We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #64 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights after long flights from Hawaii. This hotel provided everything we desired for, peace and quiet, beautiful landscaping to wander around, great service, and best of all great food. Breakfast buffet was amazing catered every type of appetite. We were never disappointed at lunch and dinner as well. Although, I have to say that the spa was not quite the money worth. We tried couple's combination package (duo massage with bath, and the use of spa). Massage was okay, spa was not so impressive. While we were in the couple's bath with flower petals and flower oil wearing only the spa provided funky thong/bloomers, a male maintenance staff casually walked in on us. I was seen straight shot and not very happy about that..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papaya500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed as a group, in this hotel. It was fabulous. The staff were so friendly. The grounds are magestic, and most fantastic is the beautiful spring water pool. Breakfast buffet amazing and hotel spa is something else! Well worth the trip and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Our room over looked the river and was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimlivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

From the moment you step into this beautiful and historic property, every whim is effortlessly catered for in a friendly, respectful and family-like manner. The rooms, tastefully and traditionally decorated, were spotlessly clean and offered all amenities - air con, T.V., large and spacious ensiute, mini bar, ceiling fan, safe, 24 hr room service and a lovely terrace overlooking beautiful forest and river. The spring fed swimming pool (one of two pools) was refreshing, tranquil and healing. The breakfast terrace was traditional Ubud and displayed some beautiful examples of art and carving . The staff were beautiful - so friendly and accomodating. Could not have wished for a more relaxing holiday and left feeling like we had another family in Ubud at Hotel Tjampuhan that we must re-visit soon!

Room Tip: Our room, Arie Smith 1, was in a lovely position and not too many steps to reach all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed as a family with 3 kids for 6 days. The service was very good and the staff were always accomodating. The rooms were spacious with bathrooms that could be modernised abit. However they are just fine. The odd frog or lizard does enter the room but this is part of the charm... The hotel is very peaceful, yet very welcoming for children. The spa is very good and even welcomes children as ours returned a couple of times. The hotel is close to the town and the hotel offers a free shuttle service. The food in the restaurant was also well priced compared with the restaurants in town. One downside is the fact that the free WiFi is only available in the lobby area. Apart from that we all had a very relaxing stay and the hotel is well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBR171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I keep coming back to Tjampuhan ...... why?

1. ideal location overlooking gardens and swimming pools to the river, 5minutes walk from the center
of town

2.Graceful, traditional rooms with ceiling fans, air con, t.v, coffee/tea making facilities and adorned with
excellent traditional art works and sculpture

3. Friendly and gracious service from all staff, reminiscent of a bygone era in the Raffles tradition ....
no wonder, it is owned by the King of Ubud, an enlightened employer who holds onto valuable
staff for their working life with fair wages and retirement pensions

4 A spring -fed swimming pool boasting the cleanest most refreshing water you can find, complements
the main chlorinated pol swimming area

5. Spa and massage facilities on site

6. Extremely friendly, professional management with excellent people skills and genuine sense of duty
of care for both staff and guests

Room Tip: My favorites are Banyan 1 and 2, River 3 and River 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Careysuggests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel Tjampuhan and Spa is the first hotel in Bali. It's traditional and spacious rooms are perched above a river intersection that is a sacred site of significance. The rooms are spacious and adorned with paintings and sculptures that are of the highest quality in a town where art works abound. This is hardly suprizing as this hotel is owned by the king of Ubud.
When you step through the front entrance you are entering a wondrous world that is imbued with history, taste and beauty. As a seasoned traveler who has stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world this remains the one I return to on a regular basis. It is to Bali what Raffles Hotel is to Singapore and has a history,atmosphere and unique distinction that for me has no equal.
Along with this the staff and management are outstanding. They embrace you into their "special family" and enhance every aspect of the time spent here..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon, the hotel is nice but not amazing. The location is good, about a 10 minute walk from central Ubud and with some nice restaurants nearby.

Our room was not all that clean, there were bits of concrete on the bathroom floor on the first night and many many insects (I appreciate it's in the jungle but this was extreme - we woke up to find them in the bed). It was also very damp, again I appreciate it's by the river but we couldn't get rid of the dampness. However the view from the patio area was lovely.

The pool area is a bit on the small side, we only ever got one sunbed between two, and that was only after someone else left. This was in low season so I imagine it would be worse at busier times. The spring pool was ok but no sun and the water was very cold.

The staff were polite enough but not as friendly as we found elsewhere in Bali. Breakfast didn't seem very varied though the banana pancakes were nice. Oh and the wi-fi didn't stretch very far and was a weak signal, not a major issue as they had some PCs to use but if they advertise it they should make sure it works.

Overall the hotel was nice enough for the money we paid but I feel the rooms and the customer experience could still be improved.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleur1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#43 of 199 in Ubud
461 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#55 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £62 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing