubud. Our Agung room was a generous size and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was old and had mould in the grout, and the shower head wasn't working properly.
The hotel has 2 pools set among the beautiful gardens. The unique spa is built into caves along the river embankment and surrounded by stunning sculptures - a beautiful place to enjoy a spa treatment, except directly across the river we notice people dumping bags of rubbish. Breakfast is basic but sufficient. Some of the older staff are not so cheerful and friendly, but all up we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Amazing hotel. Stunning views, incredible gardens. Definitelly one of the nicest hotels I've ever been. Location wise it is not located in the middle of Ubud but only 10 minutes walk from Ubud Palace. Very quiet area. Free Wifi Services. Beautiful setting and good service. A perfect option for a good hotel in Ubud without having to pay Luxurious prices. Only thing I would work a bit on it is the breakfast. a larger selection would be appreciated (fruit mainly)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EduIgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadina, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I spent the second week of July here with my partner and another couple. We stayed in Airesmith rooms 4 and 5.
Accommodation: Rooms were great, plenty of room, lovely big terrace to sit outside, beds were massive and very comfy. Bathrooms are pretty outdated but did the job just fine. We had air-con but found we didn’t use it very much. It could use a TV though, I know you don’t go away to watch TV but late at night it would have been nice, also we were sick one day and just felt like watching some TV.
Food: Sorry to say the food was crap, we ate at the restaurant one night and found it to be pretty average and overpriced compared to restaurants in town. The breakfast however was nice, although it was the same everyday with not that many options.
Staff: This was the main problem with the hotel, we were constantly harassed by staff to go on tours (which were overpriced as well) and they were always like don’t tell the hotel though as they were doing it on the side. I know they are just trying to make a living but it became very annoying. The manager must have overheard one of them because nest thing we knew he was taking over. We did end up booking rafting through him (which turned out to be excellent) but after that he simply didn’t leave us alone wanting us to book more things.
Location: perfect the hotel is located on a slope going down the river. The hotel is laid out beautifully and a lot of work goes into the landscaping. It really is amazing. Just be warned that there are a lot of stairs this didn’t bother us at all but if you were in a wheelchair or had a disability it would be a problem. Its only a short walk into town, however there is a free shuttle bus but it didn’t seam to be reliable.
Spa: unreal never seen anything like it. The carvings are unlike anything I had ever seen before, we had a great afternoon jumping between to hot and cold pools. The main pool was also lovely and surprisingly deep which I love.
Overall we did have a great stay here it was just the staff that were annoying and the food wasn’t that great however there are tonnes of food options nearby so don’t let that put you off.

Room Tip: airesmith rooms 4 and 5 in great location, in the middle of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marley88kadinaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The rooms were beautiful with views over the valley, pool and river. The bathrooms were very old but clean and there were no tea or coffee facilities. There was also no television, but this is a spa resort and the idea is to get away from it all. My husband, daughter and I all had a spa treatment which was very relaxing and well priced. The breakfast was lovely as was the setting. There was a shuttle bus into Ubud central every hour, but it is only a ten minute walk anyway. The staff were wonderful and when we needed a doctor, they organised one who arrived around 10 minutes later. They also gave us an extended check out time of 6pm for an additional $30 which was well worth it. There is a 7/11 across the road for snacks and a lovely lobby with wi-fi and a bar area with a large television.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Amazing hotel set amongst beautiful gardens and beautiful river gorge. Unique spa amongst Ubud's natural setting. Stone steps were dangerous for our 16 month old baby learning to explore but magical gardens loved by our 4 year old daughter. Breakfast could be improved as it rarely offered anything I was that interested in eating, e.g. cornflakes and yoghurt, although banana pancakes didn't disappoint. Bathrooms were poorly ventilated (and a bit smelly) but a trade off for such original architecture in Ubud's oldest hotel. Not paying for luxuries with this hotel, but more for uniqueness and a truly beautiful setting. Lazy days in the spa a must!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Tjampuhan was a nice place to stay even though it was a little pricey. The rooms were clean but not equipped with enough "luxuries" to warrant the price. The location is incredible with a VERY steep drop down to a river running below and what looks like a rainforest on the other side of the riverbank. We could hear monkeys calling amongst the trees!

There were alot of stairs so people with mobility problems shouldn't stay here. I didnt see any wheelchair access.

Buffet was ok but needed more variety. The pancakes were made to order and very tasty.

The hotel has a free shuttle bus that did a round trip to the Ubud markets and Monkey Forest a few times per day.

The hotel has 2 pools which are nice (cold water!). There is room with about half a dozen computers with Internet access. Wifi is available but not in your rooms.

Its a very quiet, calm location with friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lopkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#57 of 198 in Ubud
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 198 in Ubud
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#26 of 198 in Ubud
709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#39 of 198 in Ubud
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Property: Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing