We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise down the road from ubud.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #64 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise down the road from ubud.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Excellent hotel. Rooms are set in to the hillside. Rooms have balcony and great views. I spent many hours by the pool. Swimming pools are fed by spring water. Spa is very affordable if you want to treat yourself. Very close to ubud, if you dont want to walk there is a shuttle.Perfect ubud stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    569
    175
    76
    51
See reviews for
243
730
100
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We first visited Bali and this partiuclar hotel 20 years ago and decided to return. Generally speaking the hotel is good. The location is central and the setting is great. You feel as if you are in the middle of jungle which is great. The room we stayed in was good, albeit starting to show its age but it was large and spacious with great balcony.

The staff are excellent and we utilised the Spa facilities which were good as well.

If we had a complaint it was breakfast. Breakfast had an average amount of choices but alot of the "hot" food was just not "hot".

Overally however, I sill enjoy the location and serenity of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is possibly the oldest hotel in Ubud and shows its age, but it is convenient. Famous for the residence of Walter Spies in the late 1920s, but there's nothing left of his occupation except the building. Nice restaurant nearby and only a walk away over the bridge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The exquisite garden and constant attention to the plant life impressed us greatly. The self serve breakfast was excellent value and the location in the centre of Ubud but above a flowing river was exceptional. Our budget room could only have been improved by a larger balcony.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent a week at Tjampuhan in one of the comfortable little Balinese-style bungalows overlooking the beautiful valleys and greenery. Very attentive and friendly staff. Quiet and relaxing environment. The restaurant offers a great selection of food for breakfast. A Balinese massage in the mythical stone cavern spa is a must! A short walking distance to the Anotnio Blanco museum too. Perfect place to stay. Would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldau, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We found the hotel and surroundings beautiful: the lush vegetation, the grounds rich in nature, the beautiful swimming pools (one with mountain spring water) - all absolutely fantastic. I would have recommended the hotel if it weren't for the room. It stunk. Really...like a bad musty smell. Plus, I'm not sure what kind of insects were populating the room together with us, but we were bitten to the point where we would count every morning at least 10 new bites. The A/C unit was not good enough and the bathroom was a dungy dark place.
Other minor complains: the desserts are a disaster (I tried two) and the beer price is very very high compared to let's say a 5 star hotel in Candidasa which had the beer at less than half the price in Tjampuhan. All-in-all, it was a very nice place and if they would fix the rooms and bathrooms and lower their drinks prices, I think they could be at an excellent level. The spa treatments were very nice and located closer to the river made them even nicer, more relaxing. The staff is ok, not really fully trained and some of them don't speak English; they give you the impression that you are part of a big family, so it is a different kind of treatment. We have all the respect for the management team who responded very quickly to the alarm we gave of a land slide happening right next to our room, on a neighbouring plot.

Room Tip: Careful if you are not in love with the stairs - maybe you shouldn't pick-up this hotel but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bilibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauderhill, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent 4 days at this hotel. The staff and amenities offered by this place were priceless. People are very nice and humble. When our driver was taking us from the airport to this hotel, we were a little scary because it is about one hour and a half awayr form the airport and we did not know where we were going to. But once you get into this hotel, it is very pleasant. Nice areas to eat and shop near this hotel. The hotel is well located and near to the most atractions. You can either take a taxi or walk to the center. The hotel amenities are very nice also. Only thing you won find in your room is a TV. But do not worry because you are welcome to use the one located at the lounge area. Wi-Fi is also available at no charge. PLease do no hesitate to use this hotel if you are planing to come to Ubud.

Room Tip: We chose a bonet room. Very nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hernan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,023 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 198 in Ubud
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 198 in Ubud
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Property: Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#55 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing