We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gate to mother earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #70 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Get ready for a Resort which was created in combination with the nature of mother earth. You can go down from the entry along walking paths. On the way there are houses, rooms, pools, spa area, ponds with fish, trees and a incredible view onto the river which is on the bottom of the resort. It felt like living in a beautiful small village close to the center of Ubud.
In addition I need to say thank you to the Manager Astra who shared the information about the Balinese culture to understand about to share with love. I come back!!! :)))

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Basti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Oldest hotel in Ubud, but you would not have thought. It is superbly maintained, and the cottages are spread over a huge area on the terrace slope down towards the river.
Just around the corner at the end of the main street. Everything within walking distance, but the hotel still free shuttle service to and from the hotel to the main street several times a day at fixed times.
Lovely breakfast buffet, which could not be better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine. The cheapest is the furthest away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VirgilTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have been travelling to Ubud for many years and everytime I stay here. This is a unique hotel and a very, very special place. Over the years I have seen many changes (once upon a time the pathways were lit by oil lamps, the windows only had netting and no glass!) but no matter what it is the location and staff that make this place so special.
This hotel has a lot of history and the location by the river in a jungle setting is so tranquil and relaxing. The staff have always made me feel welcome and I have got to know many as friends over the years. There are a number of things to note before you choose to stay at this hotel. 1) There are a LOT of stairs - it is set on the side of a river gorge so if you have problems with your knees or need assistance walking then this may not be the best place to stay. 2) There are animals about, again by the river in the jungle so you may encounter squirrels, toads at night and the odd cat. This is a good thing because it makes the experience more authentic and in the case of the cats they keep rodents away. None of these animals will come into your room or disrupt your trip. 3)The bathrooms are a bit "dated", they are not well lit and look a bit aged this is not a factor for me at all and I have it on good authority that changes are to be made in the next year or so. 4) There are mosquitos - it's Bali, there are mosquitos everywhere!. For something a bit different from the standard hotels this is a real treat at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandalika_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights after long flights from Hawaii. This hotel provided everything we desired for, peace and quiet, beautiful landscaping to wander around, great service, and best of all great food. Breakfast buffet was amazing catered every type of appetite. We were never disappointed at lunch and dinner as well. Although, I have to say that the spa was not quite the money worth. We tried couple's combination package (duo massage with bath, and the use of spa). Massage was okay, spa was not so impressive. While we were in the couple's bath with flower petals and flower oil wearing only the spa provided funky thong/bloomers, a male maintenance staff casually walked in on us. I was seen straight shot and not very happy about that..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papaya500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed as a group, in this hotel. It was fabulous. The staff were so friendly. The grounds are magestic, and most fantastic is the beautiful spring water pool. Breakfast buffet amazing and hotel spa is something else! Well worth the trip and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Our room over looked the river and was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimlivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

From the moment you step into this beautiful and historic property, every whim is effortlessly catered for in a friendly, respectful and family-like manner. The rooms, tastefully and traditionally decorated, were spotlessly clean and offered all amenities - air con, T.V., large and spacious ensiute, mini bar, ceiling fan, safe, 24 hr room service and a lovely terrace overlooking beautiful forest and river. The spring fed swimming pool (one of two pools) was refreshing, tranquil and healing. The breakfast terrace was traditional Ubud and displayed some beautiful examples of art and carving . The staff were beautiful - so friendly and accomodating. Could not have wished for a more relaxing holiday and left feeling like we had another family in Ubud at Hotel Tjampuhan that we must re-visit soon!

Room Tip: Our room, Arie Smith 1, was in a lovely position and not too many steps to reach all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed as a family with 3 kids for 6 days. The service was very good and the staff were always accomodating. The rooms were spacious with bathrooms that could be modernised abit. However they are just fine. The odd frog or lizard does enter the room but this is part of the charm... The hotel is very peaceful, yet very welcoming for children. The spa is very good and even welcomes children as ours returned a couple of times. The hotel is close to the town and the hotel offers a free shuttle service. The food in the restaurant was also well priced compared with the restaurants in town. One downside is the fact that the free WiFi is only available in the lobby area. Apart from that we all had a very relaxing stay and the hotel is well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBR171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 200 in Ubud
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.6 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 200 in Ubud
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#61 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £56 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing