We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and peaceful river location”
Review of Pelangi Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelangi Estate
Ranked #336 of 615 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed one night only at the Java Guest House with a friend, but it left a big impression on me, with its secluded location by the river, so serenely situated. We were the only guests there and got to explore the larger house (villa Pelangi) with 2 pools, which was beautiful. The Java Guest House was lovely, but we were both sneezing and tearing away when we slept due to the dust, maybe a good dusting was in order. There were creepy crawlies around but well controlled from the insect screen over the perimeter of the house and the lovely natural mosquito spray given to us by our bedsides. One thing though....We were exploring the lower floor of Java Guest House, and were freaked out by a foot sticking out from the toilet ...obviously someone was there using the loo but did not close the door! Very scary... The in house chef cooked a lovely Indonesian dinner, very tasty and feels very homely! I will definitely want to go back! One day was not enough....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarezh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Seven of us were traveling throughout Indonesia together. We rented Villa Pelangi on the Pelangi Estate using vrbo.com. The pictures looked pretty, but you never know what to expect. The villa managers that I worked with (actually, pestered mercilessly with a million questions), Vivalya and Laras, were always professional, prompt with their answers and very helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate us, letting us leave some luggage in their offices in Seminyak while we visited another island. The airport pick up and drop off went very smoothly. We arrived at the villa and were stunned by how gorgeous it was. It is decorated in impeccable taste (the owner, who did all the decorating herself) is a jewelry designer. The furniture was apparently all custom made. There are four bedrooms in the main house- three of which were really pretty, and one of which faced one of the pools. The fourth bedroom (upstairs, the master bedroom) is nothing short of spectacular- there were five different seating areas, the huge french doors led out to the gorgeous pool, and the bathroom was filled with beautifully blooming orchids and ferns.

We had breakfasts at the villa each morning and the staff bent over backwards to make us happy. We decided to eat dinner there one night and the food was excellent. I bought quite a few of the wooden puppets that Indonesia is famous for, and found that I needed a box to transport them. The villa manager brought me three boxes to choose from, along with bubble wrap and tape!

The villa has a car that we used to go into Ubud (great shopping town- amazing!!), and we also rented a car for a day trip to East Bali to see the rice paddies and the volcanos and the old, less visited towns. During that car trip, several of us needed a bathroom- the driver stopped at his own house to let us use the facilities. Everyone was so friendly and so helpful and the villa was really gorgeous. We all debated whether we should cancel the rest of our itinerary and just stay there forever.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deedied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in the main house at Pelangi Estate for 3 nights. It was blissful. The house looks exactly the way it does on the web site (always a surprise). It is beautifully and tastefully decorated with impeccable attention to detail. Massive windows open onto the river valley abundant with greenery and life and the sound of the river. It feels like you are sitting in a jungle. So peaceful.

We were 3 couples and there was so much space to lounge around that everybody could be in a separate area, or you could sit together in the huge main lounge. Lots of comfy seating. There are 3 separate tables to dine at or work on. Two bedrooms downstairs, one on the ground floor and a massive bedroom upstairs. A fully equipped kitchen with coffee machine. The beds are comfortable and each bedroom has an area to sit in and take in the incredible views.

The staff is helpful without being intrusive and always available. There is a separate kitchen where they cook meals for you. The food was delicious and portions huge. A massage therapist is available to do massages by the pool.

The location is amazing, just 5-10 minutes from Ubud, but feels like you are in the middle of nowhere. It's a quick trip into town and drivers are available to take you there and collect you. However the house is so beautiful that you could stay there and not even bother to go into the village.

The only issue we had was that the aircon unit in one of the bedrooms was very noisy. We had to turn it off at night and use a fan instead.

Highly recommended, we will be back.

Room Tip: There are 4 bedrooms and you can choose to rent the entire house or just the lower 3 bedrooms. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenbennhoutbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I not not like being pested to wite a report on a place where Tripadvisor has nothing to do with our stay there. But i expect that the staff may have had someting to do with these repeated requests. We have been on an extended trip and have only arrived back home yesterday. So i suppose its best to get it over with right away.

Having said that, it was an amazing experience. The house is owned by Carlyn Tyler, who I think is a US citizen living in Bali and manufacturing very special jewellery.

The house and the grounds in which it stands is a gem near to Obud.

The estate consists of a large plantation type property alongside a river. Apart from the main houseit has two stand-alone houses (I think) and a twin suite forming part of the main house but separate to the owners suite. The house we stayed in had access to a realy beautiful pool. It was tranquil and ultra beautiful.

The staff were extremelt coureous and we enjoyed the breakfast every morning very much. It was made especially enjoyable owing to the fact that a full time driver was at our disposal. He took us whereever we need to go. Obud was only a 10 minute drive away!
We can thoroughly recmmend it from all angles: luxury, service, price and quietness, something quite unique in Bali.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank khacpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were a group of around 12 friends and family and had booked all three of its villas of the estate. We loved the feeling of space and the beautiful scenic views from the large glass windows that almost made us feel we are inside a tropical forest.
We enjoyed some delicious meals by the resident cook and felt completely at home. The service of the staff was always friendly and helpful.
We spent a lot of time the pool with its waterfall and lush green plantation.

We were disappointed that the main and largest bedroom suite was not air conditioned and could not use that for sleeping. The air conditioning in some other rooms was also an issue.

But overall it was a very enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ANITA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Pelangi Estate. Not only is it absolutely breathtaking and beautiful, but the staff are beyond efficient and friendly. I cannot recommend this place enough. We were traveling for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary and there were 15 of us. The estate was huge and easily absorbed all of us. There was more than enough room for everyone. The grounds are just gorgeous and the in house chef would rival any high end restaurant. I cannot wait to return some day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mich49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

WE were 2 families visiting Ubud and Pelangi estate blew us away ! great service, luxurious rooms ,loads of greenery and most importantly peace! The villa has been furnished very tastefully and with a lot of attention to detail. The children enjoyed splashing around in the pool. The only downside would be the distance from central ubud. If you don't intend to step out everyday and just want to relax, this place is for you! (there is even a room to practice yoga upstairs in the villa).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsymom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.7 mi away
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
4.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.8 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelangi Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Estate

Address: Jl. Jukut Paku, Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 615 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £90 - £1,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelangi Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pelangi Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelangi Estate Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing