We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and beautiful gardens all in a great location.”
Review of Bhuwana Ubud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Ranked #73 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I booked into Bhuwana Ubud Hotel for a one week stay with a friend. I was supposed to be going to a different hotel the following week when my husband arrived but ended up cancelling that hotel and extending my time at Bhuwana - it was just that good.

The team of staff is amazing, so helpful and friendly - nothing is too much trouble. My friend got sick the day before she was due to leave so one of the staff members drove me around to various pharmacies until we found something for her sickness. The garden setting is absolutely gorgeous, so green and well kept. They also spray the whole grounds to get rid of mosquitoes, which is great.

They have a free shuttle that runs every two hours but it is super cheap to get transport if you need to go into the main part of town outside of those hours, or you can even walk. We walked back from town a few nights and it took probably 25 minutes at an easy stroll. The location is really lovely - far enough away from the centre of town to be peaceful but close enough to walk if you want.

Rooms are big and clean - beds are big and really comfy, bathrooms are clean and modern and the pool is a good size and has plenty of sun lounges. Oh, and there's a bar in the pool, which was pretty sweet!

I noticed other reviews mention a problem with hot water but, having stayed in two different rooms when I was there, I didn't have a problem with the water at all.

I would definitely recommend Bhuwana to others and I would most definitely stay there again when I visit Ubud.

Room Tip: We chose an upstairs room. The balcony was a good size and looked out over the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

First I want to start off by saying that our experience at the Bhuwana Hotel was nothing short of fabulous. You should know that because this is such a new hotel, it is in Ubud which is about a 90 minute drive from Kuta/Seminyak with traffic, and it is a little outside Ubud (about 5 minute drive), it is not as busy as other hotels located in Ubud. I found this to be great as the staff payed attention to me and my friend and pretty much catered to our every need. The hotel is next to rice fields, has a beautiful pool, a nice restaurant, and rooms that have everything you need. I would highly suggest anyone stay here, but know that you will most likely not see too many other guests while you are here. We went at the end of September/early October and the weather was perfect, about 85 every day.
The staff was so sweet, as was everyone we met in Bali. It was my friend's birthday while we were staying there and they got her a cake and sang her happy birthday as we were hanging out in the lobby waiting for the shuttle. So adorable and caring!
If you stay here you should definitely do the downhill biking tour on one day and the tubing/buggy adventure on another. The town of Ubud has great shopping and food (I thought better shopping than Seminyak).
Overall, 5 stars. Great location, good food, wonderful staff and cheap drinks!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which had a nice deck overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreKS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here , everyone was really nice . Only ate breakfast which had a good assortment of stuff and the omelettes where very good. The rooms where perfect and I have no bad feedback. The hotel is a ten minute drive from the main area but there is a 2 hour free shuttle . We booked through Expedia and paid 60 dollars a night . Well worth the money

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quins15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Bhuwana Hotel in Ubud is an really good place to stay. We were positivly supprised with how beautiful, clean and spacious the rooms are.
The pool and the garden are both beautifully made. You will feel totally relaxed when you walk/lay or swim there.
The hotel is not located in the middle of the hectic Ubud centre but still close enough to walk there (30min). If you don't feel like walking you can take the free shuttlebus.
It definitely feels like a 5 star resort while it's actually a 3star. Which is a good thing as it means that the rooms are still quit cheap!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thailalaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel looks fantastic. Majestic reception area. Beautiful gardens and pool area. It's out of town and mostly empty so quiet and relaxing. Because its so quiet it has no atmosphere. The staff are lovely but most speak very poor English. There is a free shuttle into town but it only runs every 2 hours so can be restricting. If you're in a hurry to be up early for a tour or the 8am shuttle, factor in an extra 20 minutes for the shower to warm up. We were told this by staff on arrival and if you look back you'll see another reviewer mentioned it in May! Talking of temperature, the cooked buffet breakfast was always cold, either because the burners were unlit or there were no lids to keep the heat in. Room service left dirty cups uncleaned and didn't restock bathroom items.

We spoke to the Manager who admitted to the water heating problem but said it would be fixed by the following day - it wasn't! Let's face it, if it was mentioned in May its probably not fixable. The Manager blamed the poor room service and cold food on inadequate staff training. That's a terrible excuse for a USD$110 per night hotel. The day after we spoke to the Manager the food was still cold. Think about what happens to cold food in tropical third world countries!

I'd like to add that we've been to Bali 7 or 8 times over the last few years and understand that standards and customs are different to Western standards. We have stayed in great hotels every time and paid $50-70 a night. This trip was extra expensive and supposed to be a special treat. Instead we spent too much time trying to sort out problems. We were given one night free for our troubles but that doesn't compensate for the hassle.

By the way, Ubud was great.

Room Tip: Another hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candrawatiputu, Manager at Bhuwana Ubud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Mr/s Prudee,

Greeting From Bhuwana Ubud Hotel,

Thank you for your review to our hotel, it was lovely to meet you two days before you checked out from our hotel. It was nice conversation to talk how we can meet your expectation about the quality of 4 star plus hotel, indeed we are doing all the improvement to have the quality more than you have already been paid.
The heating water problem at the bathroom, right way to have check to heating water, we forgot to tell you how its work, because after checked the water indeed took time but less than 5 minutes, might you are not patient to wait at five minutes, so might always change the knop button to cold water, this will make the waiting time more longer than it should be.
For the breakfast, after installing the new equipment for breakfast buffet might we have no chance to introduce to you because you already checked out. As the previous equipment might always make the food only in warm condition.

We do appreciate for all your advise, we do hope all of your comment can give us motivation for always stand up to have the quality more than the guest already been paid. Looking forward to welcome you again at Bhuwana Ubud Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The place was beautiful, the taxi driver got lost on the way there but I think it was because it was not directly in town. The shuttle into town was handy. Very relaxing, love the pool bar , the restaurant was very affordable

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel was barely 1 year old, so the accommodations were great. The hotel arranged our airport pick up which was there upon arrival and took us straight to the hotel. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel organizes a shuttle and tours for you if you want to go out. There are free bike rentals so you can ride around the area. The wifi is in the restaurant and lobby which worked out well, because it forces you to leave your room and enjoy the evening outside getting to know the hotel staff. Food was great in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khellyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
4.1 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
1.5 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 199 in Ubud
637 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
550 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhuwana Ubud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhuwana Ubud Hotel

Address: Jl. Pengosekan, Br. Kumbuh, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#61 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £35 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhuwana Ubud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspiring Place for a Better Life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bhuwana Ubud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing