We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet home stay in the heart of Ubud”
Review of Nirvana Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nirvana Pension
Ranked #168 of 585 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at Nirvana Pension. I called a day before we arrived and arrange with Rai to stay in a fan-only room for 350,000 rupiah a night; a bit more than we were expecting to pay for low season, but when we arrived, we realized how well worth it was. We had a nice room downstairs that had a lovely little garden and patio out in front. Decor is nice, bed was a comfy four poster queen with mosquito netting. Bathroom was a comfortably sized wet bathroom with hot water 24/7. Breakfasts were delicious-- I recommend the Balinese cake, which you have to request a day in advance. The fresh fruit salad was also a favorite.

The family we stayed with was very kind and helpful. The dogs that live there are very cute and friendly, if not a little shy. Wayan, who we met over breakfast the first day, was very helpful in arranging for us to go to the Monkey forest, see one of the best Balinese dance performances we saw during our stay, as well as arrange for a shuttle/ferry to Gili Trawangan, our next destination.

We loved the location of this place, too-- it's tucked off a main road along a small alley, so even though it is in the heart of Ubud, it is a quiet, relaxing spot. Plenty of lovely massage places nearby, delicious restaurants, and big attractions like the palace and market are less than ten minutes walking away. So all in all, while we paid a bit more than we were hoping to, the convenient location, service, and breakfast made it totally worth it. We already want to come back to Ubud; if we do, this place will definitely be our go-to again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulustar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Nirvana Pension
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

this place is run by a lovely family.
very hospitable and we really enjoyed our stay, off a quiet road in Ubud.
breakfast could have been better, but that's something we'd say for most places we stayed in Bali...
lovely surroundings, the dogs are not a problem at all and the pension arranged for a great driver to take us on to Munduk.
would recommend! :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

If I could give more than 5 stars I most certainly would. Firstly, the accommodation offered a pick up service from Denpasar Airport - a godsend due to our late flight. Costs the same as a taxi would without queuing and right to the door. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms are basic but spacious, functional and warm water. Nice little porch to sit out. But the whole place is a sanctuary and abosolutely delightful - an oasis of calm, filled with ponds, foliage and small shrines. Yes they have three little (jack Russell sized) dogs but they did not even acknowledge let alone bother us and any yapping was infrequent and short, only In The day time around feeding time. Breakfast us straightforward - tea/coffee, fresh fruit, toast. Wayan, offers private tours which are good value - especially as he is a knowledgable and sympathic guide. He will take you to what you want to see. He can also provide maps for walking. We got laundry done through the hostel and it came back impeccable.

Everyone at Nirvana was welcoming and friendly and interested in what you were up to. But they came into their own when on the day we were due to leave, my fiancé was taken suddenly ill. Luckily is was just dehydration from D&V and the medical centre was well equipped, but the guys from Nirvana called the doctor, drove us there, Wayan came back later to check in us, then picked us up when discharged. The hostel told us we could have our room for an extra night, and even contacted the transport provider we booked our tickets to Gili with to let them know we were at the hospital and not travelling, securing us tickets for the following day. Amazing service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngharadChard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The family who runs this place here is nice. Location is great and quiet. However we paid 350,000 Rps for a very average room. The room was ok but the bathroom was old and dirty. The sink has no draining pipe. We were supposed to have hot water 24/24... but unfortunately not in the morning.
Breakfast was ok, but beware of their very unfriendly 3 dogs who will keep on barking at you.

We left on the next day and find a much better hotel with swimming pool and real hot water (for less!) on Monkey road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigettex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed three nights, the owners are very nice and had great recommendations of where to go in ubud. The breakfast is great and made it easy to meet people. It is right in the centre of ubud, but down a side street so is quiet and tranquil. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in April. The room I had on the first floor opposite the dining room was really nice. Clean & big balcony. The owners were also friendly. It is a good place to meet people, especially during breakfast. The only 2 things that made my stay less nice are: the 3 dogs. They just kept on barking to everybody. Also at night. And be reminded that if you stay at the first floor appartment opposite the kitchen, that there is no real wall between the 2 rooms. It is just a woodboard and open at the ceiling. Location is great. Tip: do go hiking at sunset into the rice paddies and return before breakfast. Great to see Ubud waking up.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandrafromamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Nirvana Pension is a beautiful place to stay. All of the rooms are clean and comfortable and look out into the family courtyard that is full of beautiful flowers and a bird or two. Rai and Nyoman were very welcoming and helpful. It is in a central yet quiet location of Ubud. Near all of the shops and restaurants but not noisy. I highly recomend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#155 of 199 in Ubud
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudiana House
Sudiana House
#19 of 604 in Ubud
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sayong House
Sayong House
#119 of 604 in Ubud
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dewangga Bungalow
Dewangga Bungalow
#40 of 604 in Ubud
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raka House
Raka House
#408 of 604 in Ubud
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Pension

Address: Jalan Gautama 10 | Padangtegal Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 585 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nirvana Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Pension Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing