We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #65 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

On our way to Gili Air, Lombok for a diving holiday we spent two nights at this beautiful old hotel in Ubud, Bali. We were taken to our room at the very bottom of the hill with our heavy dive bags being carried for us down many sets of stairs (and up two days later). When we arrived at the room we found ourselves in a tranquil and peaceful place, our room opening out on to a patio looking out onto a river. We were able to sit and listen to the sound of the water and the many birds. The steps had to be re-climbed to get to the restaurant but got easier the more we did. The staff were really friendly and all seemed very happy to talk to us. The hotel is steps away from shops and good restaurants, and they arranged a driver to take us to some great art cooperatives (silver, painting, batik printing and wood carving) and a great coffee plantation. We wished we had booked a longer stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carol n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, we were lucky enough to get a room RESSI 1 on the very top layer, next to the restaurant, it was a very big and spacious room, ask for it when you book.. my friends unfortunately got the bottom layer... there are a LOT OF STAIRS at this hotel. not recommend for the old or families with prams.. but if you get the chance you must visit the monkey spa. The carvings alone are worth the entry fee.. it's just beautiful to look at, let alone relax in.. we never ate at the hotel so I cant say anything about there food... but the atmosphere of this place was so relaxing.

Room Tip: Visit the markets at the start of monkey forest road, they are amazing, but check out your prices in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa at end of June. We arrived very early in the morning when it was very dark, we were shown to our room by torch light as the path's weren't all that well lit. We woke in the morning to find it nestled in an incredibly beautiful and tranquil place.
The rooms at the top of the hill tend to get quite a bit of road noise from passing traffic, so if you can get lower down the hill you'll get a better sleep.
Wifi is only available in the reception area, which is particularly not good if you want to keep in contact withthe outside world. They have hotel computers available for the public (but we only found them by chance) along with the another bar (this is under the main reception area) .... no one told us about this at any point.
We found the staff friendly.
Breakfast was included in the tariff and just enough, but if you had an extended stay you may want a bit more variety. The pools were quite cool while we were there (by comparison to most places I've stayed, but it is quite refreshing)
We didn't try the spa as ran out of time but I am told its good.
Its not a bad walk back from town and there is a nice place to have meals/drinks on the other side of the bridge (opposite Bridges restaurant)
By the end of 3 days the legs definitely feel the steps, and there are quite a few of them.
We did arrange a transfer to our hotel in Legian a day before we checked out, and agreed on price .... however it wasn't booked and the Manager was frantically trying to find a driver to take us ..... Would I stay again .... probably not

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the hill tend to get quite a bit of road noise from passing traffic, so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We were in Heaven at Tjampuhan.
The position is incredible and you feel a million miles from everything.
We had a very nice room right down the bottom (113 steps from lobby) of the resort, which is fine if you are young enough to take them on.
We were close to the spa and took great advantage of the fact. It was the most amazing spa we have ever seen, nestled in a cave like setting with endless amounts of rock carvings, right at the bottom of the property just above the river.
We had Two full body massages and used the sauna, steam room and spa all within a 16 hour window.
Our biggest regret is only staying one night. I would suggest at least three nights.
Onto the negatives.
The rooms do smell a bit damp. ( Didn't effect me in any way) We opened our room up on arrival, if people did that more often it would help the situation. As a builder I know it would take a lot to sort out this issue.
The food was a bit average for lunch and dinner, but not too bad.
I was impressed with the breakfast and the restaurant position and outlook was so nice.
I know if we come back to Ubud we will definitely stay again but for longer. It is also reasonably priced.

We would highly recommend the Tjampuhan Spa & Resort to anyone.

I have to say also. Directly across the road there is a coffee shop which makes the best coffee I have had in Bali for less than $2 AUD.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Scr979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I would like to thank the staff at Hotel Tjampuhan as they made our experience one to remember. Their prompt response to our requests (i.e calling cabs/putting us onto booking agencies). We greatly appreicate it.

I encourage guest to come and check out this hotel whilst their stay in Ubud due to the old Bali feel as well as the breath taking views. Nature is only a step outside your bedroom door. A 40,000 is all you'll have to pay to get into the heart of the main street.

Having a great time, we also do have some suggestions for improvement.
The wireless signal didn't cover the entire resort, this was frustrating at points because we couldn't use it in our room, Having to go to either the pool or the lobby.

Also our safe was broken which left us a little uncomfortable but wasn't a massive issue as they did have your own personal safe at front desk.

Our stay is one we will remember and the standard of our rooms were excellent! You definitely get bang for buck.
terima kasih!

Room Tip: Personally i would pick a room that isn't so far down as the stairs can get rather tiring after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The oldest hotel in Ubud down the hill near the river away from the motorbikes and noise of Ubud it can be a retreat, an oasis from the noise. We enjoyed the quiet as it is a Rp 40,000 (AUS $4) trip into Ubud if you don’t feel like walking. I stayed with my two 20+ daughters in two separate rooms. The hotel consists of multi roomed bungalows arranged along the river terrace. If you’re not up to steps and walking then this hotel is not for you. The hotel location is beautiful and looks incredible from the outside but cleanliness is a problem. I had a large room with a big verandah looking out across the garden. My daughters had the room next to me. However, theirs smelt of mould and both rooms had really dirty bathrooms. This ended up being really important as we all got sick and spent quite some time in the bathroom.
The hotels 'entertainment director' was always lurking but finally gave up trying to get us to book through him. From then on he was rather unpleasant. The staff were varied, some really friendly and some not so. Breakfast was included in the tariff but we got tired of fried rice, banana pancakes and bread with sugar added. Anyway we lived on dry toast for 3 days as we got sick – the hotel was great in that they called the Ubud Clinic and the doctor came promptly. Why not – he charged $120 per person for the visit and medicine.
My daughters loved the pools and general location and the amazing ‘Bridges’ restaurant is opposite. So, gorgeous Bali is what it is – (always prearrange the cost of a trip, take the nausea tablets and an empty suitcase for shopping) but there are many places to stay in Ubud which are cheaper and cleaner. However this place has history.

Room Tip: Room close to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family of two adults and three children stayed at the Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa on 26th June and, like other reviewers, found it an nestled in an incredibly beautiful and tranquil place. However, from the start it seemed to be lacking something. We were made to wait an eternity to be checked in and was then asked to return in an hour after they had finished booking some other people in. When we arrived back, we were placed in two separate rooms quite a distance from each other. Reluctant to leave my 12 year old so far away, he came and stayed in our room which had two extra beds in the loft and to be honest, was large enough to fit in an extra bed. At the time of booking, the hotel said that it could not cater for five people in one room. This aside, the room itself was quite dated and needed maintenance. When we woke in the morning, there was some animal droppings on the floor. Finally, at breakfast we asked if we could put two tables together as there were only tables of two or three available but we were bluntly refused and had to eat breakfast separately. I found the pool clean and quite nice to swim in but, my experience in the hotel and also with the spa was somewhat underwheming. Wifi is only available in the reception area, which is particularly not good if you have teenagers.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on a hillside with many steps. If you have difficulty with mobility, ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jtebbu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
413 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
786 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#54 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £59 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing