We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Nirvana Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nirvana Pension
Ranked #168 of 585 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 8 November 2012

A great place to stay in a great city. It is really beautifully done, had my own little balcony, clean, the owners are very friendly and helpful. They organised a day trip and a bus for me. Nice breakfast, very nice homey atmosphere. Highly recommend staying here. And a very good location as it's central but in a quiet side street. 240 Rupia a night so good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Nirvana Pension
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

From the first moment when Wayan picked us up at the airport we knew our stay was going to be nice. The room was very nice with comfortable beds, clean bathroom, hot water and a nice balcony! Fresh towels provided everyday if needed. We stayed 2 weeks and got our room cleaned every 4 days or so.
Breakfast was very tasty with choice of tea or coffee, fresh fruit and choice of eggs with toast, banana "pancake", Balinese cake or rice dish. We tried them all during our stay.
Everyone was friendly here, offered the perfect information. It felt like home away from home. We also arranged 3 different tours with Wayan. Highly recommend it! He's nice and it feels like he's your friend and not like a tour guide.
They have 3 friendly small dogs! I even saw them having a bath. Very cute.
I will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lulubee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Beautiful homestay. The moment you walk through the gate you are greeted by Ganesha - remover of all obstacles. Upon turning the corner, you find the owner Nyoman - who removes any other obstacles you may find during your stay! Nyoman is the bearer of all knowledge about Ubud. Having lived in Australia for many years, his English is flawless - almost as good as his tips on where to eat! His wife Rai is gracious and friendly.
This is a traditional homestay - if you want "western hotel style" privacy and quiet, this is not the place for you. Although not noisy by any stretch, you are still aware of most noises throughout the gardens - which I mostly liked. There are only fans in the rooms. This was sufficient for us, but in the hotter months I think it could be a bit of a struggle.
It would be difficult to find somewhere as spotlessly clean as the rooms here and there is a lovely peaceful energy about the place. The rooms are not large, but are comfortable, and great value for money at the price.
If you stay here, I highly recommend hiring their driver Wayan. He is very knowledgable and possibly may take you to some genuine "local" spots.
The location is spot on - in the centre of town without the noise and hustle and bustle. Some of the best places to eat and shop are on Jalan Gautama.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drkel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Nirvana Pension. Nyoman, Rai and all made us feel like family, they provided much insight into Balinese culture, made us feel comfortable as though we were guests in their home and provided many local contacts. Everyone they suggested was wonderful, especially our driver who helped me buy three large stone statues and ship them back to Los Angeles. The best part of that day was seeing the look on the face of the merchant when Wayan, the driver, handed the kickback sales commission to me after I had bargained for my best deal!! Priceless......

My wife took a batik class with Nyoman and made a beautiful artwork which we have framed and hung in our home where it always gets compliments from guests. He truly brought out a hidden talent in her that totally amazed us both.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This IS Nirvana. The guest house is lovely and tranquil, the staff warm and wonderful, and the owners, Pak Nyoman Suradyna and his wife Ibu Rai Rupini are most gracious. Mornings start off with the gentle sound of brooms sweeping the walkways accompanied by the birds chirping and roosters crowing. Breakfast is served in the dining area where you're surrounded by oil and watercolors done by Nyom...an. Available are classes in the traditional methods of making batiks, and before you know it, you have produced a piece you can proudly have framed and displayed...even if you are "not an artist". The grounds are beautiful and the attention to detail apparent everywhere. The offerings for the day are carefully and gracefully placed along with incense throughout the property. This is a very special place, one which will become your Bali home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I have been coming to Nirvana for many years and am always welcomed back by the hosts, Nyoman and Rai, like a long lost cousin. I can recommend this place without hesitation. Nyoman is a well known artist with several international exhibitions to his credit and runs painting and batik classes in his studio at Nirvana. His wife Rai is a gracious host who keeps the place as clean as a new pin while attending to the ceremonial life of the family. They have six rooms available and the location though on busy Jalan Gautama (Eat Street) is set back from the street and therefore is blissfully quiet. They are very helpful with suggestions about what to see and where to go while their driver Wayan will take you wherever you want to go including airport pickup.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed for several weeks at beautiful Nirvana Pension. The location Jl Goutama is ideal for investigating Ubud on foot close and is close to the Palace Galleries and numerious restaurants.

The Hotel itself is small the family and staff friendly and knowlegable. The rooms offer balconys overlooking beautiful gardens. Ria contunues with the mornig blessings as hotel guests are served breakfast in the dinning area amongst Noymans many paintings which portray daily life in Bali. Noyman offers classes in Batik in a relaxed and beautiful setting in an open air Gallery.

Wayan our local driver will help you plan your personailized tour and tells me he loves his job always with a wide and happy grin.

Ria also has a Gallery at Nirvana offering for sale an extensive collection of hand woven textiles from Bali and the various islands surrounding Bali,sarongs, puppets, and antiques are also availiable.

I loved being at Nirvana and hope to return soon..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferRowlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#155 of 199 in Ubud
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudiana House
Sudiana House
#19 of 604 in Ubud
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sayong House
Sayong House
#119 of 604 in Ubud
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dewangga Bungalow
Dewangga Bungalow
#40 of 604 in Ubud
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raka House
Raka House
#408 of 604 in Ubud
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Pension

Address: Jalan Gautama 10 | Padangtegal Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 585 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nirvana Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Pension Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing