We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$699
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$721
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$538
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
135
45
21
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
45
21
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitebig stepsvalley riverclassic suiterestaurant staff were friendlyclimbing stepsdeep gorgefree shuttleextra spaceswimming poolnaughty nurichanged dailypoolside barpork ribsmodern convenienceshotel lobbyshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Ubud is crazy - you do not want to stay "downtown" - at least we didn't. The only drawback to this hotel is that it is 1-2 km from the main intersection of Ubud, but they offer free shuttle service - you only have to call and wait about 10 mins and they will pick you up wherever you are. Taxis in Ubud are unmetered and a ride anywhere is $3. (seems cheap but in Bali this is quite high.) The hotel is quiet, peaceful, beautiful. Traditional Balinese style, originally built in 1909? Large property is very steep - many steps down to pool area. Whole complex of bungalows built into a hillside, looking across a ravine with river at the bottom. Room was dark, air conditioning worked fine. Staff is uniformly helpful and courteous. Honeymoon suite is gorgeous, but by the pool - many steps down to reach.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steviebbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Lovely, peaceful environs, friendly staff, shuttle bus ready and willing at the drop of the hat. Fabulous view. So happy there was no TV. Renovating the bathroom and updating the bedroom furniture- this place would be perfect. Until then, it's overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I read the reviews here before I decided to book the hotel for a group of 10, 6 rooms at USD$50 per night, including breakfast and tax. The price looked attractive, given the nice beautiful valley/river view and the feedback from a friend who had stayed in this hotel 6-7 years ago. However, it is a big disappointed the very first night we arrived. The hotel is very run down. The hotel has not spent any money to maintain the rooms and the surrounding. The fountain is dirty, with lots of algae growth. I received complaints from all the group members regarding its hygiene.

1) My bed curtains is yellow and dusty, a sign that it has not been cleaned for a long time. As you lie on the bed, you will see patches of dead insects over the curtain tops. The bed frame is dusty and the bed linen feels "moist" and smells moldy. My friend told me the she found lizards eggs next to her when she woke up. I know it is not possible to avoid the presence of insects at all rural and rustic settings. However, the hotel should at least ensure the bed linens and the furniture is cleaned before the guest check in.

2) The toilet flush, do ont function properly. You may not be able to flush the your "dingy" if you are sharing a room. That is so embarrassing. To make things worst, the "hot" water turns cold in the middle of your bath, because someone else might be sharing a tub of hot water source with you! The wooden widow grill, look disgusting, with a thick layer of rust and pieces of rotten, fallen chips of wood spread over the window latch. They did not bother to clean it at all the rooms we booked.

3) The hotel is ont meant for the elderly and the children. It is in fact quite dangerous as there are insufficient lights to lid up the path and the stairs along the slope. One might fall and hurt himself badly if he/she fails to see the stairs ends abruptly at the end of the path.
The hotel looks like a deserted place at night, as you walk you can see rooms that are abandoned for serving guests. Some of it was served as a rubbish dump, with broken furniture.

4) There are only one hair-dryer to share for amongst the guest in the hotel. Not enough
power sockets to charge your mobiles etc. NO TV, NO Internet.

5) You have to be careful of the hidden nails that are piercing out of the wooden door of my room and the bathroom. The nails are rusty with a thick dark drown color coating that blend into the background color of the door, BROWN! The nails pierced into my finger as I opened the door, causing a small cut.

6) They only provide a thin grey towel which is supposed to be white! If you are lucky, you will get a better quality towel in red or blue, which turn out to be my friend's floor matt for the bathtub and the toilet bowl.

7) The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They are friendly and very helpful. breakfast can be served in your balcony while enjoy the nice valley scenery. My friend was "enjoying" her great breakfast with shock when she realized the pepper and the salt contains several pieces of dead cockroaches and eggs.

8) The best part of the stay! why do all these happened? we are told by the locals that the owner of this hotel is a very rich and famous craftsman in the island. He did not want to invest money to maintain the hotel. He told his staff that if the guests complaint, just ignored it. if they are not happy, they can leave. That is why the hotel is so run down.

9) For USD$50, you can get much better hotel in monkey forest and the nearby rice paddy field. It is not worth the money, spend your money wisely. They claimed the hotel was almost fully booked, in fact we are actually the only group there with one or two other visitors.

10) Before we leave, we told our drivers that some of us might return. But we will not stay or recommend anyone to stay in this hotel. The drive reply "Good decision" we shouldn't even stay in this hotel at all!

These are the ten reasons that I think travelers should avoid this hotel at all cost. The cheap budget hotel at USD$10-20 will be better than this!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A_Singaporean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

All other previous comments are true:
Strenghts:
+ 24/7 (see below, special attention) shuttle bus, on demand!! not only according to schedule. Ask the driver for recommendation on restaurants, he knew everything!
+ view on valley/river, woken up by sounds of water flowing, birds (and perhaps insects) singing
+ service and friendliness of the staff
+ oh yes, they have a nice swimming pool too!! but see - point about stairs
+ breakfast on the terras of your own room is possible
+ big room (depends on what you book)
+ value for money, compared to other ***/**** hotels near Ubud


Weaknesses:
- needs renovation (especially the bathroom)
- outside ubud (but compensated by the bus shuttle)
- lots of stairs... not for less valide people thus..

Special attention: on departure day, we have to leave very early from a bus station in Ubud, around 6am. So, we asked for a packed breakfast and a shuttle bus. And they delivered. Excellent service!!

Oh yes, I speak Indonesian, which might help the communication

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JunVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We stayed there the first week of March 2010. Our cottage (suite 103) was big, clean, elegant, quiet with great views on the river valley. It was much more than we expected for the price of $75 per night (breakfast and free shuttle to and from Ubud included).
It' s the best place for relaxation. The only sounds you could listen to were these of birds, frogs, river flowing.
Staff was very polite and helpful.
Ubud is only 5 minutes drive or half an our walk.
We booked the driver, the resort send to pick us up from the airport, for two daily trips and he turned to be the best driver - guide we could ever have. His name is Tampi and he was very experienced. After a little talk we had about places we wanted to visit, he offered us exactly the type of touring we wanted.
We highly recommend this resort for its location, service and staff.
And of course if you want to do some serious touring ask for Tampi the driver.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myrsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews