We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Review of Mathis Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mathis Retreat
Ranked #26 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you're looking for a really well priced, small, boutique hotel in a quiet and beautiful setting - away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, but close enough to be accessible - this place is it. Rooms are clean, spacious, tidy, and well decorated - ours looked out over the rice field. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. As mentioned, the hotel is out of Ubud centre, however there is a regular shuttle service until early evening, and we were able to easily find taxis later on for a very cheap rate (approx 3-5 euro from Ubud to the hotel). Draw-card is definitely the infinity pool and it's outlook over the rice fields with it's resident gaggle of geese. A really beautiful place. Only reason I didn't give full-rating is that I didn't think the restaurant dinner meals were anything special. Breakfast was good however, as were the sun-downer cocktails :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mon180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    94
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
108
349
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in Kenanga for 3 nights and wished to stay more but the hotel was full. It is the best hotel of our 2 weeks holidays in Indonesia.
From the check-in, you really feel that the owner put a lot of attention to details. We stayed in a bungalow with private garden. Even though we did not have a ricefield view from our room, it was not an issue as we enjoyed the amazing view from the swimming pool and the restaurant.
The room is big, with a nice decoration and a really good mattress.
The breakfast is delicious with a lot of choice. We also tried the food for dinner and it was great. The atmosphere of the restaurant at night is romantic and the service really attentive.
Definitely a place to stay. We really hope to come back one day...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at Kenanga 4 nights. The hotel is not too big and nice, tranquil surroundings (rice paddies). Kenanga is located on the countryside (15 min to the downtown with the car)
Friendly staff, but not so experienced, I would also recommend to improve English. Lack of knowledge about Bali, tours and surroundings.
Wifi is not accessible in the rooms.
No free shuttle service from the airport & they charge twice more than usual taxis from the airport.
The French owneras were at the hotel, but didn't ask anything about the spent time in the hotel.
I paid almost 200 USD per night, so I did expect high level of service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nazar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel was warm and welcoming and the most wonderful way to start a 2 week holiday in Bali. 3 days at Kenanga felt like a week due to the quiet location, tranquil setting, friendly and helpful staff and boutique size of the hotel. A short taxi ride to the bustle of Ubud (Monkey Forest Way) great bars (Laughing Buddha), restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Kenanga for a few nights. One word: WONDERFUL! Extremely happy with our choice, seems like some thorough TripAdvisor research actually works. Although when we arrived, the receptionist couldn’t retrieve our booking for some reason, but it quickly worked out. Luckily we didn’t come across any more problems during our stay. (Quite the opposite..) I was gob smacked at the first sight of our bungalow with traditional Balinese features.

The whole property was exactly what I’m looking for in a resort. Not too big and wonderful surroundings (rice paddies everywhere you look). Kenanga is located on the countryside and comes with a peaceful atmosphere. Definitely no Kuta stress - thank god… My wife isn’t a huge fan of Asian breakfasts, so to say that she was thrilled by the American style breakfast is an understatement! The massage is also a MUST, was one of the best massages I’ve had in Asia. I can highly recommend this resort

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This Hotel is absolutely amazing...small and perfectly integrated into the beautiful landascape of rice fields. The breakfast is very good as well all the menu at Terracotta restaurant. Even though this hotel is not located in Ubud city center I fully recommend this place for its magic atmosphere (perfect for a romantic stay).

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Kenanga Boutique Hotel is perfect in every way. A small, intimate place, it couldn't have more than 14 rooms. The service is amazingly friendly and helpful - everyone from waiters, groundskeepers, maids, front desk staff, they all go way out of their way to help you and seem genuinely delighted to have you there.
The rooms are arranged in a couple of buildings. Most rooms have a stunning view of the rice paddies, and each has its own little patio with arm chairs, so you can sit outside and soak in that fabulous view. Our room was beautifully appointed with a great spa toiletries and our bed was deliciously comfortable, with multiple pillows.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely, with streams, lily ponds, gorgeous night lighting. Every day there were lovely little Balinese offerings of flowers placed in random and charming fashion throughout the hotel and paths. I loved hearing the frog calls at night, and watching the birds and butterflies during the day. You could feel the peace soaking into you, just being there! The hotel has a lovely serenity pool you can lounge in, while admiring the rice paddy view.
Our room price (very reasonable) included breakfast and the meal was spectacular! We would start with the bakery basket (croissants and fresh bread/rolls) while sipping our lattes or cappucchino, move onto eggs prepared to our liking, and if we felt really extravagant, end with pancakes or hot oatmeal. What a feast!
The hotel is situated just outside of Ubud, allowing for the gorgeous surroundings. Hourly shuttles throughout the day make it an easy jaunt to pop into Ubud at any time.
I hope someday we get to return to this magical location.
One note of warning - The friends who were travelling with us booked the family room (suite) as they have children, and they did NOT get a view - in fact they ended up looking at the back of another building, so if the view is important to you, don't book a family room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#23 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.1 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathis Retreat

Property: Mathis Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Lungsiakan 56, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Kenanga Boutique Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mathis Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mathis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathis Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing