We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible retreat!”
Review of Umajati Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Umajati Retreat
Ranked #30 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent four days at Umajati and felt so grateful for the magic of this spot. It is clear that much love, thought, intention, and care has gone into its creation. The two villas ( actually traditional Javanese homes called "joglos" ) are artistic, authentic, and very, very comfortable. We chose Umajati because we wanted to have a better understanding of the culture and a different experience than we would have had at a hotel in town. That was absolutely the case. The 10 minute drive to downtown Ubud was an easy request, but the experience of being in a village, next to rice fields, assisted by a group of wonderful staff was just what we had hoped for. Everyone there gave personal attention to our requests from meals (excellent) to suggestions about places to visit and eat, yet we also had a great sense of privacy. With Jean and Choy's help, we were able to design day trips specifically geared to our interests and schedule. And we loved returning to the joglo, the pool, the gardens and just relaxing! Jean, Choy, Wayan S., everyone there really was so generous in giving time to assist us and ensure a comfortable and meaningful experience in Ubud, sharing experience and offering insight into the culture. Our stay there was a definite highlight of our two weeks in Bali.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unstoppable-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello and thanks for the comments. Being small we can offer that personal touch and individualized day trips. The village close by also make the culture accessible. Glad you got to do so much and have time to relax. All the best, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

The house is tastefully decorated in a setting of Balinese home style. You have your own housekeeper and cook that come to ur house every morning at breakfast time, the table is set up in the garden of the house. Pool was just 5 secs Away from your house, the housekeeper will bring you a cold drink too. Owner Jean was a lovely person to chat, she and her staff worked to make you feel like being at home. Things are well thought out and executed in this a little piece of heaven here. Every moment was so enjoyable!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cnuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

A lovely review. Thank you. Being served a nice bottle of cold drinking water when you go to use the pool is very refreshing. Glad you felt so at home with us. Best wishes, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Thank you to Jean, William, Choy Vita and all of the amazing people who work at Umajati. I do not want to refer to them as staff as they are clearly a team and community of Umajati this is what makes this such an amazing place. Unfortunately due to flight rescheduling we could only stay 2 nights and not the 3 we had booked. Jean was so kind and understanding about this and went out of her way to make our short time memorable. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and we were presented with the most delicious strawberry cake.
We stayed in the larger property which is two bedroomed and awesome! The standard and cleanliness of the accomm is faultless, every detail has been perfected. The grounds are immaculate and a great way to see the real rural Bali, being surrounded by paddy fields and close to a nearby village. Vita took us for a walk one evening to see the heron colony, passing through the local village and explaining all about Balinese life. The homecooked curry was outstanding , the best food we have eaten in Bali (still want that recipe Jean/Choy!)
The property is about 10 mins drive from Ubud but the complimentary driver makes light work of that and this facility is available until 10pm.
We managed to enjoy the life and soul of Ubud whilst relaxing in five star, quiet tranquility.
We cant wait to return. . Thank you everyone

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pieface66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi, and thanks for the review! It was a shame that your visit was curtailed by the airline like that, but I'm glad we made the stay memorable in other ways! Choy's garndma's curry is one of my favorites too: tasty without being spicy. I'll remind him and Jean again about the recipe! Sorry for the delay! William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

"BarbW63"'s review really captures UmaJati and its fabulousness. I wish I could write so well! Our family of 4 (including 23 and 19 year old young adults) stayed 5 nights and loved every minute. The visual beauty of the buildings, pool, and plantings/landscape never ceased to take my breath away. Truly everything is a work of art from the door handles to the elegant, soaring ceilings, and the comfort of the beds and other furnishings is top notch. The staff are individually and collectively the nicest group of people I have ever met as are William, Jean, and Pung and so generous and helpful. I was also grateful for the summary of "Things to Do" and their helpfulness in arranging trips. Every recommendation was spot-on and we enjoyed ourselves to the hilt from the Threads of Life Gallery to the medicinal plant nature walk, cooking classes,dance performances (thank you, Pung!!), the Puppet Museum and more. I have always felt a bit pressured by needing to make sure everyone is taken care of during a vacation and gets to do what he/she is interested in, finding out what the options are, and making all the arrangements. This was my first experience of what "Retreat" could mean: the ease and joy of having wonderful options outlined for the family and then everything arranged so all we had to do was enjoy our delicious breakfast and then waltz out to the car (with driver provided) and revel in the day. Our stay was enhanced by how non-touristy UmaJati feels. It has all the comforts and more that even the pickiest Western traveller could want but feels so genuine, authentic, steeped in love and respect for the Balinese culture and land. We certainly didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanHowe50, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words Kate about Umajati Retreat. Your family was equally wonderful - we sure enjoyed having you with us. The staff also loved having you stay with us and that is always wonderful when it is a mutually enjoyable experience as they really go all out for our guests. So happy you enjoyed the interiors and exteriors - we set up the houses as though we would be happy to live in them as our home as this is what we hope our guests will feel; A home away from home. The rains are turning the gardens into forests - time for some trimming with Wayan - gardens are always changing but the tropics make these changes happen at an extraordinary rate! We have We hope you come back again soon and stay with us again. We all look forward to staying in touch with you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Our family of four stayed 6 nights in Umajati and it was the most restorative and restful holiday we've had. The whole place is infused with peace and a sense of natural alignment. It was luxurious accommodation - Javanese houses with soaring ceilings, long verandahs, gracious open spaces - which was reasonably priced with beautiful surrounds, lovely mindful staff who were attentive and helpful in many different ways. We ate yummy filling breakfasts in the morning, at night watched the rice paddies alive with fireflies accompanied by a fabulous chorus of frogs, geckos and other creatures which kept us mosquito-free. The owners William, Jean and Pung are lovely people who have developed Umajati as a local enterprise which is entirely grounded in the local community and local environment. So through their generosity and whole approach we felt quite connected to Ubud in a way we didn't think we'd experience as tourists. Make sure you visit their Threads of Life Gallery in Ubud which supports women in maintaining their traditional textile design and production skills. It is stunning. We all loved Umajati, even our teenage kids, and will definitely go back at some stage. Heavenly.

Room Tip: Both houses - and there are only two - are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanHowe50, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Having you and your family with us was wonderful! And to have you be there during the ceremony for inaugurating the Bebali Foundations natural dye studio and garden on the Umajati property was special. It delights all of us to see guests such as yourselves being so delighted with the grounds, the staff and what we were able to offer you during your stay! This makes the whole venture of owning and operating these houses so very very worthwhile! We hope you come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a fantastic time staying in Umajati... We never expected this kind of a holiday. It brought us very close to nature... The staff were very friendly, caring and helpful.... It was such a pleasure being looked after by the dedicated staff. We would love to come back Umajati the next time we visit Bali :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DeviAlaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Devi, thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad we are able to surprise you (in a nice way) with a pleasurable experience. People say the photos on the websites don't do the place justice, but it's hard to photograph when there is so much space! And also, it makes for that pleasant surprise when people arrive! See you next time, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My stay at Uma Jati was divine. I really can't say enough about the beauty of the houses and the gardens, the delicious food and the lovely staff. Jean, William and Pung have managed to create a place that provides all the creature comforts - including soft sheets and great soaps - while integrating respect for the natural environment and culture of Bali. I have stayed in many different places in Bali and this was by far my favorite.

If you enjoy the outdoors, this is a great place for you. There are lots of different places to sit, read, relax and watch birds, butterflies and geckos. I spent many hours sitting at the pool looking out at all the different kinds of trees and watching birds pass overhead. I also took walks through the rice fields and into the village with the Uma Jati staff who live there. The gardens are beautifully kept and made me feel that I was in a real tropical paradise. The staff are super helpful and cheerful and made me feel comfortable and well taken care of. Not only did I love my stay, I also learned a lot about Bali and Indonesia from the staff and Jean and William. I'm looking forward to staying at Uma Jati again whenever I get the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Marcy, thank you for your review of Umajati. Jean will be very happy you appreciate the sheets and soaps. We feel that details like that are what add up to a good experience. Like you, I can just sit at the pool and look around for ages. I'll take a book to read and leave it unopened! See you next time, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#4 of 598 in Ubud
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pandawas Villas
Pandawas Villas
#57 of 598 in Ubud
212 reviews
3.4 mi away
Purana Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Santun
Villa Santun
#29 of 598 in Ubud
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Temuku Villas Ubud
Temuku Villas Ubud
#5 of 598 in Ubud
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umajati Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umajati Retreat

Address: Jalan Subak Uma Petulu Lebah | Desa Petulu, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £113 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Umajati Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by tranquil rice fields, Umajati Retreat is a lush garden property hosting 2 elegantly converted 100-year-old Javanese teak wooden homes sleeping 5 and 3 guests respectively. Each house has several private garden spaces around a shared swimming pool, and a private kitchen hosted by Balinese housekeepers who specialize in healthy and vegetarian food. Just 10 minutes north of Ubud, Umajati grants easy access to the village’s many restaurants, spas, and cultural opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Umajati Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umajati Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing