We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat in Obud”
Review of Mathis Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mathis Retreat
Ranked #34 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Great bungalows with a beautiful infinity pool and restaurant/bar looking out on the paddy fields. We absolutely loved staying here, it's about 5 mins drive to the centre of Obud but we thought it was worth it for the peace and quiet. They have free shuttles going into the town and one evening we organised a taxi.
Would def recommend staying here, we had a wonderful relaxing few days.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Mathis Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

My girlfriend booked this place for 2 nights in July, 2012. The hotel had literally just been opened and everything was new and clean. We could not believe our luck. The rooms are big and so are the bathrooms. We had a Kananga Room which was left of the pool as you look out over the rice field. Staff and food were great. It is a 10 minute taxi out of town but that is just something to be aware of. I would stay there again without hesitation! Very relaxing. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Oo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Kenanga hotel has just few villas (big rooms with terrace) and rooms. We stayed in a villa room which looks fairly like the pictures on the website. It is very big, like 40m2, plus a huge beautiful bathroom with bathtube and shower and 2 sinks behind a white curtain. Not much furniture but well arranged. The only negative aspect is that there is no view at all, and not much day light in the room but you can have a certain privacy thanks to the trees. The pool is beautiful and the view is just unique over the rice fields. The restaurant next to the pool offers good quality Indonesian and Italian cuisine. the breakfast is generous and with a lot of choice between bread basket, different eggs, rice or noodles, yogurt with muesli, fruits, etc.
The spa is simple very charming as it is totallu open over the ricefields, you get a massage with view! Regarding the location, it is not in the busy and hectic Ubud center, but just 10 minutes away by motorbike. Ubud gets busy, noisy with a lot of traffic jam and tourists, this is a good option to relax.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Xuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Arriving at Kenang after 90 minutes drive from the airport catapults you into a different world.
Lovely reception team gives you a warm welcome and then - just a few steps further you reach paradise.
a) the restaurant terra cotta with excellent local and international dishes - but nothing over the top.fantastic wine selection - the house wine white and red is good!
b) the view - an incredible view over rice fields.
c) wonderful restaurant team - fast, very service oriented - would love to find same teams in Singaporian restaurants...

We had a comfortable room next to the rice fields and enjoyed the morning view.
The whole little resort has been beautifully integrated into nature and has a good distance from the bustle of Ubud center.
A little tip to the management - ask the teams who clean the other rooms - if it is early morning to be a little bit more silent as sometimes on a holiday you want to sleep in...just if they clean next doors room before 8am;-)
We are very soon back!Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed 2 night here as a couple and it was most certainly the nicest most relaxing place we stayed at out of 7 hotels/villas in Bali we could not recommend it enough for a couple wanting to get away from it all. Staff and menu are great pool is brilliant. The rooms are also very romantic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amber N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have spent 5 days in the Kenanga Hotel in Ubud. The location is very beautiful and the hotel is run in an excellent way. Everything was perfect. We enjoyed our holiday in Ubud very much.
Elisabetta and Claudio

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elisabettahoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for the nights - its a wonderful place. The staff is very nice and helpful and location unique. The restaurant is also very good. The place is roughly 15 minutes away from Ubud center (with the car) but the hotel provides a shuttle service so no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#7 of 199 in Ubud
360 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.2 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#24 of 199 in Ubud
405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#21 of 199 in Ubud
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathis Retreat

Address: Jl. Raya Lungsiakan 56, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Kenanga Boutique Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#28 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £87 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mathis Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mathis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathis Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing