We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best coffee in Ubud... Probably.”
Review of Cafe Vespa

Cafe Vespa
Ranked #115 of 768 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Description: In December 2011, after the renovation of a disused picture gallery in the small village of Penestanan Kaja, near Ubud, Bali, Cafe Vespa opened its doors to the general public.The space could be described as small, unintimidating and relaxing, with friendly and efficient staff. Our in-house bakery provides fresh bread, croissants and cakes, with the kitchen also cooking up a varied breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. Cafe Vespa prides itself, in what we believe to be one of the best coffees in Bali. We describe it as a velvety, full-bodied, artisan style coffee, prevalent in cafes from London to Australia.Our own 100% Arabica blend of Indonesian Toraja, Aceh Gao and Bali Kintamani is roasted to our specifications and delivered freshly roasted to us each week. For additional freshness each cup is freshly ground and served with the best quality milk.For those who do not do coffee, Vespa also has one of the best choices of teas, both healthy and classic.For the fruit and veggie drinkers there's a great range of sugar and ice-free juices.From a cultural standpoint Cafe Vespa not only provides great food and beverages but also serves as a centre for social interaction: the cafe gives visitors a place to congregate, talk, write, read, entertain one another, or pass the time on an ipad. The WiFi is also pretty good.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“The best coffee in Ubud... Probably.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I am delighted that we took the time to find Cafe Vespa! We went in search of great coffee and found not only the great coffee we were looking for, but also a relaxed and welcoming cafe with a rich and varied menu of delicious fresh food.

With reliable free wi-fi, friendly attentive staff, and a real community spirit to the place, it is quite possible to lose hours of time relaxing at this cafe that is close enough to Ubud to be convenient, but far enough away to give you the breathing space that you need.

I will go back, and if you go there, you'll go back too, of that I am quite sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    105
    24
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reasonable dinner & great breakfast”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had dinner here last Thursday night. They were out of the first three dishes I requested which was disappointing. Ended up with the Ayurevedic plate - a so so coconut dish, soupy bland dhal, average chapati and rice. It was an alright meal but perhaps they were having a bad day as I gave them a second chance yesterday for breakfast. Great toasted chiabatta with an excellent cheese and mushroom omelette and two great coffees. Not sure if I will return for an evening meal but the breakfasts are great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Favourite Breakfast Place”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I think I'm becoming a regular here. Lovely service, yummy breakfast, relaxed vibe. Lots of people sharing tables and sharing stories of their time in Bali. Order the spinach, mushroom, feta and eggs on toast, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentleigh, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and Chill axed !”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I love eating at this little cafe ! Food very fresh and yummy ! Staff are lovely , and it's a nice place to hang out !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YogaYoga61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Handy if you're staying in Sayan”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Tucked away in Penestanan, this is a handy spot if you're staying in Sayan and looking for a reasonably priced place nearby. It is away from the tourist mayhem in Ubud and has a quirky, laid-back and welcoming atmosphere. The place is quite small and nearly every table was occupied, mainly by travellers using the free wifi, although there was also a sprinkling of chattering expats.

We stopped off for breakfast, and there was plenty of choice, including pastries, fresh fruit and healthy options. We weren't looking for anything exotic, just something to set us up for a long day of travelling. The English breakfast was well cooked and came complete with hot baked beans and HP sauce! Tea was served in a cafetiere, which was a bit odd, as you really can't beat a teapot and a tea strainer when it comes to making a good cup of tea.

The staff were friendly and the service attentive and prompt.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorrioneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Vespa also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Vespa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing