We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”
Review of Umajati Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umajati Retreat
Ranked #32 of 571 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My Husband and I stayed in Umajati for 6 nights in December.

This was our 10th trip to Bali and we often try new accommodation each time. We both agreed that Umajati was the best place we have stayed.
I initially booked it because I liked the work that Jean and William are doing through Threads of Life and also that thought has been put into the houses with regard to the environment and the community. We wanted a small property and also something out of town now that Ubud has become so busy. Umajati was everything we wanted and more.

We stayed in both houses and both are equally as nice. Really spacious and beautifully decorated.The staff were fantastic, friendly, polite and helpful. They seem to have struck the perfect balance of doing their jobs well while still being able to maintain their personalities.

The gardens are beautiful and attract all sorts of butterflies, birds lizards and frogs.

Food is always a big part of our travel experience and we loved the food at Umajati. We went into town one night for dinner and were sorry we did. We only tried the Indonesian options and they were better than many of the restaurant cooked meals. Also there was nothing nicer than being in the house having dinner listening to all the night noises build. Seeing the fireflies flashing on and off in the garden and watching the geckos and frogs eating the small insects .
Mosquitos were virtually non existent because of the balance created by the non use of chemicals which allowed the frogs and geckos to survive and eat the larva...the way it should happen.

We did the walking tour with Ida Bagus and loved it. He was a wealth of knowledge about the plants used for both food and medicinal purposes. The tour finished with a delicious meal cooked by his wife at their family compound.

I would also recommend the tour to Tenganan with William. He explained the weaving process and social structure of the village...really interesting.

I was lucky enough to go into town for the special ceremony of the renovation of Pura Pesa. Pung met me there and explained what was happening, and then I watched dance and music performances from different villages from around Bali. Really special experience.

Jean, William, and Pung have created a very special place, it was a pleasure to stay there and to meet them and their staff. Our most enjoyable trip to Bali so far.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for the long and thoughtful review. I'm glad you liked the staff: we chose people who were new to hotel work precisely so that they hadn't been trained out of being friendly. The wildlife on the property is important to us too, and we make sure there are areas that aren't touched, particularly down to the river. We want the houses to feel like homes, and the food is a big part of that. And connecting with the culture is another core value. Ida Bagus' guiding, the Tenganan visit, and other unique tours are all part of that ethos. Look forward to seeing you next time! William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
43
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geel, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for few nights during our 2-week trip in Bali, and it was by far the best and most complete stay we had. Bungalows are spacious and really clean, located in a tranquil environment, with a beautifull garden & swimming pool. Staff completes the picture of a perfect stay: A driver to get you to the center of Ubud or elsewhere, kitchen personel preparing delicious meals and management at your service at all times, and this for a more than reasonble price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Ellen, Thank you for your TripAdvisor comments. The housekeeping staff will be glad you mentioned their cleaning: their work is usually not noticed at hotels unless there are problems! And as you say, they have a lot of space to keep clean. At this time of year, with the rainy season, the garden almost grows before your eyes. Sumerta, who spends a lot of his time on the gardening, says its almost meditative to be out there working, and I think his care shows in the atmosphere of the gardens. Best wishes, William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuurne, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was our last place to stay on our 2-week trip in Bali and Gili T., and was by far the nicest one. As a family of 7 adults, we booked both villas. Booking is easy and correct and so is the billing detail. Extremely good value for money. The staff is outstanding: friendly and attentive, and they help you arranging your day. In the villa you find a lot of information about activities, restaurants, trips, ... The included breakfast is really nice and prepared at the villa. We also tried some lunch and dinner there: highly recommendable, better than most restaurants will serve you! The location is rural, but this is a real advantage as you can enjoy nature all the time. When needed the driver will take you to Ubud and pick you up later again. The guided rice field walk gives you a very good background on local agriculture, plants and fruit.

Room Tip: We booked both villas for our family. All rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hello and thank you for your review! I like a good breakfast and we wanted to offer the kind of experience we ourselves enjoy, so, I'm glad you liked the food. We've only had a few people take both houses, but it's a really good idea. Hopefully, more people will take advantage of that option. Best wises, William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the main villa (2 bedroom, with 2 adults and 2 young children).

Umajati's surroundings are beautiful. The old west java villas are very stylefully 'reassembled', and the increbibly friendly staff coupled with the whole noise/smell of the place is amazing. Being outside Ubud is really nice as the evening sounds of the rice paddies add a lot of charm. The staff are very friendly and helpful, which includes making your breakfast on site (in the connected kitchen) and serving in your own living room. It's a whole new experience! We had lunch and dinner the first day - most ingredients come from their own garden or local markets, one can really taste it. Then the next day took the retreat's minibus to town (complimentary, 15 - 20 minutes, and arrange a pickup by phone later). The owners also run a local weaving business plus a foundation to teach forest protection - very inspiring.

Our children also took full advantage of the pool and the coconut tree hammock.

Ubud is charming and well worth the visit but returning to the evening sounds of the 'bush' in Umajati is......well we can definately recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
What a thoughtful and lengthy review. Thank you very much for taking the time to do this. We read your review to the cooking staff, and they couldn't believe that their food was better than a restaurants: that charming modesty you mentioned. Thanks also for mentioning the tours: we try to find unusual experiences to offer our guests, ways to get into the culture of Bali as we were able to when we first came to Bali 25 years ago. See you again! William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night. We had an amazing lunch and dinner prepared by the staff. The decor, much of which is from the Threads of Life gallery, is absolutely gorgeous and fits with the authentic and inspiring structure around you. I have honestly never felt the way I did when I was staying here. You cannot help but feel inspired and savor each moment. You will take the time to slow down here...the space demands it. Umajati's location is also a very welcome retreat from the bustle of downtown Ubud. Given the ecological demands placed upon Bali by tourism, it is also very comforting to know that great effort is taken to make Umajati as sustainable as possible. Thank you William, Jean, and staff for creating such a magical experience.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruru15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review of Umajati. And thanks for commenting on our ecological efforts. We have just started developing an extensive dye plant garden next to the Retreat, to tie in with the work of Threads of Life and the Bebali Foundation, to add more nature-based interest to the place, and offer more places just to hang out in the natural beauty of the area. Yours, William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Umajati Retreat went above and beyond my expectations. The landscaping and pool area are so calming and beautiful, while the house we stayed in was completely relaxing but maintained the true feeling of Bali. After going into town during the day, returning home felt like a breath if fresh air. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. I could not recommend Umajati Retreat enough!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caydie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Caydie,

Thank you for your review, and for uploading the lovely images! Hope to see you in Bali again.

Yours,
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We only stayed at Umajati for 2 nights but wish it had been longer. The staff were wonderful and catered to our every whim. My only complaint was that I had arranged a baby sitter for one night and she was only available until 8.30pm, I think this was because of a religious festival or it could have been a communication breakdown.
Jean was great with emails before our arrival and arranged transport to the villa for our friends arriving late on the 1st night. We also had massages in the villa which were great. Lunch on the first day was lovely, and the breakfasts were fantastic too.
Next time we hope to stay longer and do some of the tours of the village.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetaSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanHowe50, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
It was great to have your whole family take over both of the houses at Umajati and I am glad that things went well. It was lovely having you all with us. We try to accommodate our guests with complimentary babysitters which are always our staff as we trust them implicitly - but you are right - I think that the demands from the community to fulfill ritual responsibilities must have gotten mixed up with your needs to go into town for a longer night. This was over the Galungan and Kuningan ceremonial time on Bali where there are so many family and community obligations. We are always particularly challenged during this time to fine a way to balance the needs of our Balinese staff and our guests at Umajati. We are so sorry about this and promise next time to make sure you get that night with your family in town while we babysit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 571 in Ubud
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Santun
Villa Santun
#27 of 571 in Ubud
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luwak Ubud Villas
Luwak Ubud Villas
#26 of 571 in Ubud
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Purana Boutique Resort
Purana Boutique Resort
#15 of 571 in Ubud
136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Temuku Villas Ubud
Temuku Villas Ubud
#7 of 571 in Ubud
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#3 of 571 in Ubud
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umajati Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umajati Retreat

Property: Umajati Retreat
Address: Jalan Subak Uma Petulu Lebah | Desa Petulu, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 571 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Umajati Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by tranquil rice fields, Umajati Retreat is a lush garden property hosting 2 elegantly converted 100-year-old Javanese teak wooden homes sleeping 5 and 3 guests respectively. Each house has several private garden spaces around a shared swimming pool, and a private kitchen hosted by Balinese housekeepers who specialize in healthy and vegetarian food. Just 10 minutes north of Ubud, Umajati grants easy access to the village’s many restaurants, spas, and cultural opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umajati Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umajati Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing