We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #65 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Tanah merah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Nice hotel with lovely gardens and pools.The staff are friendly and welcoming.
The only down side was the restaurant .....buffet breakfast was too cold....would suggest to go out for a meal as the food in the restaurant was average.The spa services are at a lovely location right near the river...the down side is I went to get a facial there...not real good .you would be better of having a massage instead.
You will enjoy this hotel because of its location and its beautiful surrounds and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: The room can have a musty smell..it may be strong as you walk in for the first time,just open the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanahmerahChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    579
    178
    76
    52
See reviews for
250
742
102
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

After my first walk around the hotel grounds I was so excited. The setting is superb. The spa grotto is a true wonder of human craftsmanship.
The staff at Tjampuhan were so incredibly kind and friendly and service was excellent.
Thank you for having us we hope to return some day :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What we really liked about Hotel Tjamphuan was the setting - it is beautifully set amongst the trees on a hillside. The gardens are really well kept.
The Spa is great aswell, the grotto is amazing! We felt really relaxed having a massage in the open air room which looked out over the river - could not ask for a better setting.
Liked that the hotel was situated just outside the busy area of Ubud - they have an hourly shuttle which goes into town.

We stayed in a River room which was set in a corner near a huge rock so was quite dark in our room. The bathroom was very outdated and not nice on the eyes.
Bottles of water were supplied daily.
At night there was some sort of animal on our roof which sounded like it was thrashing about every night which made it very hard to sleep (and got me scared!!)

Liked the pools, great having 2 as there are not too many seats at each area but they are very refreshing especially the spring pool.
Staff could have been alot better, did get annoyed when some staff would always try and recommend their friends to take us on tours etc especially whilst enjoying our breakfast.

I think if they gave the rooms a refurb, got some new pool chairs and the staff were friendlier and not as pushy on selling tours to you we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melopuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Booked in for a spa and massage treatment as we had heard it was amazing. Great location, massage and Balinese Boreh were great and use of the spa/hot and cold pools was fun. What was not so great was the service/attitude of reception and that they didn't speak very good English which although is understandable considering you are travelling in a spa/restaurant environment a few words of English would be expected/level of understanding. An interesting visit, not sure I would stay here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ninashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Ubuds original Hotel,beautiful setting.Very friendly staff.Good choice for breakfast with a lovely view from the tables.Dinner menu not so good.
Raja room is an excellent size,but a bit too dark,we always needed lights on,and the bathroom needed re furbishing.overall an enjoyable stay for 4 nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at the Tjampuhan Hotel recently with a friend, my daughter and my six month old grandson. The transfer from Legian was so enjoyable driving thru the rice fields on the way up. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel so very welcome. We stayed in a room which was close to the reception area and the staff were so very helpful. The hotel has some senior school students working at the hotel as part of a training programme and it is great to see that the hotel is supporting the education of young adults about the leave school and embark on a possibel career in the hotel industry.

The hotel was opened in 1928, originally a royal guesthouse and attracted many foreign artists. The stone carving around the entire property is so inticate and reflects a traditional Balinese feel. All meals are served in a very spacious restaurant with wonderful views of the tropical gardens. The buffet breakfast was excellent, in particular the Balinese banana pancakes. The staff wer always happy to accommodate any special requirements without hesitation. We dined at the restaurany one evening and the food was really excellent. The prices were good value for money and a good mix of Western and Balinese. The dining experiences were so tranquil and the staff were always smiling and greeted us with such warmth.

There is a free transfer into the main town of Ubud and the transfers are always on time and very reliable. The town is not far away, but a little too far to walk. I really felt I was part of Balinese life staying at this property. The rooms were very clean and designed in a very traditional way.

The spa is in a beautifully carved grotto. The carving in the grotto is so extensive. It is indeed a beautiful setting. The massages are good value, especially being surrounded by such a beautiful setting.

Our stay at the Tjampuhan hotel was a very enjoyable experience and I very much look forward to returning during my next stay in Ubud.

Kathy in Adelaide.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 486kathyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, originally for 4 but extended an extra 2 as it was so nice. I would upgrade next time to the Raja rooms. We had the basic room which was good value, overlooking the river, which they all do. Balinese design, a bit dim in the rooms but that seems to be usual for this style of architecture. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and the grounds are wonderfully peaceful and great to wander around. There's 2 pools, one spring fed and another large one, all with sunlounges. The pool bar is available for drinks. Room service and jug, tea coffee in the rooms. Rooms are clean and has tv with a constant movie channel.... nice. The only bad thing was that our first room had bed bugs and the reception moved us to another room when we explained. The next bed wasn't much better, but I covered myself in teatree lotion and I was fine then. My husband seemed ok.
The spa is something else altogether, the stone walls are all carved in this amazing grotto. It must have taken forever to sculpt, it's magnificent. There's a hot plunge pool and a cold one,, really cold! Also a sauna and steam room. This is for an extra fee of about $8 each. A bargain. Treatments are available too. Definitely do this....
The buffet breakfast is laid on with all you could want. Staff are attentive. We had our dinner here sometimes and it was always very good. Desserts are excellent. Wi fi only in the reception area. A steep descent to the rooms/bungalows but all beautiful views around you to take in as you stroll. You wont be disappointed. A must stay for Ubud.

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded rooms, we will next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#25 of 196 in Ubud
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 196 in Ubud
1,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 196 in Ubud
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Property: Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing