We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
595
110
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
110
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terracotta restaurant rice fields terra cotta boutique hotel infinity pool every hour beautiful bathroom great pool the hotel manager shuttle service minute drive included breakfast ubud town kenanga bungalow bali taxi
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Loved this place, ten minutes from the buzz of central Ubud, a world away in peace, quiet, and charm.

It is set amid ancient rice paddies, with a lovely open restaurant Terracotta (seriously good) and lovely accommodation.

We had an atmospheric one room bungalow done tastefully in Balinese décor which lent a feeling of local authenticity.

There is a beautiful infinity pool where you swim looking out across the paddies.

Also very friendly staff and management, who arranged transport around the place, and when we wanted to view some serious art galleries, they set it up and provided a driver at a very reasonable rate.

It' a quality place discerning travelers will be comfortable in.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: We liked Room 7, which was a generous studio bungalow, beautifully decorated. Great for 2 people, recommend you ask for this or something similar
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Everything about the property was soo much better than we expected. Our room was beautiful, spacious and well-appointed. The staffs veru friendly and polite. Overall, the experience was great, offering the perfect mix of relaxation and activities with no reason to leave this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We loved our stay at Kenanga! We stayed 10 nights as a 'babymoon' - a relaxing holiday while my wife was in her second trimester of pregnancy with our first child. Kenanga was definitely a great place to choose for this purpose for many reasons. Any trepidation my wife felt in travelling to Bali (or overseas) quickly disappeared when we arrived. The staff were very friendly and helpful with anything asked of them, the room great, the food at the restaurant clean and tasty (especially the included breakfast), and the pool brilliant.

A little initial readjustment of our expectations was necessary when we came to our room. We were expecting a free-standing bungalow (the website doesn't mislead, but it doesn't say that rooms adjoin), but found our room to be the middle room in a row of three opening onto the pool. I think the staff had given us the room we got as it would probably have been one of the quietest and more private of the rooms (two things we asked for if possible). The room was lovely though, and once we got over our initial let-down, this was fine. The bed was quite comfortable, which is a must if you're paying this much - though one couple we met did say that although relatively comfortable, they found theirs a little firm towards the end of their 6-night stay. There only seemed to be a couple of working TVs between all the rooms, apparently due to a recent storm that shorted them out - we had one for the second half of our stay, but hardly watched it anyway.

The place has brilliant non-buffet (a la carte) breakfasts included, and you can fill up on these (I only once ordered all the possible options and was very (if not over) full afterwards). If you ordered everything possible, this would look something like: freshly made juice, delicious soft and fresh croissants, chocolate danish, fruit salad, yogurt, muesli or cereal, amazing banana, strawberry or pineapple pancakes with coconut and palm sugar syrup (sooo good!), omelette or scrambled eggs, and tea or coffee (there were other options instead of the eggs, like nasi or mee goreng too). Lunch and dinner were really good too (brekky was my favourite meal there), though plenty of better/cheaper places to eat in Ubud (Casa Luna, Kafe were two of our faves, Fly Cafe a few mins walk up the road had cheap, tasty eats and cheap drinks during happy hours).

The pool was stunning, with three infinity edges looking out over the lovely rural setting. The rice paddies had been harvested when we stayed, but it was still a lovely, relaxing view (see photos). There were plenty of sun-loungers, and a nice shaded mini-thatched area with a couple of bean bags if you'd had enough of the sun - which was plentiful.

My only gripe was that the cost was a bit high. I think if the service and tax charges (21%) weren't added onto everything (room, food, activities, airport transfers, etc), the price would be more reasonable, though it was very clear that this would be added, and I can't fault the place and the service was really friendly and great.

I wouldn't recommend this place to families with young kids (though with a single baby or toddler would be fine - there were several guests like this), as the rooms aren't designed with this in mind, the resort is quite small (in a nice romantic and intimate way) and apart from the pool, has no real play areas or areas away from other people. There were a couple of families that stayed while we were there, and they were either pretty disruptive to the otherwise peaceful mood of the place, or in the second case where the parents were respectful of the other guests staying, the children seemed a little bored.

A massage at the spa was good too - we got one included in our room rate, so you could always ask for one to be included in your stay to get better overall value-for-money.

A small improvement suggestion (apart from removing the additional 21% charge - including it in the current room rate) would be to make the areas outside the bungalows (the semi-private verandah-type area) a little more useable - a couch with a couple of side tables (like those in the lower part of the restaurant area) would be a welcome addition, rather than the chairs on opposite ends of the covered area. We found we didn't use these at all, nor did anyone else seem to while we were there.

Overall, thanks for a lovely stay! We'd love to come back one day.

Room Tip: Be aware that the Bungalow rooms are not freestanding - they are in rows of 3 that share walls, just so that you're not expecting differently (as we were). The bungalow rooms are lovely and very large. Try getting a deal on Scoopon or similar site, otherwise email them and ask for their best rate, as I feel although its a lovely place to stay, its a bit on the expensive side (would probably be a good price, but for the additional 21% service charge/tax). I didn't actually go inside them, but the couple of second story villa rooms looked like they would be the best value, the most private, would probably be quiet, and would have beautiful views from their balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoandAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Kenanga had been recommended to us by friends and I'm so glad it was available for our stay.The hotel is set around a stunning view of the rice paddies and their infinity pool, views of which you can enjoy from the restaurant. The breakfast we had was the best of our entire trip, the pancakes are a must. We travelled as a three and the ever welcoming staff provided an extra bed that was really comfortable and even an extra water each night. Across our stay they exhibited attention to detail I've rarely seen elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Staff are so helpful, friendly and welcoming and seem genuinely happy and eager to make our stay the best it could be. Nice quiet location. Our rooms were cleaned everyday and in addition staff would turn down the room ready for bed (while we were out at dinner) We even got little bananas. We were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melen_Melen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews