We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Balinese Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #64 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old Balinese Charm”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I am a huge fan of Tjampuhan Resort and Spa in Ubud and have returned to this place countless times over the last 20 years. We even spent our honeymoon here and returned with our children. Although we haven't been back for a while now, I feel compelled to write (after reading recent reviews) and say that this resort isn't for everyone. It's not a The Four Seasons, nor an Outrigger, HIlton, Novotel but simply an locally run hotel packed with old Balinese charm. The resort has historical significance and its moss covered crumbling walls are part of its character. Expect ants, mozzies, lizards and every imaginable creepy crawly. The swimming pools get their fresh water from a natural spring and my husband did suffer from an ear infection as a consequence. We stayed at the Walter Spies Bungalow which is a duplex thatched hut and it was great for a family of four. The staff were very attentive and courteous. In the old days, we did not have phones in our rooms and we had to use an instrument made out of hollowed tree trunk (shaped like a lingam) to summon room service. We love the fact that its rustic, laid back and minus all the modern gadgets. Most afternoon it would rain cats and dogs so we just sat outside on our verandah sipping Kopi Bali and play board games. The resort may have seen better days but hey! we were there during those better times and we loved the fact that it has remained unchanged. If you are a naturalist at heart, this place if for you! P/S. Caution: walking to and fro from Ubud town centre, beware of holes in pavement (described in previous reviews), they do exist!

Room Tip: Located on a terraced slope overlooking a lush ravine, access to all rooms are via cobbled steps and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    547
    166
    73
    51
See reviews for
234
699
99
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were disappointed with this hotel, having had a very pleasant stay in Sanur. The welcome we received was half hearted and the room was dingy. We were given just 2 thin towels, no hand towels or cloths and on the second day our bath mat was taken away too! The ceiling dropped black bits into the bath whenever someone walked on the floor above.
We could hear constant mechanical humming and squeaking which made it difficult to sleep at night and across the (small) river, construction work is going on.The pool was small and not clean with lots of floating debris and a funny smell. The only time the staff were really friendly was when we were leaving!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 61NK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our third stay in Ubud and our second at this hotel. The tropical setting on the side of a not very wide river valley is different and the clever design ensures every room has good views. However, because it is set on the side of a steep hill there are lots of steps (without any lifts). It is not recommended for the disabled or frail.

Apart from that, the hotel is very good. The rooms are decorated with a Balinese theme and all have balconies where you can sit and enjoy the view. They are spacious, clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful and the included breakfast offered a good selection of Continental, Asian or more substantial foods. The evening menu is also good but a little pricey by Ubud standards. There are better value places to eat elsewhere.

We only used one of the two pool areas. It was a lovely diversion in the tropical heat although it could be difficult to get a lounge chair at popular times. The view from the spa has to be seen even if you don't take advantage of its services.

The hotel is about 15-20 minutes easy walk from the centre of Ubud or an hourly shuttle service is available. If you walk in the opposite direction you will find more restaurants, galleries, museums and a large supermarket within a few hundred uphill metres.

We have seen a few places to stay in Ubud and there are cheaper options that are quite good; but you will struggle to find one that offers the same setting, location, quality, amenities and services at the same price.

Room Tip: There a couple of rooms at the top of the hill that are not well protected from road noise. Quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank odo5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is set on the side of a hill, surrounded by trees. It is very beautiful. The carvings around are amazing and the spa is so different. The pool was an ok size however it was quiet around the pool when we were there as the water was cold. I don't think people are really in Ubud to stay by the pool. There is so much to do in Ubud and it is about a 10 minute walk. Be careful though, we walked home after dinner one evening. There was no lighting in some parts and the pavements are just concrete slabs. We fell down a hole and got our feet trapped between the slabs. We were trapped and some very nice Indonesian men had to help us! We really hurt ourselves so be warned! The staff were very helpful and attentive. The restaurant was a bit disappointing and breakfast was ok. The rooms are big but basic. On the whole a good, traditional place to stay but not if you are after something western.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is our second time at this hotel. It is in a great location so you can walk into town or catch the free shuttle bus. The rooms are spacious and clean and look out over the rainforest. Breakfast is my favourite part of the day. The chef will make you a fresh omelette with the ingredients for your choice. The banana pancakes are delicious! Be prepared to climb lots of steps, but this helps with calorie burning after all the eating that you do. Pool area is lovely too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have recently returned from Bali and stayed at the Tjampuhan Hotel and Spa for my entire stay - 10 days - as I wanted to stay away from the coast and experience the inland region. The Hotel was beautiful, clean as a whistle, staff were friendly and helpful, the spa was a treat - hot and cold pools, steam and dry sauna ,and the massage which included a body scrub, yoghurt cream finish rub and a bath with oils and flower petals - just wonderful. I spent 1/2 a day at the spa for about $60 AUD. The stone carving everywhere were amazing. My room was cleaned daily by friendly, smiling staff who left red hybiscus and white frangipani everywhere - from the hotel gardens which were absolutely beautiful. I had room service meals at a very affordable price but also ate at the restaurant with its views over the valley. Breakfast was a buffet with lots of choices and an 'egg station' where eggs were cooked just as you requested. Older or less mobile people could find the steps around the hotel a bit difficult but for those who are capable, the views were ample compensation. Both of the swimming pools were just gorgeous - one being a natural spring. The hotel also has a shuttle bus to the main shops but it is not far to walk to catch more of the local scene. Visits to the Bali dancing, the volcano, the batic and silver making were worth the trips - I even used lots of courage to try a pillion ride on one of Bali's famous bikes - woohoo! Would certainly return.

Room Tip: I was in a Bonet room #6 which was quiet and mid way on the hill so a fairly easy climb to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosielee1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I would describe Hotel Tjampuhan Spa as my "happy place" having visited briefly in 2012 and being so impressed I had to take my friends back in 2013 so they could understand how good it was in Ubud.

The hotel is beautiful and the food in the restaurant exquisite. The setting is truly an area of outstanding natural beauty and it is conveniently placed for excursions e.g. Elephants and rafting.

One word of advice when staying here is that certain members of the staff can be very pushy in trying to secure your business. Say you wanted a trip to see the volcano; a member of staff would offer to arrange it for you for 500,000 rupiah when you could just flag down a taxi and have it for 200,000. I found one member of staff especially pushy when I was trying to organise a trip to Padang Bai. He would not leave me alone despite the fact I found alternative transport when I got there would have been 500% cheaper. Fortunately I was wise to their game so he got nothing from me, but an unwary traveller could be misled!

I would happily return to Tjampuhan Spa. If I ever get married I think it would make a fantastic honey moon destination. I could not be happier with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 637Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 195 in Ubud
979 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 195 in Ubud
440 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Property: Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing