We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best homestay ever”
Review of Nirvana Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nirvana Pension
Ranked #172 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“best homestay ever”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I travelled here with a group and it was the best place to stay. So welcoming and so homely. It is not flash five star accommodation but it is beautiful, safe and friendly. Two minutes from the heart of Ubud. Want a terrific massage? Get your toe nails done? Ask Rai. Want to learn batik? How to learn to make the "offerings"? Ask Rai....and you can trust everything she says. Best coffee in the world if you want to wake up and smell the flowers. Gotta love the whole experience and try the 'bali cakes' breakfast YUM They can also provide airport pick up, meals and excursions

Room Tip: some rooms have air con. However I prefer not to have air-con and to have just a fan so you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    13
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
15
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed by very friendly staff who showed us to our room. We only had a standard room with a fan, but it had a lovely view of Nirvana Pension. We had a hot shower too. We were offered a decent breakfast in the mornings and met a very friendly tour guide called Wayan who we arranged with to show us around in Bali.

If you only need a place to sleep with a hot shower in central Ubud then this is the place to be, the place is artistically decorated and close to everything. There's several great restaurants in the area and the people of nirvana would be willing to help you arrange anything, from touring to fire dances!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at Nirvana Pension. I called a day before we arrived and arrange with Rai to stay in a fan-only room for 350,000 rupiah a night; a bit more than we were expecting to pay for low season, but when we arrived, we realized how well worth it was. We had a nice room downstairs that had a lovely little garden and patio out in front. Decor is nice, bed was a comfy four poster queen with mosquito netting. Bathroom was a comfortably sized wet bathroom with hot water 24/7. Breakfasts were delicious-- I recommend the Balinese cake, which you have to request a day in advance. The fresh fruit salad was also a favorite.

The family we stayed with was very kind and helpful. The dogs that live there are very cute and friendly, if not a little shy. Wayan, who we met over breakfast the first day, was very helpful in arranging for us to go to the Monkey forest, see one of the best Balinese dance performances we saw during our stay, as well as arrange for a shuttle/ferry to Gili Trawangan, our next destination.

We loved the location of this place, too-- it's tucked off a main road along a small alley, so even though it is in the heart of Ubud, it is a quiet, relaxing spot. Plenty of lovely massage places nearby, delicious restaurants, and big attractions like the palace and market are less than ten minutes walking away. So all in all, while we paid a bit more than we were hoping to, the convenient location, service, and breakfast made it totally worth it. We already want to come back to Ubud; if we do, this place will definitely be our go-to again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulustar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

this place is run by a lovely family.
very hospitable and we really enjoyed our stay, off a quiet road in Ubud.
breakfast could have been better, but that's something we'd say for most places we stayed in Bali...
lovely surroundings, the dogs are not a problem at all and the pension arranged for a great driver to take us on to Munduk.
would recommend! :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

If I could give more than 5 stars I most certainly would. Firstly, the accommodation offered a pick up service from Denpasar Airport - a godsend due to our late flight. Costs the same as a taxi would without queuing and right to the door. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms are basic but spacious, functional and warm water. Nice little porch to sit out. But the whole place is a sanctuary and abosolutely delightful - an oasis of calm, filled with ponds, foliage and small shrines. Yes they have three little (jack Russell sized) dogs but they did not even acknowledge let alone bother us and any yapping was infrequent and short, only In The day time around feeding time. Breakfast us straightforward - tea/coffee, fresh fruit, toast. Wayan, offers private tours which are good value - especially as he is a knowledgable and sympathic guide. He will take you to what you want to see. He can also provide maps for walking. We got laundry done through the hostel and it came back impeccable.

Everyone at Nirvana was welcoming and friendly and interested in what you were up to. But they came into their own when on the day we were due to leave, my fiancé was taken suddenly ill. Luckily is was just dehydration from D&V and the medical centre was well equipped, but the guys from Nirvana called the doctor, drove us there, Wayan came back later to check in us, then picked us up when discharged. The hostel told us we could have our room for an extra night, and even contacted the transport provider we booked our tickets to Gili with to let them know we were at the hospital and not travelling, securing us tickets for the following day. Amazing service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngharadChard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The family who runs this place here is nice. Location is great and quiet. However we paid 350,000 Rps for a very average room. The room was ok but the bathroom was old and dirty. The sink has no draining pipe. We were supposed to have hot water 24/24... but unfortunately not in the morning.
Breakfast was ok, but beware of their very unfriendly 3 dogs who will keep on barking at you.

We left on the next day and find a much better hotel with swimming pool and real hot water (for less!) on Monkey road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigettex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed three nights, the owners are very nice and had great recommendations of where to go in ubud. The breakfast is great and made it easy to meet people. It is right in the centre of ubud, but down a side street so is quiet and tranquil. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#138 of 198 in Ubud
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#104 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayong House
Sayong House
#113 of 555 in Ubud
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Budi House Bungalows
Budi House Bungalows
#192 of 542 in Ubud
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Purnama House
Purnama House
#198 of 542 in Ubud
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dewangga Bungalow
Dewangga Bungalow
#27 of 555 in Ubud
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Pension

Property: Nirvana Pension
Address: Jalan Gautama 10 | Padangtegal Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Nirvana Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Pension Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing