We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only place to buy textiles in ubud”
Review of Ikatbatik

Ikatbatik
Ranked #6 of 113 Shopping in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the only place to buy textiles in ubud”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

we have a villa in ubud and found this shop the best place to buy exquisite but affordable fabrics ,they have a good range of fabrics to use as bed throws , table runners, pillows , and light blankets .. lovely people, part of the price is donated to charity, all products are eco sound and non exploitative , the owner ( male ) was a carver in nearby nyuh kuning and she is a weaver ..
be aware that the tripadvisor map is wrong , this place is situated near the end of monkey forest road , on the left hand side , it has a small sign and a narrow corridor type entrance opening to a spacious showroom , take your time, it will be worth your efforts in finding it ...
enjoy ...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank blenddesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Batik Gallery”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We came across ikat batik after our visit to Monkey forest. The shop is situated at the back of narrow walkway. The moment we entered the walkway the batik cloth were hanging on both side of the place and it was lovely. After that we came to a green garden before we entered the batik gallery. We were amazed by the quality of the fabrics there.The hand made batik were excellent quality. The staff were really good in choosing you the best colour. The price is reasonable for the quality you get. We bought a number of items from there. We love the art gallery. Worth the visit and the buy. Recommended for batik fabrics shopping at Ubud.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Leisure93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent one of a kind store!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I came upon the store when peaking down a narrow alley off Monkey Forest Rd. They have a few pieces hanging on the alley wall, and what a lovely space when you walk back into the store:). The owner is an amazing batik artist. It was just what I was looking for!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of artistry!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

One evening before I found Ikat Batik, I was searching for shops on tripadvisor to visit. When I read the reviews I couldn't really understand, how people could get so enthusiastic about textiles and batik fabrics...after I visited this place, I understood why. Even if you are NOT into scarfs, bed sheets and stuff, you gonna buy something here.

Kadek managed to create a beautiful shop with an excellent selection of textiles and patterns that are simply beautiful and stunning. But it's not just the shop, but also the environment that makes you feel like visiting a friends' family at home.

Must visit – especially if you are searching for a great souvenir or present to bring home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick19861986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“QUALITY AUTHENTIC TEXTILES - LOVE LOVE LOVE !!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Kadek's Gallery is set back, beautifully down a narrow walkway, displaying various textiles, hanging off the walls - emerging into a lush green garden compound area, where you enter his large & visually stunning, balinese textile gallery.

Here you will see a large, traditional antique wooden loom, showcasing the various spinning & dyeing methods, used for centuries, by Indonesian Village Women.

IKATBATIK GALLERY has some serious pieces of Art displayed throughout - all made with much heart & soul, with most pieces talking up to one year to create - all authentic, hand made, traditional textiles, made with natural vegetable dyes.

I happily purchased 2, quality beautiful textiles on my visit to Kadek's Gallery - one being a large IKAT textile made in Timor & another, visually stunning, hand made, detailed silk textile, from SUTRA KATUN. I was kindly educated on all facets of Traditional Indonesian Textile making, in a visually stunning Gallery by Kadek, who has a most gentle & kind spirit, with a true belief in his work.

There is a wide variety of quality Textiles to choose from - small to medium to most large, cushion covers, table runners - all made in silk, cotton or pure wool!!

Kadek's Gallery is also complimented, with a wide range of natural body care products, quality incense & body tonics & jewellery, all very well priced & sourced locally, by his beautiful Wife.

If wishing to purchase, authentic traditional textiles whilst visiting Bali, IKATBATIK, is where you will find the BEST RANGE & QUALITY OF TEXTILES, with an ethos to match - your purchase will continue to assist, educate & fund, Indonesian Village Women & Children, to continue their ancient tradition of textile creation.

Forget buying the cheap, mass produced, factory made batiks, found everywhere in the Markets of Ubud.

Take home an authentic piece of Traditional Indonesian Artwork, that will hang proudly & with much honour, on your wall back home - for generations to come !!!

Melissa from Melbourne, Australia :D

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank MELISSA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ikatbatik also viewed

 

Been to Ikatbatik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing