We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really depends on your room - they are all different”
Review of Nick's Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nick's Pension
Ranked #70 of 585 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I couldn't figure out why this place had ratings all over the place until I arrived. It's like 4 different hotels all down one street. You can tell they have purchased or built hotels and sorta mushed them together. The location is pretty decent for your walk to town. The room we stayed in was OK. Probably decent for the price ($45/US) but not great. The bed was just ok and the shower sucked. I hate the Asian showers that just get the entire bathroom soaking wet. Build a reservoir already. Anyway, not a disaster but nothing romantic or great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tmo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Day, Owner at Nick's Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.

We have taken note of your comment regarding quality of Breakfast as well as the staff service.
We will most definitely look into your comment to our improvement in future to ensure good quality product and services given to all of our costumer.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Nick's Pension
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

For a little over 10 pounds a night, we could not ask for anymore.
Beautiful location, central to all the 'action' yet in its own private gardens with a beautiful stream running through and a large paddy field close to the pool area. Incredibly picturesque and felt very Balinese, in design.
Our room was fan only but clean, well-maintained and for the price, we could not complain.
Delicious breakfast and good choice too.
Friendly and helpful staff, if a little pushy.
All in all, for value for money, I would be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieepsomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Day, Owner at Nick's Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.


We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights, in a double room. It was terrible and I would not go back. No idea how it gets a good trip advisor rating. Some points:
No hot water available in bathroom
No aircon (as advertised, some rooms did, but not ours)
No fly screens - so you cannot open windows for fresh air.
Ants in bathroom
Dust in corners/top of shelves, etc, and seems thorough cleaning not done regularly
Definitely felt old, worn, and tired.

When we stayed the pool area was under construction and so you could use it only if you wanted to listen to noisy construction. This really should be noted when booking.

The included breakfast was ok, it was 2eggs and two pieces of toast. Or the noodle option was a small plate of noodles.

Maybe if it was half the price I would expect this, but we were disappointed with this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_www
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Day, Owner at Nick's Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.

We have taken note of your comment regarding for the our room quality and based on your reservation you are book fan room, so we put based on your reservation and you are not mention to upgrade your room to be Air conditioning room.

We will most definitely look into your comment to our improvement in future to ensure good quality product and services given to all of our costumer.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Nick's Pension was hard to find but it was worth it. The rooms are surrounded by nice gardens and a small river. It's very clean and the employees were helpfull regarding our needs. The bathroom was disapointing : just a bath and no real shower. The included breakfast was good and there are many choices of what to eat. Overall, it was nice but a little expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willyfortin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Day, Owner at Nick's Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.


We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We have been staying in Nick´s Pension several times and we have loved it! Beautiful and quite settings! Clean and comfortable rooms! The food is very good at the nice restaurant! The staff has become like family to us! We can highly recommend this fantastic hotel in Ubud.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thea132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Day, Owner at Nick's Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.


We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Everything was great! Rooms had a big size, Toilets were clean, good shower.
Friendly Staff, great location! Good breakfast as well. I would definitively stay there again. The only problem was laundry ...they give us other person stuff...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunaMagalhaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Day, Owner at Nick's Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.


We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

It was a little bit more of what we expected of a budget hotel. The room was just the right size and comfortable; cleaned daily, bed linen and towels were changed daily. Front desk service was relatively okay. We liked their pancake and bread breakfasts. They could improve on their Indonesian breakfast. Location fits in the middle; walking distance to shops, art galeries, restaurants, cultural shows, Monkey Forest and Ubud market.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.2 mi away
Nick's Hidden Cottages
Nick's Hidden Cottages
#14 of 604 in Ubud
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kama Bisma Cottage
Kama Bisma Cottage
#51 of 585 in Ubud
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#12 of 604 in Ubud
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bucu View Bungalows
Bucu View Bungalows
#65 of 585 in Ubud
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#27 of 604 in Ubud
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Pension

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 585 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £28 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nick's Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are entering a place of beauty, peace and comfort. Ubud, the centre of art and culture of Bali welcomes you, and for complete experience we invite you come to Nick's Pension. A great deal in the middle of Ubud Just off Monkey Forest Road in Ubud. Around 10 minutes walk to Ubud Center / Market. Approximately one hours drive from Bali International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Zenrooms, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nick's Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Pension Hotel Ubud
Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing