We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poolside Bliss”
Review of Bhuwana Ubud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Ranked #72 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poolside Bliss”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Bhuwana. The facilities were great to just spend a day poolside. There was an inclusive breakfast buffet which had enough choice. Their poolside menu was basic but adequate and reasonably priced. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from Ubud centre on a 2 hour rotation, which is more than most hotels offer. They were efficient and on time. The staff were friendly and welcoming (as are most Balinese). The room was large, as was the king size bed. The sheets were like new. Coffee and tea facilities as well as basic toiletries were provided.

The location is a bit out of Ubud centre (although the quiet was welcoming). The cleanliness of the room was good. A quick sweep behind the furniture would however have gone far. The bathroom is a bit outdated and could do with a revamp, but was clean and included a bath and separate shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilds001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    117
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
53
133
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is a bit out of the center of Ubud, fine if you are looking for a peaceful stay. Upon arrival it looked impressive, but once in the room it was clear that a renovation is needed. Our bathroom was very moldy and the toilet seat had traces of urine. Very sloppy. The bed was fine, we slept well. The curtains are awful! They are very thin and light yellow of color. When the sun rose up, we rose up with it. We would've liked to have a say in what time we want to wake up. Breakfast was just ok. The pool was the nicest part. The hotel staff is very friendly and service oriented. The free shuttle bus was convenient, because the hotel is just too far out of the center to walk. Especially at night this is not recommended, because there is no sidewalk and you practically walk on the road in the dark. All in all it was fine, but we found the price to quality ratio incorrect for what you get. We really don't get some of the comments of other guests, because they say this hotel is fairly new, but we thought it looked at least 20 years old. This hotel is in need of a renovation or at the very least a good cleaning.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, just across the restaurant/pool. It was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hubby and I stayed here at the end of the March for 5 nights. It was our first time in Bali and I think we picked a great place to stay. We were here during the spirit festival so it was nice to be able to retreat to a place without the noise. It took about 45 min to get here from Denpasar Airport and we arrived at midnight. The resort was quite and our room was lovely, considering it was only costing us around $60 p/day. Breakfast is about the only time we really saw others staying at the resort, generally there was only 1 or 2 other couples you would see down the pool area. It felt like you had the place to yourself. Breakfast is from 7.30am and has 2 types of fresh juice, some pastries, fruit, salad and a hot breakfast (Indonesian style) I generally had a fresh omelette made.

The shuttle service runs every 2hrs from 10am. Going into Ubud was fine but trying to get picked up was unreliable. So we either used a taxi ($5) or walked. However the nice thing is if you are the only ones in the shuttle you can ask for a few things ie: can you stop at a money exchange or Monkey forest. These are on the way to the centre of Ubud so isn't a problem.

Taxi's - Standard cost will be $5 or 50,000 rupiah. There are plenty of guys on the side of the road who will offer you a taxi. They are perfectly fine to accept and you will be surprised at how clean and nice they are. **TIP** Take a photo of the map of Ubud from your room/resort book and have it with you. This way the driver will know where to go. This came in handy so many times.

Walking - Not as scary as I thought it was going to be and very easy. We generally took the shuttle in and walked back. It takes about 30-40min from the centre of Ubud. But it's not hilly and a very easy walk. If you need supplies you can easily take a 20min walk towards Ubud and there is a big supermarket on the right with a lovely bakery. It's also where lots of great cafe's and restaurants are. Just be aware there aren't really footpaths in Ubud, but we never had a problem walking on the side of the road and felt totally safe.

Scooters - we didn't do it this time because we didn't know about Bali roads. But when we come back next time I would not hesitate to get a scooter to use around Ubud. It's super simple and costs about $10 for the week.

Day Spa - I had 2 massages here, both Lomi Lomi for 90min. Cost was $20 each which was fairly standard outside of the resort. Both were divine, Although I found out about a place called Bliss which is in the rice paddy's. $100 for 5hrs of spa treatments with pick-up to and from the hotel. Next time I'm going here!

Hotel Restaurant - people have said the menu is limited. I thought it was fine with enough to work your way through over a week of dinners. We didn't spend out whole time in the resort. If we did, then yes you would get sick of the menu very quickly.

24hr Movie Channel - This I really loved! It's called Lotus on channel 10/11. Totally awesome when you are back for the night or chilling out.

Service - Very attentive, friendly.

Overall this was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had 218 which was upstairs at the end of the resort. Beautiful view over the rice paddy's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LDMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bali
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked this hotel with my friend, to be closed the Bali Spirit Festival, but to be quiet in a rice field.
The location is beautifull, the garden very clean.
From the reception welcome to the check out, all the staff is very nice and non intrusif.
The room are big enought, and the view is beautifull on the rice field.
The bedding and linen are good quality.
The bathroom is ok, not luxury but simple.
We do not tryed the breakfast because we left to early morning so cannot comment.
I think i will book again for my next trip in Ubud.
Good value for monney.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

all of staff is very friendly, but one of them he is Putra. the suttle bus is didn't come to pick me up from the town, but he find me there, than he call to the the hotel to pick me up.
I didn't remember him, but he can remember us. than he know how to make the guest are enjoy.

Thank you very much Putra, it was nice to meet you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vesa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I had 5 nights stay at this hotel and had a very pleasant stay...excellent hospitality by all the staff including the gardeners...i felt so welcomed each and every day during my stay...my stay was very complete and great with excellent room and people...

The service would be even excellent and fantastic if there is more choice of food for breakfast buffet..only matter which made us slightly bored was the same menu every day while we were there for 5 days (fried rice and fried noodle)..i would highly suggest that the hotel prepare different types of meals each day from Monday to Sunday which will add value to the excellent hotel and hospitality service being provided currently..it could be any other Asian choice of food or western choice, not necessary daily, maybe one or two days in between would be great..

I felt so nice being treated with the excellent hospitality...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bhavani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed at Bhuwana for 2 nights. The hotel beautifully surrounded by trees and other flowers and plants. The room overall was really nice. Spacious and tidy. And like the other reviewers said, yes, the water heater took about 10-15 minutes to be heated up. The management and staff were really really nice. There's also a shuttle per 2 hours to take you to the central of Ubud. The breakfast was okay and the room service meal was superb. I also enjoy the swimming pool. They also have access to the rice fields behind the hotel. Next visit? Definitely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#55 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#93 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhuwana Ubud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhuwana Ubud Hotel

Property: Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Address: Jl. Pengosekan, Br. Kumbuh, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#63 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhuwana Ubud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspiring Place for a Better Life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Bhuwana Ubud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing