We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly home stay - a fantastic experience”
Review of Eka's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eka's Homestay
Ranked #394 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I chose to stay at this stunning guesthouse for one week and could not have been happier with my experience.

A true Balinese home run by a very welcoming family who are all full of smiles and happy to offer advice on things to do and places to see. My room was very spacious with a ceiling fan, huge double bed, basic en-suite bathroom and garden views. Free breakfast is offered each morning - choose from pancakes, an omelette or fried eggs on toast. All are accompanied with hot Balinese coffee and a fresh, seasonal fruit salad.

The location is fantastic - just a minute's walk away from one of Ubud's busiest streets where the main market is located - and within comfortable walking distance of Monkey Forest, Ubud Palace and other places of interest. Not to mention all of the fantastic warungs, art galleries and spas...

I genuinely had a fantastic time and could not recommend Eka's Homestay more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Ekas place is in a bustling part of Ubud, so it's very easy to walk to all the sites from here. The rooms are not particularly noisy though. It's a nice experience staying in a family compound and gives a great insight into typical Balinese family life. Rooms are no frills, which is reflected in the price. The owner plays in a gamelan orchestra and its definitely worth going to watch him playing at the Barong dance show at the palace. By accident my husband left his mobile behind and the family kept it for us until we came back 10 days later. Very trustworthy and genuinely kind people. Notice that one reviewer mentioned rats- there are rats all over Bali wherever u stay, particularly if its near rice paddies so I wouldn't let this put you off. At least it wasn't snakes!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleygracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My experience in this hotel was the worst I could had. At a first glance it looks nice, with a beautiful balinese entrance. But when you get inside you start to realize what a trick! I had to ask to see 3 differents rooms until I could find the less worst. The walls have mold on it, the matress old, and the bathroom is old and really dirty.
But the worst thing comes now. I was at a public area beside the kitchen, in the daylight, when I saw 6 rats ( yes 6, I counted) walking freely inside and around the kitchen. I pointed the rats to the owner and she said is normal and they are all around the town.!!!!!!!!!
It was my worst experience in a homestay.

Room Tip: If you really want to be there, at least choose the rooms at the end of the garden. They are far fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiestGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed here in a double bed room with fan. We don't like AC so far is ideal for us. Very, very clean accommodation. Hot water is hot, but don't compare it to the efficiency of western showers. Bed was big.

Host is always smiling and helpful. Beautiful, well kept housing compound. Host will help you find deals around town for tours, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsgfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This place is so nice. You have the opportunity to sleep around a temple, so special.
The owner and the staff are amazing people, nice and kind.

The breakfast is insane, one of the best ones in Asia, for sure!

They have 2 kinds of rooms, the old ones and the new ones. We stayed in the old ones, very clean but the new ones are much better.

The bad point is that the roof is made of bamboo so you can hear perfectly each kind of sound from your neighbor, even if they whisper. Don't forget your earplugs!

Room Tip: Look for the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Roberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jasperina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.5 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
1.5 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka's Homestay

Address: Jalan Sridewari 8, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £7 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Eka's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eka's Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing