We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful”
Review of Mathis Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mathis Retreat
Ranked #26 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
263 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights in room 9 which was a bungalow on the end of a block of three, behind the pool. The room was huge and beautifully furnished. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The infinity pool is stunning and overlooks the rice fields. The restaurant also benefits from this stunning view, and we found breakfast to be very nice. We had surprisingly little trouble with noise (roosters etc) and managed to sleep through until breakfast every morning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    94
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
108
353
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Kenanga Hotel is a 16-rooms boutique hotel, it has a superb view overlooking at the paddy field from swimming pool or Terracotta restaurant. It was a very enjoyable moment by relaxing there and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The room are very spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom area is large, bath tub is huge with a separated rain shower. There are 2 washing basins available. Bed is big and comfortable for a good night sleep. Terracotta restaurant has a beautiful scenery at night and staff were very helpful, food is not really great though. Kenanga Hotel is located around 10 minutes drive to Ubud town (non traffic jam period). Overall, we have enjoyed our stay and really enjoyed the pool and room. However, it will be great if the front desk staffs can further improve on their English and service. Btw, croissant served at breakfast was really good!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubychan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staying at a kenanga boutique hotel was a refreshing change for us . We enjoyed having our meals at the Teracotta restaurant overlooking the paddy fields . Breakfast was served hot with a "homey" touch from the attentive staff .We were glad that the in-house Balinese massage turned out to be very good which is a must for a holiday in Bali. Providing field trekking in the morning is good and my husband enjoyed this very much. Overall , we are happy with the services except that we hope that kenanga can come up with a little more variety of vegetarian menu to encourage more than a 3days stay for vegetarian guests .
Will certainly come back again!

Room Tip: Choose a villa away from swimming pool if you want to enjoy quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Then staff were friendly, the rooms just gorgeous, bed was comfy (not too hard like many hotels in Bali), the staff are mostly friendly and their breakfast esp the pancakes and noodles stood out. The pool view is what holidays are made of! The tea time service was a treat!

The only thing was, it's a bit out of the main area (which is fine) but their shuttle only runs hourly and pick up and drop off at one venue only. Plus it stops at 5pm. Rather unfriendly compared to many of the Ubud villa type hotels in Ubud, I hope they change this before I head back there in a year or two.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ze_succubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for couple of days and I have to say it was a great choice. You can overlook the rice fields from the restaurant and pool. For me the restaurant, the nice view and the nicely designed rooms were outstanding.

Pro:
+ nice rooms
+ excellent service
+ free shuttle bus to the city
+ free bicycles
+ excellent breakfast with quality food

But in every hotel there are some areas to improve:

- sometimes the room smelled a bit moldy
- one evening I could here the TV from the neighbor room, what was quite noisy

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have stayed in a few hotels in Bali, but none as nice as this one! When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff and when we were shown to our room, we were blown away!!!! I thought we had entered something out of a Home Beautiful magazine. Absolute luxury, the bath, wow! Everything was perfect. We then went to the Terracotta for dinner, returning to find our bed had been turned down and curtains etc closed. What a wonderful little touch. We found the pool superb and even though the rice fields were being harvested the view is magnificent! The staff can not do enough for you and the spa was another magic moment. We stayed 4 nights but wish we had stayed longer......next time!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1,2,3. Use the free shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Absolutely amazing location, go for a swim in the infinity pool and look out over the wonderful rice fields, take a trip into Ubud or simply unwind in your room, with super comfy bed and great big stone bath tub.

The staff are great, friendly and helpful. The hotel is stunning!

Room Tip: The cottages that look out onto the rice fields are the best I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xoddsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#23 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.1 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathis Retreat

Property: Mathis Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Lungsiakan 56, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Kenanga Boutique Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mathis Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mathis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathis Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing