We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exclusive enough for a luxury villa”
Review of Luwak Ubud Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luwak Ubud Villas
Ranked #27 of 609 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked seven villas for our company trip for 3 nights. The villas are rather well designed and had its Balinese feel to it. The staff were also friendly and pleasant.

However we were shocked to find out that the manager allowed several backpackers to use the common swimming pool for two days in a row (just because they came and had breakfast there!). We highlighted this issue to the Manager Mr Edi as we were checking out. And he informed that this is a common policy with other hotels in Bali, and this is really surprising as we thought it surely does not contribute to the exclusivity of the hotel.

We were earlier informed that we were the only occupants during the 3-night stay, thus we were shocked when the manager allowed this.

We also felt that the breakfast spread was also not good enough, not many choices of food for the villas 4-star rating standard.

Overall we were quite dissapointed as we had spent a lot of money for the stay, and it surely didn't quite match our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edi A, Manager at Luwak Ubud Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Hazee83,

Warmest greeting from the beauty of Luwak Ubud Villa,

On behalf of Luwak Management, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Luwak Ubud Villa.

According to your comment and review, we are most concern that you have left with such a negative feeling about Luwak Ubud Villa and we sincerely regret to hear this kind of review.

Our villa regulation allowed all customer to come over to enjoy our public facilities as long as the villa is not in FULL BOARD contract. I do believe all the Hotel and Villa in Bali they doing the same regulation as we are in hospitality industry. We will discuss with the management regarding your concern, as our endless commitment to always improve our services, facilities and guest satisfaction to be on our top priority. As apart of Luwak Ubud Villa standard service and also the value of Luwak Ubud Villa key behavior, it is clear that our intention is to provide our sincere and high standard of service to all of our valued guest.

We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to meet you again to deliver a better experience to come.


Kind regards,

Gede Edi Artana
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean room, perfect pest control, tasty breakfast, free shattle service and warm-hearted service from the staff. We left the villa with great happiness.
If I dare to say as suggestion, the front door lock of our room was not working well and we felt a bit unsecured about it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasaJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edi A, Manager at Luwak Ubud Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear masaJakarta,

Greetings from the beauty of Luwak Ubud Villa!

Thank you very much for taking the time to pen this great review. We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service, hence to receive comments such as yours is so motivating.

I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your relaxing stay, furthermore you love our villa design and the services has been provided. I do apologize for inconvenient of Villa door, and the door has been fixed already.

Once again, thank you so much for your beautiful review and for recommending Luwak Ubud Villa to all readers, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Gede Edi Artana
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is my first trip in Bali and my stay with Luwak Ubud Villas made me wanna return to this beautiful island again! The moment I stepped into the villas, my family and I were welcomed by the staff and showed us the 2 bedroom villas for the next 3 nights. The moment we stepped into the villa, I was excited to see the private pool and outdoor kitchen. The butler named Chalk (Not sure if I got his name spelled correctly), he explained the hotel facilities well and asked if we have any plans for the next 3 days. He has shown great enthusiasm and passion in his work and make sure that we are well accommodated.

The master room itself was huge, with an outdoor bathroom, with shower head and bathtub sitting on top of a fish pond (they even prepared fish food for the kois!) One flaw is that the master bedroom main door is sort of defective and I need to push and hold the door while my boyfriend to lock the door. Other than that, everything is great!

The breakfast is delicious, strongly recommend nasi goreng! The banana crepe is crispy on the outside and soft in the inside!

If you would like to experience the nature and away from the crowd, Luwak Ubud Villas is an ideal choice with free shuttle bus in ubud area from 10-8pm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ai Hwa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edi A, Manager at Luwak Ubud Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Ai Hwa G,

Greetings from the beauty of Luwak Ubud Villa!

Thank you very much for taking the time write this wonderful review. We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your relaxing holiday in our villa.

We are planing to block some villa on the first week of June for maintenance to give better quality of services and improve the quality of accommodation and we hope next time when you come back to Luwak Ubud Villa will feel perfect holiday during in Bali.

Once again, thank you very much for recommendation to stay in Luwak Ubud Villa and we look forward to having you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Gede Edi Artana
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What can I say about Luwak Ubud Villas? From the outset, the staff were amazing. Warm, pleasant, courteous, polite...so friendly and helpful. I cannot possibly speak highly enough of the team.

Our villas were beautifully decorated, airy and spacious, perfect as a place to relax and as a base for exploring Ubud and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPop58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edi A, Manager at Luwak Ubud Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear GPop58,

Greetings from the beauty of Luwak Ubud Villa!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review which I am sure will inspire other travelers to consider staying at Luwak Ubud Villa.

It is a pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoy you holiday, especially the villa ambiance and the services has been provided.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in Luwak Ubud Villa and love to come back again on your next visit in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Gede Edi Artana
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had one of the best girls trip thanks to all the great experiences and services we received from all staff in Luwak Ubud Villa.
Great service, fantastic accomodation and the breakfast is so yummy!!
We love it and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ming K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edi A, Manager at Luwak Ubud Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Ming K,

Greetings from the beauty of Luwak Ubud Villa!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review which I am sure will inspire other travelers to consider staying at Luwak Ubud Villa.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoy our room, design, our cuisine and particularly our service that you found it friendly and helpful. We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service, hence to receive comments such as your is so motivating.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in Luwak Ubud Villa and love to come back again on your next visit in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Gede Edi Artana
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had the two bedroom villa to the back of the hotel overlooking the river gorge. We would recommend these rooms because they are away from the road.

The accommodation was very nicely laid out and well furnished. The external bathroom was massive with a stand alone bath over a fish pool! The air-conditioning was the quietest we have ever experienced and perfectly controlled for sleeping.

The villa had its own pool, which was sufficiently large to be able to swim comfortably in it. The main pool was also well-designed.

You have a choice of breakfast in the restaurant or your room each morning, but you have to order what you want the previous night. The breakfast was sufficient and typical of the breakfasts we had elsewhere.

Luwak Villas provide a useful courtesy car service to run you into Ubud and back, which runs up until 10pm at night. We ate all our other meals in Ubud, so cannot comment on the catering at the Villas. Any way, Ubud has some great restaurants catering for all tastes.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, solving minor problems very quickly.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend Luwak Villas for a stylish, well-provisioned accomodation in a quiet location, slightly out of the Ubud centre.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river gorge are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stevedennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edi A, Manager at Luwak Ubud Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Stevedennis,

Greetings from the beauty of Luwak Ubud Villa!

Thank you very much for taking the time to pen this great review. We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service, hence to receive comments such as yours is so motivating.

I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your relaxing stay, furthermore you love our villa design and the services has been provided.

Once again, thank you so much for your beautiful review and for recommending Luwak Ubud Villa to all readres, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Gede Edi Artana
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the 2-bedroom garden pool villa for 3 nights and had a wonderful time at Luwak Ubud! The villa was gorgeous and the staff were friendly and provided great services. It was heavenly to be able to jump into our private pool and have all our food brought to our patio after a hot day at the ubud market.

Also thanks to one of the butlers who was very patient and drove us around to look for paintings after our half-day tour (even though we've already exceeded the allocated time).

Overall, a fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Villa 401-402 (the 2-bedroom garden pool villa) was near to the front lobby and suitable for those w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cloudydayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edi A, Manager at Luwak Ubud Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Cloudydayz,

Greetings from serene ubud!

I really appreciate that you have taken sometime to write this great review about our villa. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful and enjoyable stay in our villa.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service and it is proven as you have experienced that our staff went extra miles to attain your request.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Luwak Ubud Villa.

Kind regards,

Gede Edi Artana
Operation Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.7 mi away
Dedary Kriyamaha Ubud
Dedary Kriyamaha Ubud
#15 of 609 in Ubud
290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ubud Padi Villas
Ubud Padi Villas
#28 of 609 in Ubud
352 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dwaraka The Royal Villas
2.4 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
145 reviews
2.8 mi away
Purana Boutique Resort
Purana Boutique Resort
#10 of 609 in Ubud
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luwak Ubud Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luwak Ubud Villas

Address: Jl Sri Wedari 9, Tegal Lantang-Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 609 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £86 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luwak Ubud Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique resort Luwak Ubud Villas in Bali is located at one of the prime spots on the island. Five spacious luxury pool villas of 1 - 3 bedrooms are elegantly arranged on a cliff top overlooking a tropical ravine, just 1 kilometre from the heart of Ubud. Famed for its arts and culture, Ubud has established itself as one of the most desirable destinations on the world's most beautiful island. Featuring a singular concept restaurant, Cafe Luwak, top of the line amenities and the understated, highly personalized service that signals genuine luxury, Luwak Ubud Villas is more than just an exclusive resort - it is a unique experience. Luwak Ubud Villas offers a select portfolio of activities and entertainment both in resort, around Ubud and throughout Bali. Luwak Ubud defines the contemporary luxury Ubud lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luwak Ubud Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luwak Ubud Villas Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing