We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally AMAZING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #64 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Totally AMAZING!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay here was amazing. Swimming in the pools was like hanging out in paradise, the Spa was superb, the restaurant was exquisite. Our room was beautiful - clean, spacious and modern (without losing the traditional Balinese touch). But the best part of our stay was the quality service provided by the staff - everyone repeatedly went above and beyond to make our time relaxing, easy and fun. Mr Astra, in particular, is one of the friendliest, happiest and professional people I have ever met in the hotel industry.
A massive thankyou to all at this very special hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7Hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    557
    172
    74
    51
See reviews for
236
714
100
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Our second visit to this traditional spa hotel, this time with friends. Stayed again in a Raja room which is spacious with a seriously large king sized bed. Room seemed a little musty upon arrival, but that soon disappeared when the doors to the small balcony had been opened up for a few minutes.
This is a vey tranquil hotel, a bit of an oasis of peace with lovely terraced gardens running down to the spa and river below. That brings lots of steps with it, so although its fine for us, if you're a bit creaky in the knees it may be an issue.
The two pools have had a bit of a facelift in the 3 years since we last visited, but the room and everything else seemed much the same, with the exception of a few PC's with internet at a lounge area. No wi-fi in rooms, but so what.
The rooms are well appointed and we had ample hot water in the shower. Perhaps the rooms may be a bit darkish for some with traditional wooden fittings and furniture, but it's in keeping with the atmosphere of the place. We found it clean but you wouldn't call it immaculate.
Restaurant is a beautiful setting with views down across the gardens and across the river. Very good buffet breakfast, had dinner there only once and it was fine.
Shuttle van will drop you in the centre of Ubud hourly, but its only a 15 min lazy walk anyway. The Bridge restaurant is almost opposite the entrance, as are a couple of convenience stores if you need any basics.
Had a relaxing and enjoyable time and found the staff to be attentive when required.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The moment we walked into the hotel we were amazed and surprised at the amazing scenery. We were nearly about to cancel our stay here due to some of the reviews but the second we got there we were glad that we hand't canceled our stay here. If you are used to staying in Asia and want a traditional, lovely and calming experience I recommend this place but if you are looking for a horrible, modern, western resort don't stay at this amazing place because it is not your style. The rooms are clean and well kept. We were again surprised about the food because some of the reviews said that it was horrible and dry but we didn't think that, we found the food quite nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The spa was absolutely amazing, it was down in these caves near to the river and they had the most amazing carvings in the walls, they were truly mind-blowing.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room that is close to one of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Indigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I really really enjoyed the settings: bungalows hanging on the slope that leads to the rivers down below. Gorgeous gardens, birds singing (includes roosters from 4:30 ;-), squirrels, the river running. This took me away from the city as i expected while still behind very close to civilization - not at its best : as soon as you step out of reception you are on main the road that takes you to center city, with heavy heavy traffic.
It is a 10 mns walk to center city (while you can find some very nice bungalows right in the center). It did not bother me to have to walk. Also a hotel shuttle takes you close enough to the center (regrettably they cancelled the ride to Monkey Forrest !)
I found enough comfort in my room but i missed phone connection (not to mention wifi, although last one not a surprise). The room is large, and so is the terrasse. It is true it can use a lifting...
I did not try lunch or diner - there are so many places in Ubud. But i appreciated breakfast, varied enough. I particularly enjoyed Gado Gado and crepes.
Restaurant staff is very nice, i am not so sure about reception. Amiability often felt fainted.
For taxis and arranging tours, or shuttles to airport, i would suggest you make arrangements outside the hotel. There are vendors all over Ubud, off the streets or in small shops. They can be more accommodating and surely less expensive.
Examples where service came short: i asked for late checkout - 1 hour - immediate answer : extra cost. i was promised i could shower in the spa before leaving, the spa turned me down and i had to shower in the toilets by the pool. The pool attendant was unhappy when i asked for a towel ... i had to change and make-up at the outside lavatory ...
For such reasons it is surely overpriced. I would go back, if i hit a better price, to enjoy again the scenery. Having said that i spotted some very nice places in the center of Ubud ... to be debated if there is a next time in Ubud.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alstromeria33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a wonderful 3 nights here staying in Walter Spies House. The staff were very attentive and the hotel was absolutely beautiful and rustic. We slept in the same bed as Mick Jagger and David Bowie had previously stayed ( I was assured this was a different times ). The spa was fantastic and the food was great. Lots of stairs so make sure you have comfortable shoes on!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tone2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is a true "old Bali" gem - a unique property tucked into the hotel with a great location
and wonderful feel. I don't like hip new hotels with all the bells and whistles. But this place is in a serious state of disrepair. Our lunch consisted of 4 entrees loaded with MSG. I mean loaded. Not to mention the woman at the desk where you pay was completely asleep sitting in her chair with her mouth wide open.
The grottos in their spa area is one of the hidden gems of Bali - hot and cold pools carved out of stone that are truly one of a kind. But the area around them is dirty and old. There is obviously no one walking around the property with a check list of maintenance items. It's sad. it could be so amazing, but seems as though someone has truly given up on this old gem. The Walter Spies suite is abysmal and the buffet area for breakfast is dark and depressing. Honestly, just a good cleaning and freshening up the upholstery/fabrics would do wonders.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dangerkitty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After reading some of the rave reviews about Tjampuhan, I was expecting to step into paradise. To my shock and dismay the first room that was allocated to me was so outdated and gloomy that I had to be shifter out into a 'newly refurbished' room which is also nothing great to look at from any perspective. The quality of the refurbished rooms is average to lower than average at best.
The spa' is a shabby area where cots are put up in shabby rooms opening out to the river below. Nothing classy, elegant, clean or pleasant about this spa. And to add insult to injury their treatments are expensive compared to competition.
The breakfast was the highlight of the abysmal quality of Tjampuhan. Despite being the first one to show up, I was shocked to find noodles that had probably been served so long time ago that they were hard as rocks. Upon pointing it out to the staff and chef, there was a mumble of an apology and then the noodles were changed. Next day, reached the buffet to find two items (rice and noodles) already finished. Not that I was late or anything. Despite asking the staff to replenish the dishes, the needful was not done and I had to make do with eggs and toast. Spoke volumes about their efficacy and service.
The quality of service and the staff that everyone raves about in other reviews is only standard basic fare of all asian countries. I have been to Bali 5 times and I should know that the staff of Tjampuhan are not par-excellence in any parameter.
Overall, a bad experience never to be repeated and yes, after 3 days of stuffiness, I shifted to another hotel.

Room Tip: If your doctor asks you to choose this place and you must then ask for the newly refurbished rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#37 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Property: Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing