We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, excellent restaurant”
Review of Mathis Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mathis Retreat
Ranked #29 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed in this small (15 room) boutique hotel for 2 nights in mid January (low season). The grounds overlooking a rice field are beautiful, the room is perfect -- clean, comfortable, good quiet air conditioning. The staff were gracious and helpful (including the free shuttle drivers).

I was travellng solo and only wished I had someone to share this with. Sitting at the restaurant at night, overlooking the lighting in the rice field and the candles floating in the pool, begged for a romantic interlude!

People staying at other places should consider the Terra Cotta pool side restaurant. The atmosphere (above) is fantastic, and the food is delicious and well priced.

Only small complaint is dim lighting in the room. I had to layer two sets of reading glasses in order to be able to read at night. Other than that, this place is an idyll.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    96
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
108
360
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
365 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went to Ubud for a quick getaway...wanted to look at the art and at the same time just relax.

Decided to stay at Kenanga Boutique Hotel....it is right on a working rice field...met my requirements for peace and quiet.

I chose a room with a view of the rice fields and would recommend you select from rooms 10, 11, 12, 14, 15 and 16 (15 and 16 are upstairs). Great views, nice little porch to sit on. The rooms are very comfortable, nice soaking tub, free wifi. Very clean, very comfortable.

Service was wonderful...warm greeting, was never intrusive..but always there when needed. Props to Putra in the restaurant...such great service. Towels alway handy at the pool. Food was wonderful...breakfast was included in price of room and there was a good selection. Nice to nurse a glass of wine late into the evening and watch the fireflies flit about.

The pool was cool and hardly ever used...had it to myself almost everyday. There is a shuttle to town every hour...you do need to make arrangements for the return trip...they just need the time. I chose to walk each day (but I like to walk...you see so much more) It is about a 40 to 45 minute walk to town...depends if you stop at any of the spas or galleries on your way. Walking back to the hotel is mostly uphill and can take a bit longer...might chose to walk to town and arrange to be picked up for the return.

I plan on returning to Kenanga...it is a great spot and I recommend it.

Room Tip: Select the rooms with the view of the rice fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punaauia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this gorgeous boutique hotel in November and could not wish for a better romantic escape from Singapore. The hotel offers enchanting arrival experience from the cosy open concept lobby all the way down to the swimming pool overlooking the rice paddies wow! their landscape is a well preserved secret you would not guess driving towards the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and warm welcoming, transfers were arranged to the center of ubud where you can shop for local souvenirs at the market place and try one of the amazing secret gelato ice creams around the corner :) The restaurant on site serves breakfast lunch and dinner, a must try offering local dishes like nasi goreng right by the pool and overlooking the rice Paddies. We had the chance to book a balinese massage as well in the morning, a perfect way to start your day in the middle of this peaceful rice field landscape, therapists were excellent.
Finally we were given a recommendation from the staff to try Jendela House restaurant in town, everything from restaurant reservation to transportation was arranged by the hotel. I strongly recommend to check out this place, we had an amazing boeuf bourgignon with red wine: what a treat away from home, these guys definitely know their cooking!
We stayed in room number 11, could not ask for better: comfy bed and luxury bathroom with local amenities, loved it!
We are going back in the next few months and cannot wait to feel home again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davatahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we had the most amazing time at the Kenanga hotel last November. The place is so quiet and peaceful, I could have stay there for weeks! the view over the rice field is simply stunning and the rooms are very clean and decorated with exquisite taste, without being too much. We stayed in the room #11 and we'll definitely go back and try their bungalows next time.
The food at the restaurant is also amazing. We had breakfast and dinner there; the menu offers a great variety of local and international food. You especially have to try the ice creams for dessert, they're all made locally with no artificial flavor; you can also find them in the centre of Ubud, in a place called Gelato Secret on the main street, so refreshing!!
We also had a couple massage, the ladies were very good and once again the set up was incredible: outdoor with a view over the rice field.
All the staff is very nice, very friendly and helpful, they can help you organize your airport transfers, your activities and much more. I highly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone who wants to experience the real and authentic Bali, far away from the big hotel chains and mass tourism.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencechatagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlads
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived very late in the evening from Denpasar. We we're welcomed with a drink. The rooms are beautiful, relaxing and tastefully decorated. We had a great and comfortable bed. We awoke to the most beautiful scenery of rice plantations. Soothing for the mind. Breakfast was continental style. A joyful experience. The people are very friendly. An expensive hotel- $ 450 dollars for 2 rooms for 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

- highly recommend the rooms with a terrace overlooking the rice paddy fields
- infinity pool overlooking the refreshing rice paddy fields
- warm, friendly and helpful staff
- yummy breakfast at the Terracotta
- close to nature
- location is close enough to Ubud city (main street), yet slightly remote with a bit of privacy. The hotel provides free shuttle to the city.

Improvement - if the free shuttle can extend to later hours (after 5pm). :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Kenanga hotel in Ubud was our first stop in Bali and from the minute we arrived we had a welcoming feeling of the place. We had reserved one of the cottages, but because of the height of the hedge we could not see the ricefields, so for next time we would chose the building on the side which has a clear view on the ricefield. ( the field is lit by chinese lanterns in the evening). Service was excellent Room was more than OK, but not Luxurious, setting of the place excellent, breakfast perfect, restaurant a little pricy but good quality, cheap laundry service. So all the ingredienst are there to make your stay enjoyable and very very relaxing and we would definitely return when visiting Ubud again.

Room Tip: For an unobstructed view on the ricefield chose the building on the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILENLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#26 of 198 in Ubud
710 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.0 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#21 of 198 in Ubud
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#35 of 198 in Ubud
386 reviews
1.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#11 of 198 in Ubud
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathis Retreat

Property: Mathis Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Lungsiakan 56, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Kenanga Boutique Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mathis Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Mathis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathis Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing