We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mathis Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mathis Retreat
Ranked #29 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

There comes a time when a hotel meets all of ones needs and for me it is Kenanga Boutique Hotel just outside Ubud. We were a party of three couples and after a long flight from Sydney via KL, plus the drive to the hotel, the welcome was very warm and friendly. The rooms are large and airy and my wife and I were fortunate to have room 16, which has its own balcony (very large) overlooking the rice fields. We had booked for five nights and each night’s sleep was peaceful and very restful. I have read very positive comments about the breakfasts and the food in general and I couldn’t agree more – it was all delicious. Forget the buffet breakfast of large hotels, Kananga provides personal service with various choices of food served by very friendly staff. We did ask the staff for an evening meal recommendation in the centre of Ubud. Their suggested restaurant was very nice, but all of us (six people) commented that the food in our hotel was better. I dabble in writing so sitting on the balcony in the cool of the morning writing, was pure joy for me. It’s such a magic place that we’ll be back!

Room Tip: Try for rooms 15 or 16, large rooms with a huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    94
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
343
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Our second time here and just as good as before.
Very clean, attentive and friendly staff, rooms spotless and lovely smelling.
Breakfast very good and fresh, great selection.
Allowed 6pm checkout due to late flight out.
Compliments to French owners whom we had the pleasure to meet.
Will come back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in March and was super impressed by this lovely hotel.
It's about 8 mins by car to ubud centre, or about 40 mins walk. Because it's out of the main centre it's very quiet and less touristy- which is what we wanted.
We enjoyed walking into the centre and exploring the streets by foot. The art is plentiful and very enjoyable to look at.
The hotel pool over looks beautiful rice paddies and hearing the sounds of nature was so relaxing. We stayed in a villa, it was large, clean and very comfortable. The large 2 person stone bath was great (and a lot of fun)!!
The hotel restaurant served amazing breakfasts and the people working there were lovely and very attentive.
Overall we couldn't fault this place, and as a couple it met our needs totally (the lack of children was a plus!!!).
We love ubud and would stay again at the kenanga!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CharisAndJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in a room here last november- and it was the best stay of our 2 weeks trip around Bali.
The room and bathroom was amazing- set overlooking worked paddy fields. The breakfast was great- such a choice, and all freshly made for you- whilst you sat overlooking the workers in the distance on the paddys- such a tranquil serene place.
We ate in the hotel most nights and again have NO complaints regarding quality/choice and service.
The staff always happy to see you- greeting you with a smile. We spent time around the pool, - peaceful NO MUSIC! great....we never had to fight for a bed. A nice pool in the heat- with pool side service. We walked around the paddy fields and were met by friendly farmers- and also used the free shuttle down to Ubud town.

I would love to stay here again.
juliee

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

From the beautiful setting, to the tasteful décor of the bungalow, to the sensory experience of the massage overlooking a rice paddy, we wouldn't change a thing. The staff were exceptional, the prices within the hotel exceptionally reasonable, and all the little extras just perfect. Don't forget the "Romantic dinner" set in a private tiny bungalow in the middle of a rice paddy, with three courses of glorious Indonesian food delivered by your private waiter.. Will send all our friends here

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My partner and I stayed in a bungalow room over the Christmas holiday and it is, by far, the best hotel experience we have had (and we are frequent travelers!). Upon arrival, our room wasn't ready due to a blown fuse, but they allowed us to shower in an open room before dinner. After 24 hours of traveling, this was very welcomed! We were able to check into our room a very short time later and it was extremely clean, the design and decor were simple yet beautiful and its location on the rice fields was so peaceful and stunning.

What stuck out to us the most about this hotel was the staff. They were the kindest, warmest and most welcoming people and I couldn't say enough great things about them. They did not hesitate to assist us in booking excursions, happily gave restaurant recommendations and were more than happy to accommodate the shuttle bus service to our schedule. On 2 occassions when we had early morning departures (2am) for excursions, they provided us with a warm, takeway breakfast. Everyone greeted you with a smile and made you feel truly welcomed.

The restaurant has a simple, but delicious menu and everything we tried was flavorful and quite delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnwiesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel was picture perfect. We arrived here after two days in seminyak and it was the total contrast. Calm, serene and truly picturesque. The pictures cannot do enough justice. there is so much greenery to look around. The staff were wonderful and very patient. They had made around ten calls to different spas to book an appointment for us. Breakfast was good and the rooms are lovely. We stayed in room 10 and had the perfect view. Bungalows do not get the direct view though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#26 of 195 in Ubud
195 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#23 of 195 in Ubud
369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 195 in Ubud
690 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathis Retreat

Property: Mathis Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Lungsiakan 56, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Kenanga Boutique Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mathis Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mathis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathis Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing