We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gardens, Service Quality has to be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #65 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The place is really nice for the Gardens. The Hotel is situated in a nice valley and has two fresh water swimming-pools. Also it is a really nice view from the balcony of the bungalows. Attention: You have to walk up and down a lot, so it is not recommended for people with walking-problems. Our room was at the top, so we heard the street queit well, but this will be better in nearly all other rooms. Also for the not really cheap price I would expect a TV, but they probably cannot install them, because you here nearly everything from your neighbour-room. What definitly has to be improved is the service-Quality. They should train their staff more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was my first time I stayed at Hotel Tjampuhan in Ubud and I stayed there in July 2012. This resort is amazing, a very good first category property! As soon as you walk in the view is absolutely breathtaking. It's a pleasure just to walk around the lush gardens, and the pools are so relaxing. You feel as though you're in a forest. My room was huge and beautiful, clean and had everything I needed; I have been provided with a comfortable king size bed although I booked a single room; ceiling fan, minifridge, a fresh fruit basket upon arrival, 2 free small bottles of water provided on a daily basis, no coffee facilities tho; a beautiful large balcony with armchairs and coffee table overlooking the forest, very relaxing and peaceful to just sit and read a book enjoying the sound of the river below. It did not have any TV, but I did not mind since I did not go there to see any TV shows. It was not the purpose of my trip. However, there is a TV room and free WiFi at the grounds anyway, also 4 pc with free internet access. If you hate steps (& you're not fit !) get a room closer to reception. My room was always made up after I returned from breakfast, which I took in the open air dining room, with great views of the gardens and surrounds. The buffet was o.k, nice omelettes individually cooked by an “egg man”, plus toast, jams, danish pastries, fresh fruit etc. etc. The waitresses seldom smiling and careless :-(, while the rest of the staff were very helpful and always friendly and smiling. Did not try the hotel restaurant as there are many in town.The gardens are very well kept and absolutely magnificent, it seriously is like a jungle palace with exotic flowers, trees, shrines, etc. There are two pools, a spa, a charming place with its curving steps and amazing carvings. I have had an amazing spa and 2.5 hrs Balinese massage treatment, my best ever. The location is amazing, seriously only a five minute walk into Ubud, although there is a shuttle bus running hourly to town, but one could walk the short distance in a few minutes anyway. Although there are not public transports, private minicabs are available for a very little price. Furthermore, while Ubud is not Kuta beach, it is still a loud town with lots of traffic, so being slightly outside the town is nice if you are seeking peace and quiet. If you want fluff, gloss and luxury, go elsewhere. If you want the real Balinese experience start here. I wish I'd stayed longer here and cut Kuta short!

Room Tip: Rooms down level are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnalisaLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had booked for 4 nights with some 3 months notice. Both our travel agent and ourselves requested a room at the upper level of the hotel as we had stayed before and were aware of the steep steps and we both have knee problems.
We arrived to be dismayed not only because we could not have a room on the upper level but that we were placed into the lowest level, some 40 large steps down from reception.
The room was basic but comfortable, but no glass in windows (had fly-screens) made for no conversation privacy, no air-con, no TV, no coffee making facilities, no cups or saucers, no safe in room and a broken bed-head held together partially with a couple of nails.
To make matters worse was that I severely wrenched my knee whilst walking around the hotal grounds and had to vacate the hotel for a level ground property. The hotel then charged us a penalty of one nights stay because of the early check out.
I can understand the penalty because the choice was ours, however had they placed us in an upper level unit the knee injury may not have happened.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems then ensure you get an upper level unit.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colint42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The reviews by others are quite variable so I offer some observations from our visit. First I should say we do not care about such things as TV, refrigerator, WiFi in the room, or mini-bar when in a place like Ubud. Some have commented on the big hike down to their rooms which would be an accurate and serious problem if in those rooms. We were fortunate to have one of the upper rooms very close to the entrance (Gunung?) and it was easy to access the dining area, exit of course, and lobby area where WiFi is accessible for free. Our Raja room may have been updated as it was in fine condition with an AC and fan that worked very well. The balcony offered a beautiful place to sit and enjoy the scenery and birds after a day in town. The location for us was great as it was quiet and scenic as opposed to the very noisy town but was still an easy walk to things in the town. Some commented on thin walls but we did not notice any issue possibly due to quiet neighbors or our walls being thicker. We found the staff to be helpful and the breakfasts (we stayed for four nights) to be very satisfactory and at least as good as in most other hotels.

Room Tip: Get an upper level Raja room and one in good shape (how you an insure you get one is not clear to us...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monty1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed four nights in Ubud at Tjampuhan as part of our long honeymoon. This review might sound like their marketing brochure. Can't help it because our stay was divine! Small entry door to the hotel is like portal to another world. The moment we stepped in I knew I’ll love this place.

The hotel is built on a hillside beside a river in typical Balinese style of architecture. Attention to detail is fascinating. Everyday at breakfast we discovered something new about the paintings and carvings which went unnoticed before. The room was beautiful too. Basket of fresh fruits on table. Bed decorated with rose petals. Neat bathroom with scented supplies. Room was roomy, comfy and spotless with spacious balcony. Breathtaking view of lush tropical paradise. Peaceful nights, beautiful mornings we loved to wake up to. A perfect romantic nest.

Alright so the flush wasn’t working upon arrival which was fixed within 10 minutes.

Hotel gardens are quite unique with petite ponds and sculptures all over the place. The steps lit up at night to save you and tiny hoppies & crawlies who might get crushed under your feet. Outdoor pool is small but lovely. Jacuzzi and sauna are in a cave so beautiful you feel close to nature despite using modern amenities. Spa looks amazing too but we didn’t try. Walk down to the river was mini-exploration fun. TV and internet are accessible in lobby.

Food was yum. Breakfast had decent variety and other than staples like croissants, bread butter etc. nothing was repeated. Best quality fruits but limited range. The restaurant was so relaxing that we used to linger with cups of tea afterwards. Charming at night too with live traditional music and candles. We ordered through room service a few times. Great taste, good quantity and service was quick. If it gonna take time they let you know in advance.

There is a small eatery uphill; maybe 5 mins walk. Cozy and warm with some tasty meals. Worth a lazy afternoon lunch. Another posh restaurant nearby has a perfect romantic setting for a candlelight dinner. Food is average but ambience is nice.

Location of Tjampuhan is unbeatable if you want to experience real Ubud and Balinese culture. Free shuttle to & fro all key places like Monkey Temple, city center, Ubud Palace etc. The road outside is peaceful strewn with art studios, temples and souvenir shops. A well-stocked tiny 7eleven type store is right opposite and supermarket is a walk away just in case.

Above all the staff won our heart. I read reviews from guests who been approached to sell tours. Honestly that was surprising because we didn’t sniff a thing. In fact on occasions they went out of their way to help us with no expectation of tips. Genuinely caring, their face lit up when you smile with gratitude. My husband was taken ill and the way the staff supported & helped us, we will forever remember.

I can write pages and still won’t be able to capture the beauty of Tjampuhan which one can experience only by being there. Feel the raindrops in dark. Listen to nature cuddled in your balcony. Tune into your inner world. Bond with your soul mate. Flawless, it’s flawless. And the people have heart of gold.

“Tjampuhan, you are a happy memory. Stay the same.”

Here are some tips about what to expect. Hope they help.

Do NOT stay at Tjampuhan if:

1. Climbing 100+ small steps everyday puts you off.
2. Occasional visit by a snail, frog or squirrel to your room freaks you out.
3. Mornings you don’t like to see birds had a ‘fruity party’ in your balcony.
4. You are allergic to bug repellents.
5. Nonstop tropical music by DJ Mother Nature annoys you.
6. A room without TV is unacceptable.
7. Tweeting or checking facebook every 30 minutes is a must.

Avoid Ubud altogether if:

1. You hate rains.
2. You are a devoted beach lover and dip in the pool won’t do.
3. Holiday without clubs & pubs is not your thing.
4. Experiencing other cultures doesn’t excite you

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HeartOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We love the Tjampuhan Hotel for it's non pretentious 'rustic' feel - it really is an amazingly beautiful, green piece of Bali in a relatively quiet location just out of town (Ubud). The gardens and setting (on the side of a steep river valley) is just superb and the feeling is relaxed and comfortable. Wonderful exercise with the many steps - we love this feature. We love exploring the area also - just across the road is a long steep (upwards!) flight of steps that leads in to the rice paddies. Keep walking straight and on the left about 300 metres down there is a lily field that is in full flower around December. Turn right just after the top of the steps and walk along a little ridge into the local villas and rice paddies. You'll pass Yellow Cafe which is an organic cafe producing simple & very healthy meals - well worth curling up on the cushions for a quick lemon drink on your travels. Just down the road before the bridge is the turnoff to Sari organic - a 10 minute walk through the rice paddies will get you there and it too is a wonderfully healthy cultural experience - it's getting a little more developed (lots of building happening) every time we go, so go soon to see it as it is now (note, with Sari organic, if you want a real experience, the local drivers can often call the cafe in advance and arrange for you to be picked up on bikes if you don't want the 10 min walk - I'd recommend the walk however bikes can be a good, if a little scary option). The rooms at Tjampuhan vary from rustic (basic, yet still beautiful) to quite lovely. All have nice sized terraces in gorgeous gardens and are relatively private. We love the Arie Smith rooms, however on our last stay we had a bed bug challenge over 4 nights which really affected our enjoyment of things (4 nights on 'high alert' wasn't how we planned our stay). In saying this, the staff were wonderful and very gracious in endeavouring to sort the challenge and bent over backwards to help. It was our choice to stay in the room and go through spraying / fumigating rather than moving to a different room, so we'll take responsibility for that! We always find the staff to be open and friendly in a happy balinese way - not overly professional or pretentious as in the 5 stars, funny at times - we've stayed in both and we like this. All in all, would we stay again? Yes, absolutely - this is a lovely piece of Bali in a gorgeous, green, peaceful setting - our challenge could have been experienced anywhere and is certainly not reflective of the hotel. Hope you enjoy Tjampuhan.

Room Tip: Raja rooms have aircon, Agung rooms generally do not. Often don't need the aircon up here, thou...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Tjampuhan hotel & spa has connections to Balinese royalty. It's located in the most beautiful gardens dotted with amazing Balinese sculptures, a mere 10 minutes walk into Ubud. Our Agung room was a generous size and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was old and had mould in the grout, and the shower head wasn't working properly.
The hotel has 2 pools set among the beautiful gardens. The unique spa is built into caves along the river embankment and surrounded by stunning sculptures - a beautiful place to enjoy a spa treatment, except directly across the river we notice people dumping bags of rubbish. Breakfast is basic but sufficient. Some of the older staff are not so cheerful and friendly, but all up we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
1,049 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#43 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#57 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing