We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mathis Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mathis Retreat
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Absolutely amazing location, go for a swim in the infinity pool and look out over the wonderful rice fields, take a trip into Ubud or simply unwind in your room, with super comfy bed and great big stone bath tub.

The staff are great, friendly and helpful. The hotel is stunning!

Room Tip: The cottages that look out onto the rice fields are the best I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xoddsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    91
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
101
336
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great atmosphere and environment around, lovely hospitality, great decoration in room and restaurant, we stayed for 3 nights, it was not enough to enjoy the view and hotel, just wanna stay there forever.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

There comes a time when a hotel meets all of ones needs and for me it is Kenanga Boutique Hotel just outside Ubud. We were a party of three couples and after a long flight from Sydney via KL, plus the drive to the hotel, the welcome was very warm and friendly. The rooms are large and airy and my wife and I were fortunate to have room 16, which has its own balcony (very large) overlooking the rice fields. We had booked for five nights and each night’s sleep was peaceful and very restful. I have read very positive comments about the breakfasts and the food in general and I couldn’t agree more – it was all delicious. Forget the buffet breakfast of large hotels, Kananga provides personal service with various choices of food served by very friendly staff. We did ask the staff for an evening meal recommendation in the centre of Ubud. Their suggested restaurant was very nice, but all of us (six people) commented that the food in our hotel was better. I dabble in writing so sitting on the balcony in the cool of the morning writing, was pure joy for me. It’s such a magic place that we’ll be back!

Room Tip: Try for rooms 15 or 16, large rooms with a huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Our second time here and just as good as before.
Very clean, attentive and friendly staff, rooms spotless and lovely smelling.
Breakfast very good and fresh, great selection.
Allowed 6pm checkout due to late flight out.
Compliments to French owners whom we had the pleasure to meet.
Will come back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in March and was super impressed by this lovely hotel.
It's about 8 mins by car to ubud centre, or about 40 mins walk. Because it's out of the main centre it's very quiet and less touristy- which is what we wanted.
We enjoyed walking into the centre and exploring the streets by foot. The art is plentiful and very enjoyable to look at.
The hotel pool over looks beautiful rice paddies and hearing the sounds of nature was so relaxing. We stayed in a villa, it was large, clean and very comfortable. The large 2 person stone bath was great (and a lot of fun)!!
The hotel restaurant served amazing breakfasts and the people working there were lovely and very attentive.
Overall we couldn't fault this place, and as a couple it met our needs totally (the lack of children was a plus!!!).
We love ubud and would stay again at the kenanga!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CharisAndJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in a room here last november- and it was the best stay of our 2 weeks trip around Bali.
The room and bathroom was amazing- set overlooking worked paddy fields. The breakfast was great- such a choice, and all freshly made for you- whilst you sat overlooking the workers in the distance on the paddys- such a tranquil serene place.
We ate in the hotel most nights and again have NO complaints regarding quality/choice and service.
The staff always happy to see you- greeting you with a smile. We spent time around the pool, - peaceful NO MUSIC! great....we never had to fight for a bed. A nice pool in the heat- with pool side service. We walked around the paddy fields and were met by friendly farmers- and also used the free shuttle down to Ubud town.

I would love to stay here again.
juliee

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

From the beautiful setting, to the tasteful décor of the bungalow, to the sensory experience of the massage overlooking a rice paddy, we wouldn't change a thing. The staff were exceptional, the prices within the hotel exceptionally reasonable, and all the little extras just perfect. Don't forget the "Romantic dinner" set in a private tiny bungalow in the middle of a rice paddy, with three courses of glorious Indonesian food delivered by your private waiter.. Will send all our friends here

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.0 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#25 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#22 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathis Retreat

Property: Mathis Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Lungsiakan 56, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Kenanga Boutique Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#23 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mathis Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Mathis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathis Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing